We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have received a higher rating were it not for housekeeping..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 71 to your Saves list
Hotel 71
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Would have received a higher rating were it not for housekeeping..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice, modern hotel just like the way we like them and we enjoyed being in the old part of Quebec near the waterfront. Reception staff were very nice as was the valet service. We had a large two double beds room on the 2nd floor, nice bathroom so what went wrong I hear you ask?!! Housekeeping was not up to a 4 star standard - for example the previous guest's hairgrip was still on the floor when we moved into our room along with dust in the corners and under the beds along with a sugar stick. We liked the fact that the floor was not carpeted but the disadvantage is that any dust etc is very noticeable. I think what suprised us the most was the fact that housekeeping staff on TWO occasions didn't even bother saying "good morning" to us and then proceeded to take the elevator before us all the while completing ignoring us! Another employee got into the elevator after our wait and once again didn't think it important to say "hello". Certainly not our idea of a four star service which is a shame as other staff were really nice as I have said. I didn't like the smell as you came into the hotel each time - the smell reminded me more of a church smell rather than a slick sensual smell but I guess smell is a question of personal taste!
If you are wanting a room with a view check with the hotel first as those that give on the back of the hotel do not have one but simply because we are in the old part of Quebec and there are houses on either side of the narrow roads. Not really a problem for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Bonjour Cocopops06,

We want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71!

We are glad to know that you appreciated our modern, urban and chic decor as well as the service and the warm welcoming you received from our reception and valet staff!

Nevertheless, It was certainly a disappointment to read that some others of our Team members did not acknowledge you while in the same hallway. Rest assure that it is not the way we educate our Staff and that this matter will be addressed immediately. Since day one, daily recognition of our guests is one of the most important standards our property has implemented, we apologize if you experienced otherwise.

If Quebec city is considered for another stay, please do not hesitate to contact me personnaly for a reservation so I could make the proper arrangements.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    145
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
445
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would highly recommend Hotel 71 for your stay in Quebec City. It was in a fantastic location, was modern yet quaint and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Despite a small issue upon check in (which was speedily resolved) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel 71. Also, if you get a chance, check out Matto their Italian restaurant for dinner. The food was very good and it was always hopping with local folk-a sure sign of a good restaurant!

Room Tip: There is currently construction across from the hotel. They don't work weekends however it is un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Bonjour Cynthia S,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your appreciations regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71!

It has been a real pleasure for all of us to have us among us! We are glad to see that we have been able to meet your expectations and that we have contributed in making your visit to Quebec city a memorable one!

To the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Upon arrival, we were met politely , our car valet parked,helped with our bags and checked in, all within 20 min. We ran into the concierge in the elevatior as he was leaving for the evening and he gave us a warm welcome, offering to help,with any questions or needs. The hotel lobby was beautiful! Details were modern, clean and chic. The lobby lounge had tea,coffee,water available at all times. Great music played in the lounge , perfect to chill in the afternoon, have a coffee and unwind from hours of walking and exploring. Location was convenient to EVERYTHING! We didn't take our car out once. Many great cafes and boutiques are within blocks of Hotel 71. Had a great massage in the massage room ( you have a choice of in room massage or room on the 5th floor designated for massage therapy)- very professional therapist, reasonable price. Our room was just as advertised, no surprises. It was clean well appointed and had a great view of Frontenac Hotel (rm 522). Our room faced the back of the hotel and was very quiet, great for sleeping in late. Daily breakfast was awesome, hard to believe you still can find a hotel with a quality meal as a free perk! We had a great experience here. We were in Montreal and Quebec City, stayed in 3 different hotels throughout our vacation and Hotel 71 was our favorite.

Room Tip: All rooms facing back of hotel should be very quiet, it's more an alley than street although car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear AdiandbeccA,

What a pleasure it was for us at Hotel 71 to read your review regarding your recent stay with us!

We are more than glad to see that you've been able to experience and to take advantage of the full range of our services such as the cleanliness and quiteness of our rooms, our tasty daily breakfast, our expresso lounge, our professional massage service and much more!

