We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This the one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau des Tourelles

Save Saved
You added Chateau des Tourelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau des Tourelles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Street Saint Jean | 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This the one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are currently staying in the suite (room 10) and it is very nice. The bed is comfortable, the sheets are clean and new, the pillows make my head feel like it is drifting upon a puffy cloud. In the bedroom, there are large french windows looking out to the terrace. The television is huge. The AC is a little noisy but it cools off the room very fast. The bathroom is massive with a whirpool bathtub and a separate shower. The second room would be perfect for a child. There is a microwave.

The terrace is so big! When I read that there was a terrace, I thought it would be a small balcony. You could probably squeeze twenty people on to the terrace, it is that big. It doesn't overlook the old city but it overlooks the northern part of the city where mountains are seen in the background.

The breakfast, which is included, is fantastic and the owners are lovely people.

The hotel is about a 15-minute walk to the Old City but it's a great walk down Rue St. Jean where there are many restaurants, shops, and interesting churches. We took a tour of a nearby church which was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    95
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
80
208
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst in Quebec City. The staff were helpful on arrival, providing us with a map of the city, the Wi-Fi-passcode, etc. The rooms were alright; they were quite old, and there as a hole in the floor (?) Also, we were only provided with one towel (we were a party of four) and were not able to get more until the afternoon of the next day. The breakfast was great, however. The owner and waiter was extremely friendly and made us all feel right at home. Their French toast is commendable. There is a parking, located about 250m from the hotel, which will cost you $8/day. The location of the hotel is like no other; it is walking distance from the very center of the city, no need to use the car. All in all, a good stay. However, if was quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a quiet studio apartment (room on the lowest floor) with cooking facilities which was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 young kids. A private parking lot was conveniently located just outside our door. Beds were comfy and apartment was tastefully furnished making it feel like home. Location is walking distance of Upper Town. William the manager was friendly and accommodated all our needs.

My only grouses are that a strange smell, which I suspect is sewage smell, would waft from the toilet occasionally and the floor wasn't cleaned/vacuumed daily, so dirt built up. That being said, William seemed to be the only staff at that time doing room turnover, so perhaps they were shorthanded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I arrived there July 25th and left July 31st. The hotel is wonderful, and the staff is even better. We are in our 70s and did a lot of walking. Be advised Quebec City is pretty hilly, not quite San Francisco, but similar in many parts. the architecture in town is amazing. There are many churches that are spectacular. Be sure to see John the Baptist, Sacred Heart and St. Anne's de Beaupre. Also be sure to check out the waterfalls at Montmorency falls they are great and 90 feet higher than Niagara Falls. If you stay at Chateau des Tourelles and are our age, you might really appreciate being on one of the lower floors. Before we left i read a lot about Quebec City, and everybody seems to say that you can get by speaking english. For the most part that is true, but there are a few people that ignore you if you speak only english.

Room Tip: I onle saw the room we stayed in. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau des Tourelles from Friday night until Monday morning over the civic holiday weekend. The 'Chateau' was easy to find even with a slight detour due to road construction. We were greeted by the friendly staff who helped us with our bags and got us sorted around with parking (parking is at a neighbouring garage). We had requested a room at the back of the hotel (as per suggestion of some other reviewers), and we were pleasantly surprised when we were given the choice of 2 rooms. We chose room 4, which had a private balcony and was farther away from the common area. The bed was comfy and the room was equipped with a nice quiet air conditioner so we could set the temperature to our comfort level. Breakfast was served by the owners each morning, and was both filling and delicious. The homemade preserves were fabulous. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend the Chateau to couples and families visiting Quebec City.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for six days in June. It was a great location, allowing us to walk easily all around town. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, giving us ideas of places to see and directions for walking or catching a nearby bus. The food was amazing. We started every day with a lovely breakfast served with a smile. And sometimes the owner's little dog could be coaxed over for a pet during our meal. Our room was very comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent two nights at the Chateau des Tourelles in room 8. When I got there I was warmly welcomed by Howli (spell?). There were a few rooms open so she showed them to me and let me pick the room I wanted, not bad. She explained the parking garage, a couple of blocks away, but I misunderstood her when she said it’s the garage ACROSS the street from bldg. 34. I was looking for garage 34, don’t make that mistake. After walking the city all night I came back to a warm room and after messing around with the thermostat I figured the AC must be broke so I opened the windows since it was cool outside. Even with the window opened the noise didn’t bother me. The next morning I was talking to William who was preparing breakfast (breakfast is awesome) and mentioned the AC and he walked in the room and grabbed the remote control and turned the AC on. I’ve never managed my AC by remote control and when I saw two remotes together next to the TV and DVD player I just figured that what they were for. Bottom line, great people running this place, very clean and comfortable and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Tourelles

Address: 212 Street Saint Jean | 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Tourelles 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house built in 1898, hosting 10 rooms, suites and studios in the heart of very old and very lively Saint Jean Baptiste, and 10 minutes walk from Old Quebec. Le Chateau des Tourelles is primarily a small cozy hotel, where people feel good and a little like at home. Our panoramic terrace covering the roof of the hotel will seduce you as it offers one of the most beautiful views of Quebec, the Laurentides Mountains and part of Saint Laurent So see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Des Tourelles Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau des Tourelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.