We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming and perfectly located!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Place D'Armes to your Saves list
Auberge Place D'Armes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming and perfectly located!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This beautiful little hotel faces the Château Frontenac and is the perfect location for travelers wanting to visit Vieux Québec. It's about a 5 minute stroll to the staircase that leads down to the old quarter. The rooms are quirky, elegant, yet comfortable with a mix of antique and modern decor. Rather than spending a fortune on the Frontenac, stay here and enjoy the view of the Château instead! The rooms are charming, the street below is lively, and the view from the windows in many of the rooms or from the front patio is splendid! We stayed in the Superior Room in the Attic; it was adorable! I could live there!

The staff is helpful and friendly, although at certain times there is a little wait at the front desk as it serves as the entrance to both the hotel and the restaurant. The hotel restaurant itself is elegant and has the reputation of serving fine cuisine, although we only ate breakfasts there. (The breakfasts were quite good.)

Other advantages include the individually-controlled air conditioning, which we were very thankful for after returning from several hours in the July heat and humidity, the thick curtains which allowed for quiet, dark sleeping, the mini-fridge (which we used to store chocolates), and the glass-doored shower with the lighted shower head. Other amenities were extra fantastic, as well.

Taxis can drop you off and pick up right in front of the Château Frontenac, and there is generally no wait for a taxi during daytime hours in summer. It's about a 15 minute taxi ride to the train station, if I remember correctly. The tourism office is located just a few buildings down from the hotel, towards the left, while a bank with an ATM machine is just a few doors down on the right.

The only drawback I can think of is that you'll need to be able to climb staircases in most cases. There is no elevator, and some of the rooms require quite a climb. Also, due to the fact that the hotel is located atop the hill (as is most of Québec City), you will have to climb up and down the large staircase(s) leading to the old city down below everyday, if not several times per day, if you want to see the old city or port. You can opt to take the funicular that leads down to the Quartier Petit-Champlain, for $2 a ride, if you can't quite make it up and down the hill.

Walking up and down the hill via the city's staircases shouldn't be a problem for most people, although some may need to pause to catch their breath here and there. However, for those who really have serious mobility problems, it could be a serious deterrent. Then again, half of Québec City would be a deterrent to those with limited mobility for the same reason. So if you do have mobility issues, make sure to reserve a room on the lower floors and take advantage of baggage service within the hotel, and take the funicular down to the vieux quartier/basse-ville.

I adore this city, and I absolutely love this hotel. Although it is a little more costly, it's definitely worth it if you can swing it. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, choose a floor on the lower floors. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    174
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
88
600
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was in my sights due to great reviews, but a little more than we were hoping to pay. I am so glad we bit the bullet and booked with them. We were just delighted with our room - I have not heard anyone mention the best part: HEATED BATHROOM FLOOR! This may not be a boon in the summer, but for us during the chilly autumn, it was a super treat. Modern bath with rain shower that had lights on it showing hot, cold, green for good to go. Service was discreet but impeccable and the valet parking was worth the extra cost. We took our car out twice and both times it was brought very promptly and they ran right out to collect it when we called to say we were back. We stayed in room 15 which is first floor (one flight of stairs) in the front. Loved opening the window and viewing the Chateau Frontenac out the window. I suppose in the summer it might be a little noisy, but that was not the case in October. The restaurant next door where our breakfast was served was also very nice. There were enough choices on the menu for everyone. We did not eat there for other meals, but there is a 10% discount if you do. Location has already been mentioned, but I'll mention it again. Right in the middle of everything. We were so happy with our choice.

