We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 71 to your Saves list
Hotel 71
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Tennessee
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. The location is fantastic - right in the heart of the Old City. It is easy to walk to all the major sights. The room was spotless and sleek in design. The bathroom shower was wonderful! The best part about Hotel 71 is the great staff. The front desk staff were most helpful especially offering the service to walk with us to the cruise ship helping with our luggage. The restaurant employees were a joy to talk to and went out of their way to make your dining experience special. The complimentary morning breakfast was an additional surprise. There was ample fruit, cereals, great bread, sliced ham and cheeses, hard boiled eggs, a selection of juices, and of course, coffee. This is the perfect place to stay in Quebec City with attentive staff. Definitely a gem!

Room Tip: The seventh floor rooms have a great view of the St. Lawrence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bonjour TennesseeDaisy,

What a joy for all our team at Hotel 71 to read your review regarding your recent stay with us!!

Each of our members is dedicated to provide our guests the best service experience!! We are truly glad that you have been able to take full advantage of all our services offered!

If ever Quebec city is considered for another great stay, we hope to have the privilege to welcome you back among us!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    145
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
443
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fantastic location, really comfortable room, nice breakfast although nothing fancy. Ideally located for old town, the port, great museum just over the road. Concierge gave a good restaurant recommendation but can't remember it's name. Would definitely stay here again if in Quebec.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Bonjour travelmaster,

Your recent review regarding our property is truly appreciated from all our team at Hotel 71. Thank you for taking the time to write it to share with everybody to see!

Our great central location gives our concierge department plenty of choices of activites and restaurants to recommend to our guests in way of contributing in the making of memorable stay!

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back if Quebec city is reconsidered in a near future.

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel. The location was walk able distance to all tourist attraction areas. The rooms were clean and clean bathrooms with rain shower. The staff were good...but not so friendly as we expected but overall we do not have any complaints. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Bonjour Life_is_beautiful19,

On behalf of all our team at Hotel 71, thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay among us!!

We are glad to know that you've been able to enjoy our great and central location as well as our professional services!

If ever Quebec city is reconsidered in a near future, we wish to have the privilege to welcome you back among us!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have been there 2 times: once a couple for a romantic night and the second, we traveled with our little one (14 months old at that time) during Marathon week-end.
The first time we went there was very quiet (a saturday night in april). We've noticed that it was a very nice, clean, romantic and calm hotel.
The second time we wnt there, we used more ''service''. We asked for a park n play. It was the first time we had the park + the sheets (they never provide the sheets...). We had a nice and large suite with a large living room and a medium bedroom. The washroom is huge, nice, modern and extra clean. We forgot to bring milk for the little one and when we ask for a place to buy some near the hotel, they offered us to fill and heat the bottle, very nice attention that we appreciate. The breakfest was included in the room price. Nice buffet, nothing fancy but you can eat well. Very good service, that is what we liked the most about this place. Nice location, nice style. I would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Madame Stelio,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your latest visit to Hotel 71; your feedback is greatly appreciated and valuable to us.

It is great to know that you enjoyed our property while on a romantic getaway as well as for a family outing.

We are definitely looking forward to your 3rd visit soon,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed recently as part of our 20th anniversary get away. In our years of travel few other hotels have had staff this great. Parking in this area would be awkward at the best of times but construction made it worse. We had to park a few streets away but the valets retreived our car with a no problem attitude. Our only glitch was a shortage of hot water. The concierge did his best to fix and took one parking charge off the bill. Location is great, just a short pleasant walk to Lower Town sights. Included breakfast was simple but good and there are lots of good restaurants in all price ranges within walking distance. Overall we were very pleased. Our room had a street view and residents of the apartments opposite were only a few feet away as you would expect in an old city. If returning we would ask about alternate views.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Bonjour Mike Y,

On behalf of all our team at Hotel 71, we thank you for your review regarding your recent stay among us!

We are flattered to know that you have experienced a great customer service while you were staying at the hotel. Each of our team member wants to give to our guests the best quality service possible!

We are sorry about the unfortunate issue you have experienced with our hot water system. Rest assured that it's been rectified immediately.

Do not hesitate to ask information about our alternate views and room types offered while booking for a future stay in our proprety!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We called several hotel for reservations for a 4 day stay without any luck. The last hotel we called suggested we call Hotel 71 and even transferred our call. They had rooms for 4 consecutive days which we needed. I asked why the hotel were so full and the reply was 4 cruise ships will be docking during that period. Even the Queen Mary II was there. At one point for one afternoon there were over 10,000 people in the city.

Our "Lucky Find" turned out very well for us at Hotel 71. It is located on a quite street in the center Vieux Quebec. from the top rooms you have an excellent view of the St Lawrence River and Levi across the river. The hotel is quite smart with a contemporary decor. The rooms have hardwood floors with sisal area rugs, tall ceilings, and good task lighting (area lighting not so much). The bath is all tile and glass with a killer duel head shower. Bath robes and top quality toiletries. This is a very clean and well maintained hotel There is also an excellent complementary breakfast each morning.

This hotel has two bonuses.The first one is the a joining restaurant iL Matto. Wonderful place with well prepared dishes and efficient table service. This place must be popular with the local residents as they were there every night. In fact, we asked one of them and this was the case. The second bonus is Francine, the head consignees. She took care of everything for us. She is quite confident, knowledgeable, and patient. My advice is if you are here for a few days just let her plan you days & nights. She will see to all details. There was one restaurant she sent us to that was perfect for us, Chez Bouley Bistro. Great food & service.

What really made this hotel good was the staff. Everyone was most helpful and friendly. The hotel has a nice exercise room and small spa, as well as a nicely appointed medium size conference room. Tip--- If you stay here make reservations at the iL Matto restaurant. That way after a day of travel you can have a great meal and walk 10 feet to the elevator and your room!

Room Tip: Get a room on top floors for a good view of the St Lawrence River
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Bonjour ALLISONMidland,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to be a ''Lucky Find'' for you in our beautiful city, especially during this amazing period of the year with all the cruise ships arriving close by!

As you have mentionned, our great location makes us a must place to be close to plenty of restaurants and hot spots to visit.

Our front desk staff and concierge are always available to contribute in the making of memorable stays for our special guests.

If ever Quebec city is reconsidered in a near future, we wish to have the privilege to welcome you back among us!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The rooms are extremely noisy. My husband and I stayed there from September 7-9, 2012 and barely got a wink of sleep. The floors are hardwood, so we can hear each movement of the people above us. It didn't help that they seemed to be wearing high-heels at all hours of the day/night, and moved their furniture around. Still, them moving furniture should not make our whole room rumble. Moreover, there seemed to be a party on our floor on the Saturday night. People were talking/yelling/singing in the hallways, and slamming doors, etc. Each sound sounded like they were in our room. There should be better sound insulation. This went on until around 4am.

For the price, I expected more. I expected comfort and sleep. It was noisy and the room itself was nothing special. It was clean, but not large, no tub, no extras.

The staff were very nice, and I liked the breakfast that was included in the price. It was a good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Bonjour JacDini,

Bonjour JacDini,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71.

It was certainly a disappointment to read that some of our clients have disturbed the quality of your sleep time. Please note that our front desk is always open with a front desk clerk available and able to warn some clients being too noisy late at night in order to provide to our other in-house guests the best quality of sleep. We apologize if you experienced otherwise.

If ever Quebec City is considered for another visit, do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can make proper arrangements for your stay.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 71 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th Century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per Tripadvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and Suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and Suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian Restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 71, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.