We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here mainly for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Lery

Chateau de Lery
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Lery
Save
You added Chateau de Lery to your Saves list
8, rue de la Porte, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stayed here mainly for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here with a big group consisting of 7 people. we got 2 rooms which were attached and had a common bath room. one room had a kitchenette with we used once to heat up pizza. the rooms were comfortable though a bit old. the toilet was a little small but we managed. Breakfast service has been commented apone by others so I wont dwell much. It was basic. but we were not there for the food. We mainly ate outside at some of the excellent restaurants around the fort area. I wish they had some parking available to patrons as we had to find parking that was a 10 min walk from the hotel and it wasnt cheap either ($30 for 2 days). I would recomment this place for its great location as its in the heart of the historical area of Quebec city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room was clean, good quiet sleep and staff was friendly. So rating this hotel for these was a 5 stars. But our room (#12) doesn't had shower, just a bath, we didn't like that. Also the free breakfast has only the minimum : coffee & juice, fruits, toast and not so fresh croissant. That's why we give a 4 stars. But we were there first to sleep.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We actually stayed at the sister Hotel Beau Site ( which shares the same breakfast area). I was surprised to see that others found some of the staff not friendly. We had nothing but a wonderful experience with everyone we encountered. We also received excellent restaurant recommendations from them. The hotel was in the most convenient location, on a park right next to the boardwalk in the upper town....near everything!The rooms were clean and comfortable.Breakfast was coffee, croissants, toast, jams, butter, peanut butter and juice. We decided to stay an extra night and although Beau Site was full, the staff helped find rooms in a sister hotel down the street for the same rate we were paying, which was very reasonable. I can't stress how friendly and helpful the staff was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Cheateau de Lery and Hotel Beau Site are adjoining and share the same reception. The location is great, right in the historic district. Some of the staff were friendly but others were downright rude (and I speak French, so its not an issue of language), rooms are clean enough with wooden floors but could do with some TLC - the bed was pretty uncomfortable.

The hotel provides "free wifi" in communal areas only, and the "free breakfast" is weak coffee, a greasy croissant and toast, so just about the minimum you can get away with while still being able to say you actually provide breakfast and wifi.

Canada in general is expensive, Quebec especially so, but this hotel did not offer particular value for money, hence the rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This great little Inn is the absolute ideal location in the old city. It is right behind Chateau Frotenac, but on a quiet street and right next to the Citadel and Plains of Abraham. You can walk to anything. It was clean, quiet, the staff was helpful and it is a charming old city building. The rooms are relatively small and spartan and the stairs are steep; but for the price and location this is a fantastic option. This Inn is in association with a handful of others in the immediate area, all of which seem quite similar: http://www.leshotelsduparc.com/en/index.php. My wife and I brought my aging parents along and we wanted to put them on the first floor to limit stair climbing. If this applies to you be aware that they call the first floor the "main" floor. The first floor is located one story up.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces Governors park. If you don't want to climb stairs, ask for the main floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is actually part of a cluster of hotels and b&b's on the same block. Because of it, we actually didn't get a "true" b&b experience. But we were ok with that. We got vouchers for a fantastic breakfast/brunch restaurant, Café Bistro L'Omelette, which was a 5-minute walk.

Our room was spacious with a large comfortable bed. We had a floor with shared washrooms, but it was kept clean and very roomy. It had an 'old' Victorian feel to it. We brought our bikes to Quebec, and there was definitely a lot of room for us to store it. Parking was minimal but it worked out for us.

Not much to be said about the service. After we checked-in, we never heard from them again. Unfortunately, they charged my credit card twice. But it was refunded, shortly afterwards.

Although this was not my first choice in B&B's, I would recommend this place, mainly for the location and the quiet street we were on. I would recommend booking early, because I found that all the B&B's inside the walls of Old Quebec book up really quickly. I went through 8 B&B's before I found one that was available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This place is in the walled area of Quebec City. It is opposite a park and has views of the river.

Free breakfast is a nice bonus.

The staff were nice..could have been a little friendlier but all in all good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chateau de Lery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Lery

Address: 8, rue de la Porte, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Chateau De Lery Hotel Quebec City
Chateau De Lery Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Lery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.