We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 71 to your Saves list
Hotel 71
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and chose this hotel based on location in lower town, price and reviews. The service was excellent. We encountered flight problems which forced an unexpected night near Dulles. Once I knew we couldnt make our first night, I contacted hotel. In their reply, they waived the 48 hour cancellation since they would have no problem renting the room. Due to a cruise ship at dock for several nights and a large conference in town, flights, hotels and restaurants were booked, and the concierge suggested we make dinner reservations while we were stuck at Dulles. Her choices were excellent. Room was very nice. Hotel is small and staff were very courteous and helpful. Included breakfast had extensive, fresh and tasty choices. Expecting an easy walk with bags to cruise terminal, based on google maps, we were thankful our bellman told us it would be a 45 minute walk to the 'other terminal'. He used the concierge car and drove us to baggage dropoff for cruise. Had a great experience and would use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    145
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
447
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband I stayed at Hotel 71, after making a reservation based on the reviews on trip advisor. The hotel was difficult to find because the road (Matelot) that we were supposed to be taking had pedestrians walking down it and my husband was sure he shouldn't be driving down it:) The hotel staff were were very courteous and helpful. The room was spacious, and we had a water side view, although you couldn't see much of it because a cruise ship was right in front of us. The bed was comfy although not as much as some others we had. Bathroom and shower were lovely. Nice to have free WiFi. We enjoyed the restaurant in the hotel. Continental breakfast was good. Meal we had one evening was great. We got recommendations for meals out....one was good, one was not...will be reviewing that separately:) Would stay there again!

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Nyack, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

There are so many hotels in this city. We were so happy we chose Hotel 71. A great location we walked everywhere. It is a quiet location and has a great view of Frontenac from our room #620. If you arrive by train it's an easy walk to the hotel. It is clean and modern. Breakfast has enough to get you to lunch. The concierge Francine sent us to the best restaurant L'Espace MC Chef where we loved our dinner so much we went back a second time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a contemporary feeling hotel that was an old bank and in the heart of the lower town in Old Quebec. I enjoyed the location of the Lower Town which was quiet and on quaint streets with lots of restaurants and galleries. The disadvantage is that you need to walk up to get to Upper Town. The rooms had tall ceilings, nice showers, and included breakfast and free Wi-Fi. The concierge was very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The choice of Hotels in Quebec is large but there was no doubt on our mind. We wanted the Hotel 71 as the Hotel and rooms gave a good impression on the webside. The hotel is stylish and modern. When you arrive at the hotel there is a fresh smell hanging around which make you feel home and comfortabel.
The room was a great surprise and bathroom very nice with a large rainshower. The only minus is the storage capacity for your bags.
Very friendly staff and the next door restaurant is definately a plus.
We can 200% recommend this hotel and hope to be back in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Quebec City's Hotel 71 just might be the best hotel my husband and I have stayed at to date. The hotel has almost everything covered for an incredible visit to a lovely old city.

A former bank building, Hotel 71, which gets its name from the street address, is located in the old financial district of Quebec City's lower town. In fact it is located on or near the site of Benedict Arnold's defeat at the hands of the British during the Battle of Quebec in 1775. Here, history is all around you.

I have several criteria for judging a hotel: Soft, comfortable beds; hot showers and a mini fridge in the room. All were met.

The investors who remodeled the bank to create a luxury hotel did a wonderful job of preserving the original features of the interior in both a stylish and cost-effective manor. Hardwood floors have been preserved, not covered with carpet. It appears that old radiators have been covered to create a window seat and deep shelf for wineglasses, ice bucket and coffee maker. In our sixth floor rooms, old piping was exposed near the 14-foot ceilings. The closet is a frame with a velvet curtain and the bathroom has a clever one-door/two-ways feature that manages to avoid an otherwise potentially clumsy situation.

Nice features: Fluffy robes, huge bath towels, spa-quality shower, posh bathroom amenities that are also for sale in the lobby, wide-screen TV, excellent task lighting, in-room safe, small refrigerator, umbrella, iPod dock, sound system, single-cup coffee maker, china cups and saucers, wineglasses and wine opener, and ample bathroom storage space. There are many other small touches not found in many hotels. The best one is the electronic Do Not Disturb system (green when cleaning is needed, red for do not disturb and blue for ready for guests). Just push a button!

Shortcomings: No bathtub, just a shower in our classic room. A hot bath would have been nice for our aching legs. Perhaps the more expensive rooms have them. Also, no microwave; again, our room was very basic. But still, it was very luxurious.

The complimentary breakfast consisted of delicious croissants, ham, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, mixed fruit, dried fruit, nuts, bagels, cream cheese and more. It was enough to sustain us until noon.There is enough variety here to satisfy the palate.

We did not try the hotel restaurant for any other meal, but it looked inviting and full every night. (It is where breakfast is served, so we did see the interior.) There is also room service.

Views from the upper floors in front showcase the harbor and the St. Lawrence River. We were not displeased at all with our rear 6th floor view of the bluff and the lighted Chateau Frontenac in the evenings but would love a harbor view next time.

Staff seemed friendly, with Veronique and Sitti being standouts. The bellman was also very efficient and friendly.

Checkout time is noon, a real advantage for those of us taking a later flight out.

I cannot wait to return. The Hotel 71 has spoiled me for any other hotel. Next time I will use the workout facilities. This time, I got my workout climbing Cap Diamant!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Constant, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I spend 3 nights at this Hotel for business,it`s pricey but you pay for what you got,
The room was spacious and clean, had a comfortable king size bed, a nice view on the river
also had a Nespresso machine real good coffee ,
the Hotel is well located ,we could walk everywhere, close to museum, restaurants, old port.

If you want to be close to the action and really have a good time, Choose this Hotel

Restaurant at the Hotel is fabulous Matto

Room Tip: Asked for a room with view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 71 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th Century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per Tripadvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and Suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and Suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian Restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 71, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.