We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a charming city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 71 to your Saves list
Hotel 71
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a charming city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish, Hotel 71 well surpassed our expectations. The lobby, espresso lounge and restaurant are stunning and clean. The decor is fresh and modern and the rooms are oh-so-perfect! We had a room on the 6th floor with a great view of the river. Beautiful music was playing in our room as we arrived. Having our own Nespresso machine made mornings really pleasant especially after having such a great night's sleep on the most amazing mattress you could ever wish for. The staff of Hotel 71 is truly fantastic. Whether over the phone or in person, all were extremely helpful and kind. They seemed genuinely interested in making us feel welcome and ensuring our stay was the most enjoyable. Kudos to the managers of Hotel 71 for selecting such a great bunch of people to represent them!
For anyone planning a stay in the old city, I'd definitely recommend Hotel 71 and I will surely stay there during my next stay in Quebec.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Bonjour Elodie 1804,

On behalf of our entire team, it has been a real pleasure to welcome you among us and we are extremely glad to know that we have surpassed your expectations!!

Indeed, every member of our team, from the valets to the housekeepers, to front desk clerk and the maintenance department, everyone is devoted in a way to offer the best customer service, as we consider the best way for us to be dissociated from other hotels in the area... which makes us unique and the hot place to be while staying in Quebec city!!

Thank you for your great review and we are looking forward to have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    145
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
445
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Here is the list;
-fantastic location in the heart of old Quebec.
-easy walking to multiple pubs and great restaurants.
-The shopping is top notch.
-rooms are amazing, modern design theme,huge windows, fantastic shower.
-Breakfast was very satisfying.
The Valet parking was a very nice trouch.

I will return for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I often stay at this hotel for business and it's a very nice hotel with polite staff, a mix of old fashioned and modern in the design all in a great location. Not quite at the level of the nearby Auberge St. Antoine but much less expensive.

Overall excellent choice right in the picturesque petit Champlain district.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best for the view, either side is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my wife, to celebrate our first Valentine's day together as a married couple. The hotel was fantastic, the rooms were clean, good furniture and layout. The service was also very good, very helpful staff, and very polite (unlike the French experiences I've had in France). Location was very good as well, felt like we were in the heart of the old world.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Bonjour Naved81,

It is such a pleasure for all our team to know that we have contributed in a wonderful way in the making of your perfect romantic getaway for Valentine's day!

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back again soon for another memorable stay among us!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETERBOROUGH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a great experience! From the service we received, to the big windows on the Chateau Frontenac, to the bath towels, to the high ceilings (and beautiful architecture) we were very impressed. We loved the classical musical playing in our room when we arrived (made it feel like home), the breakfast was delicious, and the espresso machines in the rooms were perfect. We were also very happy to find a Bible in our nightstand.

If there was one thing that we could change, and this is a very small thing, it would be to recommend more lights around the mirror in the bathroom. However, the lighting in the main living area and bedroom was absolutely perfect. We would stay there again in a heart beat as this experience was definitely one we would do again.

Merci tellement d'avoir rendu notre séjour si agréable!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor which gave us a great view of the Chateau!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Perfect blend of modern comfort with old world charm. Rooms are huge, hardwood floors, extremely comfortable beds..very Eurpoean in feel. Helfpul staff. Superb breakfast buffett.
My only complaint was when I tried to drop in to the restuarant for lunch without a reservation, it was completely full. But I guess that is a good sign too. My own fault for not checking. If I was returning to Quebec City I would definitley stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is our second time going to Quebec City. When thinking about a hotel there wasn’t much thinking to be done. Hotel 71 is fantastic. Service, ambiance, location and the rooms are amazing. The city itself is breathtaking its like diving back 350 years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Bonjour David b,

It is such a great pleasure for all our team at Hotel 71 to receive a review like yours.

We are also glad to know that your second stay among us has overcome your expectations, just like your first one did!

All our team work really hard on a daily basis to offer a guest experience service that makes our property a unique place to stay while visiting Quebec city!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 71 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th Century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per Tripadvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and Suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and Suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian Restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 71, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.