We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you hotel 71” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 71 to your Saves list
Hotel 71
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
ny
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Thank you hotel 71”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful 4 night stay at Hotel 71. The hotel is located in the lower part of town and there are many great resturants within a block from the hotel. Petite Champlain is around the corner and the upper part of the city is a quick 10 minuite walk up the hill. We stayed during the last week of the winter carnival and this was our first trip to Quebec. The city is absolutely beautiful! We felt like we were at santa's north pole! Great resturants and shops on every street. Francine could not have been more helpful in planning our activities such as dog sledding and snow mobiling. Breakfast at the hotel resturuant was perfect for us - croissants, bagels, fruits, yogurt cereal and the best cappuccino! We did not have a chance to have dinner in the hotel resturant, however we did order room service our last night and it was very good. We had a king suite. The room was very spacious and clean. Nice high ceilings and a big bathroom with a separate shower and tub. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up on the days we had our excursions. I highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed! Thank you Francine and to the rest of the staff for arranging for such a pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Bonjour jmnNy,

Thank you so much for your great review regarding your recent stay in Quebec city.

All of our team is glad to know that we have been able to contribute in our own way in the making of a memorable 1st impression of our beautiful city... and hotel!

Hoping to have the privilege to welcome you back again in a near future!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    144
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
440
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at Hotel 71 in February with 2 other couples and we had an amazing stay. The rooms are beautiful - a great combination of exposed bricks and beams with modern styling and amenities. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. We were on the 7th floor and the ceilings must have been 18' high. Wonderful modern bathrooms as well. The restaurant attached to the hotel is almost great - they had line-ups of people coming in for dinner. Breakfast was included with our stay and it was much better than the traditional "continental" breakfasts that many hotels provide. Real croissants, capuccinos, great assortment. The staff was also extremely helpful and made our stay great. I would say that the hotel is certainly more of a couples hotel, and not as ideal for kids, but otherwise I would say it was one of the nicest boutique hotels I have ever stayed at. Highly recommended. The location is right in Old Quebec City and we were able to walk everywhere in the old town. You do have to hike up the hill to get to the newer parts of the city, but it's a good way to work off all of the delicious food in town. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms are wonderful with great views and high ceilings. Rooms that face the river have nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very good experience at Hotel 71. 2 nights stay May 2012. Very nice room. Good service, good breakfast. Good location. We left the car at the parking and everything you need to see is at walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from Friday to Monday during the annual winter carnaval and it was absolutely perfect. The room was just what we wanted, clean, high ceilings, very nicely decorated and comfortable; including the special request for a room with a view. Awesome luxurious shower (big enough for two). Love the complimentary Nesspresso coffee in our room:) This is a very nice boutique hotel, beautiful lobby and lounge area as well as gym facility. Great location. We especially appreciated the friendly and courteous staff. Maxime and Rose-Marie at the reception desk were especially helpful and friendly, helping to us to make dinner reservations and providing great suggestions on activities and places to see during our stay. Max (valet) was also very professional and friendly. Warm Service with a smile. Overall, great experience.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had the chance to stay at this beautiful boutique hotel this past weekend, and I have nothing but good things to say. From the moment i checked in, to the time I left, the staff was just fantastic and was extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel is located in the heart of Vieux Quebec and within walking distance to many great restaurants and attractions. The rooms have a very modern look with very high ceilings and great views. The continental buffet breakfast was of excellent quality and they make delicious cappuccinos and lattes. The restaurant on site (Il Matto) is also very good and has nice trendy vibe. You can't go wrong with this property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Bonjour FrankMTL25,

What a great pleasure for all our team at Hotel 71 to receive such comment like yours!! Thank you for taking the time to share this appreciation with everybody!

All our staff is devoted to give a memorable service experience so our guests can remember our property as being a unique and special place to be while staying in Quebec city!

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back soon among us!
Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed for the night after leaving the ice hotel, they were very accommodating when we wanted to check in early. We bought a package that included parking which they offere a free breakfast when we checked in without a car. They forgot the chocolates that were supposed to come with our package, and we were woken early by an alarm that was left on in someone's room, but even with these small issues we'd still be happy to stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel 71 has a very modern, yet cozy atmosphere. It is located right in the heart of old quebec. Our sweet had an amazing view of the water and chateau frontenac. The room was fantastic, and the staff was veryy friendly and helpful! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting quebec city!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 71 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th Century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per Tripadvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and Suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and Suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian Restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 71, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.