Room Tip: No elevator. We enjoyed being in Room 15, up a staircase and in the front, right over the lobby. Hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We could not have selected a more perfect hotel to spend our anniversary! The staff was outstanding! They were all very cordial and welcoming. They were helpful in getting us settled by parking our car, getting our luggage to our rooms, and answering all our questions about Quebec City. The dining room staff provided outstanding service and were fun people to talk to. We stayed in the "Superior in the Attic" room and the climb up the stairs was well worth it! The room was immaculately clean, the bed and sitting chair were very comfortable, and the lighted shower head and heated bathroom floor were intriguing. The location was perfect walking distance to all of the sites. The information center is only three buildings away and we recommend stopping in if this is your first visit. We can't say enough great things about the Auberge Place D'Armes! We'll recommend it to all our friends and family, and will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: The attic rooms were quiet and quaint. Watch out for low beams. If you can't walk up stairs well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I went to Quebec City for our honeymoon. We booked Auberge Place D'Armes based on the good reviews on trip advisor and could not have been happier. The Room was quaint and exactly what we were looking for, with a view of Chateau Frontenac! The service was great and friendly! Fantastic! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 6 with a view of the Chateau!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is one of the most charming hotels in the Quebec city!
Sweet room is big and relaxing but we kind of liked the small attic room on the third floor. (If you don't mind to walk on the stair ways.) There were doors at unexpected places like a maze, I thought it was quite entertaining.
While we were staying in the sweet, we had heavy footed up-stair neighbor over our room so that was another reason we missed our cozy attic room, there was no up stair neighbor over the attic.
The location of the hotel is in the "Wall", just below the Chateau Frontenac. Very convenient location to walk for the sightseeing and shopping.
Breakfast was included with the stay. There were 7 or 8 different kind of quite typical western style breakfast, so those shouldn't be scary for the most people.
The front desk staff are very helpful. They really took a good care of us. The day we left, (we had to leave 4 am in the morning to catch the plane.) they packed the Yogurt and pastries for our breakfast.
If we go back to the Quebec city in the future, we will stay with them, again.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the big sweet room, take the room on the up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lots of good things have been said about this hotel so I will try not to be repetitious. The location couldn't be better off the Place D'Armes in the shadow of the Frontenac at the intersection of two pedestrian streets. It is a one minute walk to the stairs or funicular to lower town and Dufferin Terrace. One can easily walk to any place in Upper Town in five minutes. It was remarkably quiet for our stay, although I can't vouch for that in the summer season. The room we stayed in, Number 7, was nicely furnished with a queen bed, desk and chair, upholstered sitting chair, with a two part bathroom. The room was of stone walls and wood. It was a combination of French chic and rustic Quebec. Although it was not very cold (40-55 degrees F) the heat was on demand and had separate units for the main room and each section of the bathroom. The response to the controls was almost instantaneous. There was an in-wall AC which we had no need of. The free WiFi was great in our room and the public spaces. There is an in-house restaurant, the Pain Beni, which is quite good and reasonably priced.

For us, the most impressive thing was the excellent customer service provided by the uniformly 20 something staff.They were invariably polite and courteous, spoke excellent English and followed up on each of our requests without fail. Looking for the a great restaurant, just ask and they would give a half dozen suggestions with directions.Need suitcases carried upstairs (no elevator) no problem. Leaving after checkout and they will move your luggage to a storage room until you are ready to leave. I can't express how helpful and efficient the staff was for us and how enjoyable they helped make our stay.

The only real complaint was that the lighting in the room was inadequate, especially in the area where one would shave or put on makeup. Of course there was a magnifying mirror on the table near a window in the connecting compartment. Other than that it was excellent. The price for Vieux Quebec was quite reasonable and much less expensive than other better known hotels. If you are looking for a getaway to Europe without the 6 hour flight, Vieux Quebec and this hotel is the place for you.

Postscript: This may not be the ideal place for this but kudos to the City of Quebec for their free mobile app. I ended up using it almost exclusively with my smartphone. It contains maps and valuable tourist information all without access to the internet which can be quite pricey if you are roaming in Canada.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx, usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Auberge Place d' Armes IS everything it is cracked up to be. If old world charm and ambience is at the top of your list yet some modern conveniences, this is it. Celebrating our 30th anniv, we decided to stay there even though we had to move rooms ea nt of the 3 we were there because they didn't have 1 room for 3 consecutive nights. So glad we did! We got to experience the oozing charm and ambience of not 1 but 3 rooms. They moved our luggage every day for us so when we went out, we came back to a new room complete w/ our stuff. Never intrusive yet always accommodating. Has every amenity you need, perfectly central location convenient to everything, and oozing w/ charm. Certainly not the "fanciest" or most expensive place I've ever stayed, yet it really topped every place I've ever stayed.

Room Tip: Windows are tight. When shut, you hear no outside noise. Upstairs corner room(s) are roomy (all 3 we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#5 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#8 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#3 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Place D'Armes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.