As you have well described it, our concierges at Hotel 71 are warmhearted and particularly oriented towards personalized service to all our valued guests as well as all other members of our team!!

We truly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon for another great stay with us!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Without a doubt Hotel 71 is a must stay destination. Located in lower Old Quebec City, it is steps away from "La Petite Champlain" with its shops and a variety of restaurants.

Close your eyes (no open them) and you feel like you are in a small village in France.

Hotel 71 was at one time the Head Office for the Canadian Bank, but you would never know it, once you go through the front doors. Modern, chic and very European.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Bonjour Stan F,

Thank you for taking the time to share with everyone your appreciation regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71.

We are pleased to know that you took full advantages of our services being offered and that you enjoyed every aspect of our ideal location in the Old-Quebec city which remind us the European architecture style!

Hoping to have the privilege of welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had a delightful time at this very new and modern establishment. The staff was always helpful and accomidating. Big rooms with a sophisticated look. I really enjoyed staying in lower town. Is is directly across the street from the Museum of Cilvilization. Some of the best restaurants are within a couple blocks. There is a gas station a block away for late night snacks (and beverages).

We stayed five nights and go an excellent discount (I believe 30% off for four nights or more). It was nice to have free breakfast in morning. The breakfast is served in one of top rated restaurants in city (Il Motto) which is part of hotel.
There was also free expresso or cappuccino,free bikes,, free english paper in morning, free internet, and gracious hospitality.
Easy walking distance to lower city, shops, funicular (to upper city), image mill, and free cirque de soliel extravaganza (see quebec city tourism site for more details).

There are 71 characters on my keyboard and I probably could use them all to say this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We choose to get the superior room which is extra roomy. The whole facility is in a quiet neighborho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
September 5th, 2012

Bonjour RevDrRobert,

We were truly delighted to read your review regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel 71!

What a great way to describe our property and our services being offered. We are glad to know that you have been able to experience all our amenities and enjoy the benefits from our great location in the Vieux-Port.

We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you soon for another great stay!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had to go to QCity for work and took my husband for a sans kids getaway. We were initially very happy with the hotel and room. My disappointment with the hotel started when i tried to take a shower. While the bathroom and rooms were well done and large, the shower controls were a mystery. I still don't know if the lack of hot water was due to a lack of hot water my inabilityto get the shower system to deliver it. I tried every way, turned all dials in all ways to no avail. The second time this happened i had a meeting and had to rush another cold shower. If the front desk had cared when i told them it would have made all the difference but they didn't then and i haven't heard any followup since then. This was a big disappointment and i will not stay there again and i wouldn't recommend it. Too bad as the view, the decor and the hotel isvery nice. Not a good hotel for kids and families - more bus and adults
The breakfast is good but don't eat dinner in the adjoining restaurant. The food is bland in flavour with little originality. Do not be fooled by the decor. There are much better restaurants up in the newer parts of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
August 31st, 2012

Bonjour Debinottawa,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with us.

What a disappointment it was to read it. Please accept our sincere apologies for not being up to par with our services according to your comments.

Rest assure that the issues you mentioned have already been addressed with the proper managers for immediate actions.

We certainly aim for complete satisfaction from our guests and judging by other travelers' comments, we distinguish ourselves by our professionnalism and by the quality of our services being offered. But I do understand that in this case, it would have been more than appropriate for you to receive a followup to know what have been the actions taken on our side regarding the issue with the hot water system. Our response to this issue with the hot water system has been immediately addressed to our maintenance departement for an immediate action as of the moment we have been informed of it.

If ever Quebec City is considered for another visit, do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can make proper arrangements for your stay.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was our first trip to Quebec City and we did right by selecting Hotel 71. The staff was a pleasure from our arrival to the day of our departure. Great location; intimate walks, without the traffic of the "big hotel".

Room Tip: Pick the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vlemieux, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
August 30th, 2012

Dear Gerry D,

We would like to thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent stay at Hotel 71. We are truly glad to have had the privilege of welcoming you among us for your very first visit into our beautiful city!

Hoping to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon for another great stay!

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71, rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 71 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th Century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per Tripadvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and Suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and Suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian Restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 71, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.