We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location, Quiet, Modern & Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 71 to your Saves list
Hotel 71
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location, Quiet, Modern & Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 71 for the first leg of our Honeymoon and could not have had a better experience. The staff were kind, friendly, and helpful, the food was delicious (we had continental breakfast every morning and ordered room service from the restaurant one evening - the lasagna was INCREDIBLE), our room (we stayed in 725) was so beautiful with 20' ceilings and huge river-facing windows. We were left alone unless we needed something (which was perfect considering we wanted privacy) and in the event that we did need assistance, the concierge and desk attendants were more than eager to assist us.

The only thing I will warn is that the Hotel is at the very bottom of the Old City in lower town. If you have trouble walking long distances, be ready to take a cab (there is also the funiculaire - a tram that costs $2.25 and will take you up to the promenade by the Chateau Frontenac). If hills are no issue for you, climb away and ENJOY this most perfect, beautiful boutique hotel!

(We seriously wish we could go back right now).

Room Tip: Although I imagine all of the rooms are immaculate, I would ask for a river-facing room on or above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Bonjour Julia,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & restaurant. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us, and the team will also be happy to hear that they made your honeymoon unique and memorable. We hope to see you back again soon!

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    145
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
443
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place has it all. Great location, Staff was excellent all the way around. We had a suite booked but they upgraded us too the penthouse suite which is a over the top. Has a roof top patio too enjoy with sun chairs and such. This place is very very nice. I could not say enough good things about this hotel

Room Tip: Great loction, you cant go wrong here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Bonjour Wego1234,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so delighted you enjoyed our Penthouse! The entire team looks forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Friendly, affordable, and within walking distance to the cruise terminal. This was an absolute pleasure that made our pre-cruise stay very comfortable. Close to lots of tourist shopping and cafe's, this hotel was a highlight in our cruise with Royal Caribbean. Any experienced cruiser would appreciate this venue. They also deliver your bags to the ship. Once an old bank, this newly refurbished hotel is well appointed and extremely friendly. This is a must stay for visitors to Quebec City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Cruisers are all welcome and it is always a pleasure for our bellhops to help cruisers at gate 21 & 22 with their luggage.

We all look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Quebec City.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and chose this hotel based on location in lower town, price and reviews. The service was excellent. We encountered flight problems which forced an unexpected night near Dulles. Once I knew we couldnt make our first night, I contacted hotel. In their reply, they waived the 48 hour cancellation since they would have no problem renting the room. Due to a cruise ship at dock for several nights and a large conference in town, flights, hotels and restaurants were booked, and the concierge suggested we make dinner reservations while we were stuck at Dulles. Her choices were excellent. Room was very nice. Hotel is small and staff were very courteous and helpful. Included breakfast had extensive, fresh and tasty choices. Expecting an easy walk with bags to cruise terminal, based on google maps, we were thankful our bellman told us it would be a 45 minute walk to the 'other terminal'. He used the concierge car and drove us to baggage dropoff for cruise. Had a great experience and would use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband I stayed at Hotel 71, after making a reservation based on the reviews on trip advisor. The hotel was difficult to find because the road (Matelot) that we were supposed to be taking had pedestrians walking down it and my husband was sure he shouldn't be driving down it:) The hotel staff were were very courteous and helpful. The room was spacious, and we had a water side view, although you couldn't see much of it because a cruise ship was right in front of us. The bed was comfy although not as much as some others we had. Bathroom and shower were lovely. Nice to have free WiFi. We enjoyed the restaurant in the hotel. Continental breakfast was good. Meal we had one evening was great. We got recommendations for meals out....one was good, one was not...will be reviewing that separately:) Would stay there again!

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Nyack, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

There are so many hotels in this city. We were so happy we chose Hotel 71. A great location we walked everywhere. It is a quiet location and has a great view of Frontenac from our room #620. If you arrive by train it's an easy walk to the hotel. It is clean and modern. Breakfast has enough to get you to lunch. The concierge Francine sent us to the best restaurant L'Espace MC Chef where we loved our dinner so much we went back a second time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a contemporary feeling hotel that was an old bank and in the heart of the lower town in Old Quebec. I enjoyed the location of the Lower Town which was quiet and on quaint streets with lots of restaurants and galleries. The disadvantage is that you need to walk up to get to Upper Town. The rooms had tall ceilings, nice showers, and included breakfast and free Wi-Fi. The concierge was very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 71 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th Century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per Tripadvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and Suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and Suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian Restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 71, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.