We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel 71 to your Saves list
Hotel 71
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
MIDLAND
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lucky Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We called several hotel for reservations for a 4 day stay without any luck. The last hotel we called suggested we call Hotel 71 and even transferred our call. They had rooms for 4 consecutive days which we needed. I asked why the hotel were so full and the reply was 4 cruise ships will be docking during that period. Even the Queen Mary II was there. At one point for one afternoon there were over 10,000 people in the city.

Our "Lucky Find" turned out very well for us at Hotel 71. It is located on a quite street in the center Vieux Quebec. from the top rooms you have an excellent view of the St Lawrence River and Levi across the river. The hotel is quite smart with a contemporary decor. The rooms have hardwood floors with sisal area rugs, tall ceilings, and good task lighting (area lighting not so much). The bath is all tile and glass with a killer duel head shower. Bath robes and top quality toiletries. This is a very clean and well maintained hotel There is also an excellent complementary breakfast each morning.

This hotel has two bonuses.The first one is the a joining restaurant iL Matto. Wonderful place with well prepared dishes and efficient table service. This place must be popular with the local residents as they were there every night. In fact, we asked one of them and this was the case. The second bonus is Francine, the head consignees. She took care of everything for us. She is quite confident, knowledgeable, and patient. My advice is if you are here for a few days just let her plan you days & nights. She will see to all details. There was one restaurant she sent us to that was perfect for us, Chez Bouley Bistro. Great food & service.

What really made this hotel good was the staff. Everyone was most helpful and friendly. The hotel has a nice exercise room and small spa, as well as a nicely appointed medium size conference room. Tip--- If you stay here make reservations at the iL Matto restaurant. That way after a day of travel you can have a great meal and walk 10 feet to the elevator and your room!

Room Tip: Get a room on top floors for a good view of the St Lawrence River
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Bonjour ALLISONMidland,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad to be a ''Lucky Find'' for you in our beautiful city, especially during this amazing period of the year with all the cruise ships arriving close by!

As you have mentionned, our great location makes us a must place to be close to plenty of restaurants and hot spots to visit.

Our front desk staff and concierge are always available to contribute in the making of memorable stays for our special guests.

If ever Quebec city is reconsidered in a near future, we wish to have the privilege to welcome you back among us!

Sincerely,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    144
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
431
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The rooms are extremely noisy. My husband and I stayed there from September 7-9, 2012 and barely got a wink of sleep. The floors are hardwood, so we can hear each movement of the people above us. It didn't help that they seemed to be wearing high-heels at all hours of the day/night, and moved their furniture around. Still, them moving furniture should not make our whole room rumble. Moreover, there seemed to be a party on our floor on the Saturday night. People were talking/yelling/singing in the hallways, and slamming doors, etc. Each sound sounded like they were in our room. There should be better sound insulation. This went on until around 4am.

For the price, I expected more. I expected comfort and sleep. It was noisy and the room itself was nothing special. It was clean, but not large, no tub, no extras.

The staff were very nice, and I liked the breakfast that was included in the price. It was a good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Bonjour JacDini,

Bonjour JacDini,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71.

It was certainly a disappointment to read that some of our clients have disturbed the quality of your sleep time. Please note that our front desk is always open with a front desk clerk available and able to warn some clients being too noisy late at night in order to provide to our other in-house guests the best quality of sleep. We apologize if you experienced otherwise.

If ever Quebec City is considered for another visit, do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can make proper arrangements for your stay.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is a former Bank so all rooms have high ceilings which I like! Very Spacious, but mostly the staff are outstanding!...Max and the girls at the front desk will take care of you well, and treated my mom to a friendly, warm greeting. This is the most important! Beds are also very comfortable, so I cannot find a fault here! Little construction in front, so request a higher floor.
Great Job!

