We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the attic room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Place D'Armes to your Saves list
Auberge Place D'Armes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
East Corinth, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get the attic room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Sure, there's no elevator, but don't let that stop you. Room #30 on the top floor is fantastic. It's quiet and roomy enough for two people. Exposed brick and wood beams everywhere. A small closet for extra storage if you'll be there for an extended stay. Not much of a view out the small window, but we were there to get out and explore the city so we didn't mind. There's no bathtub, but the shower has a detachable shower head and body jets, if you're into that kind of thing. The complimentary breakfast is not to be missed - generous portions and delicious food provide a great start to your day's adventure. Auberge Place D'Armes is also within easy walking distance of all of old Quebec city. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: #30 is more than adequate for two people if you don't mind three flights of stairs. We were tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    141
    30
    7
    5
See reviews for
74
478
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our second visit and we continue to be thrilled with the hotel. The location is fabulous. You are a short distance to all the attractions plus great restaurants. The rooms are small but nicely done and very well maintained. The housekeeping staff do a wonderful job. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They truly want happy customers. Breakfast is included and you pick from about 10 dishes which are made to order. The food is very good. We will definitely be returning on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Walk out the door and your are in the heart of all that makes QC a great place to visit. It is a 5 minute walk to lower Quebec; only 2 minutea to the lovely boardwalk and fenicular; across the park from the Cheteau Frontenac. Many, many restaurants are also close by. The auberge is located on a pedestrian only street and thus is very quiet at night and very quaint during the day. Valet parking was helpful! The inn has a certian country charm even though it is located in the heart of the city. The old stone walls in the rooms provide for a very unique experience. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern with an awesome jet shower arrangement. I especially enjoyed the breakfast. The Eggs Benedict was superb, but my favorite was the breakfast pizza, This was not a thrown together pizza; the poached egg on top with cheese and suasage on a thin crust with just the right amount of seasoning for a breakfast meal was delicious. The next time in QC, I will stay at this auberge. You should, too.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Rue St Anne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This beautiful little hotel faces the Château Frontenac and is the perfect location for travelers wanting to visit Vieux Québec. It's about a 5 minute stroll to the staircase that leads down to the old quarter. The rooms are quirky, elegant, yet comfortable with a mix of antique and modern decor. Rather than spending a fortune on the Frontenac, stay here and enjoy the view of the Château instead! The rooms are charming, the street below is lively, and the view from the windows in many of the rooms or from the front patio is splendid! We stayed in the Superior Room in the Attic; it was adorable! I could live there!

The staff is helpful and friendly, although at certain times there is a little wait at the front desk as it serves as the entrance to both the hotel and the restaurant. The hotel restaurant itself is elegant and has the reputation of serving fine cuisine, although we only ate breakfasts there. (The breakfasts were quite good.)

Other advantages include the individually-controlled air conditioning, which we were very thankful for after returning from several hours in the July heat and humidity, the thick curtains which allowed for quiet, dark sleeping, the mini-fridge (which we used to store chocolates), and the glass-doored shower with the lighted shower head. Other amenities were extra fantastic, as well.

Taxis can drop you off and pick up right in front of the Château Frontenac, and there is generally no wait for a taxi during daytime hours in summer. It's about a 15 minute taxi ride to the train station, if I remember correctly. The tourism office is located just a few buildings down from the hotel, towards the left, while a bank with an ATM machine is just a few doors down on the right.

The only drawback I can think of is that you'll need to be able to climb staircases in most cases. There is no elevator, and some of the rooms require quite a climb. Also, due to the fact that the hotel is located atop the hill (as is most of Québec City), you will have to climb up and down the large staircase(s) leading to the old city down below everyday, if not several times per day, if you want to see the old city or port. You can opt to take the funicular that leads down to the Quartier Petit-Champlain, for $2 a ride, if you can't quite make it up and down the hill.

Walking up and down the hill via the city's staircases shouldn't be a problem for most people, although some may need to pause to catch their breath here and there. However, for those who really have serious mobility problems, it could be a serious deterrent. Then again, half of Québec City would be a deterrent to those with limited mobility for the same reason. So if you do have mobility issues, make sure to reserve a room on the lower floors and take advantage of baggage service within the hotel, and take the funicular down to the vieux quartier/basse-ville.

I adore this city, and I absolutely love this hotel. Although it is a little more costly, it's definitely worth it if you can swing it. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, choose a floor on the lower floors. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was in my sights due to great reviews, but a little more than we were hoping to pay. I am so glad we bit the bullet and booked with them. We were just delighted with our room - I have not heard anyone mention the best part: HEATED BATHROOM FLOOR! This may not be a boon in the summer, but for us during the chilly autumn, it was a super treat. Modern bath with rain shower that had lights on it showing hot, cold, green for good to go. Service was discreet but impeccable and the valet parking was worth the extra cost. We took our car out twice and both times it was brought very promptly and they ran right out to collect it when we called to say we were back. We stayed in room 15 which is first floor (one flight of stairs) in the front. Loved opening the window and viewing the Chateau Frontenac out the window. I suppose in the summer it might be a little noisy, but that was not the case in October. The restaurant next door where our breakfast was served was also very nice. There were enough choices on the menu for everyone. We did not eat there for other meals, but there is a 10% discount if you do. Location has already been mentioned, but I'll mention it again. Right in the middle of everything. We were so happy with our choice.

Room Tip: No elevator. We enjoyed being in Room 15, up a staircase and in the front, right over the lobby. Hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We could not have selected a more perfect hotel to spend our anniversary! The staff was outstanding! They were all very cordial and welcoming. They were helpful in getting us settled by parking our car, getting our luggage to our rooms, and answering all our questions about Quebec City. The dining room staff provided outstanding service and were fun people to talk to. We stayed in the "Superior in the Attic" room and the climb up the stairs was well worth it! The room was immaculately clean, the bed and sitting chair were very comfortable, and the lighted shower head and heated bathroom floor were intriguing. The location was perfect walking distance to all of the sites. The information center is only three buildings away and we recommend stopping in if this is your first visit. We can't say enough great things about the Auberge Place D'Armes! We'll recommend it to all our friends and family, and will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: The attic rooms were quiet and quaint. Watch out for low beams. If you can't walk up stairs well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I went to Quebec City for our honeymoon. We booked Auberge Place D'Armes based on the good reviews on trip advisor and could not have been happier. The Room was quaint and exactly what we were looking for, with a view of Chateau Frontenac! The service was great and friendly! Fantastic! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 6 with a view of the Chateau!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Place D'Armes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.