We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Quebec

Old Quebec
Rue de Tresor, Quebec City, Quebec GIR 5B8, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$261*
and up
Quebec Hot Air Balloon Flight
Ranked #1 of 119 Attractions in Quebec City
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
NJ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love love love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I can't wait to go back. Old Quebec makes you feel like you are walking the streets of Europe. What a quaint town with cobble stone streets and old world charm! We spent 3 nights and were able to see much of it just by walking around. I would highly recommend taking a tour. There are companies that offer public and private tours that are about 2 to 3 hours. Well worth it to give you an overview of the history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,973
    570
    66
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First time through eastern Canada and definitely glad to have visited Quebec. It's touristy and small, but historic and quaint. Local shops and restaurants are bilingual, so don't fret if you don't speak French. It is a bit steep to get through all of the old town, so prepare yourself for stairs and steep hills... or just be lazy and take the funicular.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Time Walking with the Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable 2 days roaming around the old city. We were there for a Monday and Tuesday, and the area was alive with school groups, tour buses, and locals. Although many people were there, it did not seem overrun or too crowded. The history of the area is quite noticeable, and our kids really responded to it. A bit to my surprise, they did not tire of the walking, and they especially liked the paid historical tour under the boardwalk. It was a quick walking tour, but they wanted to go back the 2nd day. They also enjoyed walking atop the wall, and running around on the grassy slope at the citadel. We were very happy with the people of Old Quebec. They were warm and inviting, and they were patient with us as English Speakers (we always tried starting with our French). Overall, it was a great 2 day stop for our family.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just breathtaking!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just walked upper & lower town for 2 days. Could not get enough of the architecture, churches and of course all the places to eat! I would say you need 2 good days to really see it all and not be rushed. We stayed in Ste Foy and it was a quick trip and worth saving the hotel $ staying out a little.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This part of Quebec City is so beautiful and quaint. So much to take in with a real European feel! The shops and restaurants are adorable, but are a little expensive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Old Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Quebec, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.