Room Tip: Higher floor, corner units
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Bonjour David W,

It is always a pleasure for us at Hotel 71 to receive such comments from our guests! All comments are truly important and considered in a way to always be able to upgrade our quality service!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice, modern hotel just like the way we like them and we enjoyed being in the old part of Quebec near the waterfront. Reception staff were very nice as was the valet service. We had a large two double beds room on the 2nd floor, nice bathroom so what went wrong I hear you ask?!! Housekeeping was not up to a 4 star standard - for example the previous guest's hairgrip was still on the floor when we moved into our room along with dust in the corners and under the beds along with a sugar stick. We liked the fact that the floor was not carpeted but the disadvantage is that any dust etc is very noticeable. I think what suprised us the most was the fact that housekeeping staff on TWO occasions didn't even bother saying "good morning" to us and then proceeded to take the elevator before us all the while completing ignoring us! Another employee got into the elevator after our wait and once again didn't think it important to say "hello". Certainly not our idea of a four star service which is a shame as other staff were really nice as I have said. I didn't like the smell as you came into the hotel each time - the smell reminded me more of a church smell rather than a slick sensual smell but I guess smell is a question of personal taste!
If you are wanting a room with a view check with the hotel first as those that give on the back of the hotel do not have one but simply because we are in the old part of Quebec and there are houses on either side of the narrow roads. Not really a problem for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Bonjour Cocopops06,

We want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71!

We are glad to know that you appreciated our modern, urban and chic decor as well as the service and the warm welcoming you received from our reception and valet staff!

Nevertheless, It was certainly a disappointment to read that some others of our Team members did not acknowledge you while in the same hallway. Rest assure that it is not the way we educate our Staff and that this matter will be addressed immediately. Since day one, daily recognition of our guests is one of the most important standards our property has implemented, we apologize if you experienced otherwise.

If Quebec city is considered for another stay, please do not hesitate to contact me personnaly for a reservation so I could make the proper arrangements.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would highly recommend Hotel 71 for your stay in Quebec City. It was in a fantastic location, was modern yet quaint and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Despite a small issue upon check in (which was speedily resolved) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel 71. Also, if you get a chance, check out Matto their Italian restaurant for dinner. The food was very good and it was always hopping with local folk-a sure sign of a good restaurant!

Room Tip: There is currently construction across from the hotel. They don't work weekends however it is un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Bonjour Cynthia S,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your appreciations regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71!

It has been a real pleasure for all of us to have us among us! We are glad to see that we have been able to meet your expectations and that we have contributed in making your visit to Quebec city a memorable one!

To the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Upon arrival, we were met politely , our car valet parked,helped with our bags and checked in, all within 20 min. We ran into the concierge in the elevatior as he was leaving for the evening and he gave us a warm welcome, offering to help,with any questions or needs. The hotel lobby was beautiful! Details were modern, clean and chic. The lobby lounge had tea,coffee,water available at all times. Great music played in the lounge , perfect to chill in the afternoon, have a coffee and unwind from hours of walking and exploring. Location was convenient to EVERYTHING! We didn't take our car out once. Many great cafes and boutiques are within blocks of Hotel 71. Had a great massage in the massage room ( you have a choice of in room massage or room on the 5th floor designated for massage therapy)- very professional therapist, reasonable price. Our room was just as advertised, no surprises. It was clean well appointed and had a great view of Frontenac Hotel (rm 522). Our room faced the back of the hotel and was very quiet, great for sleeping in late. Daily breakfast was awesome, hard to believe you still can find a hotel with a quality meal as a free perk! We had a great experience here. We were in Montreal and Quebec City, stayed in 3 different hotels throughout our vacation and Hotel 71 was our favorite.

Room Tip: All rooms facing back of hotel should be very quiet, it's more an alley than street although car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear AdiandbeccA,

What a pleasure it was for us at Hotel 71 to read your review regarding your recent stay with us!

We are more than glad to see that you've been able to experience and to take advantage of the full range of our services such as the cleanliness and quiteness of our rooms, our tasty daily breakfast, our expresso lounge, our professional massage service and much more!

As you have well described it, our concierges at Hotel 71 are warmhearted and particularly oriented towards personalized service to all our valued guests as well as all other members of our team!!

We truly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon for another great stay with us!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Without a doubt Hotel 71 is a must stay destination. Located in lower Old Quebec City, it is steps away from "La Petite Champlain" with its shops and a variety of restaurants.

Close your eyes (no open them) and you feel like you are in a small village in France.

Hotel 71 was at one time the Head Office for the Canadian Bank, but you would never know it, once you go through the front doors. Modern, chic and very European.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Bonjour Stan F,

Thank you for taking the time to share with everyone your appreciation regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71.

We are pleased to know that you took full advantages of our services being offered and that you enjoyed every aspect of our ideal location in the Old-Quebec city which remind us the European architecture style!

Hoping to have the privilege of welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 71 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th Century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per Tripadvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and Suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and Suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian Restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 71, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.