We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, friendly, charming hotel in Old Quebec” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Save Saved
You added Auberge Place D'Armes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, friendly, charming hotel in Old Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Auberge Place d'Armes for a quick wintry getaway to Quebec City. I couldn't afford the Chateau Frontenac, but was tickled to find a very reasonable rate indeed (going in the wintertime helps!) just across the square, on a nice pedestrian-only street. We arrived around 10pm and the gentleman at the front desk greeted us by name as we were the only guests yet to arrive for that evening. He mentioned that he upgraded our room, a nice gesture.

Up one narrow flight of stairs, we found our spotless, cozy room with old roof joists and brick walls. The room was small, but there was space for a comfortable queen bed with Hudson Bay point blanket, a flat-screen TV, and a shower stall with a European-style high-tech shower with rainfall head and body jets and all sorts of nozzles that I couldn't quite figure out. (The hotel provided a diagram that helped somewhat; we were certainly able to take some nice showers but didn't use all the features.) Wi-Fi access worked very well and was free.

Also included was a hot breakfast at the Pain Beni restaurant in the hotel, which was quite good in its own right -- eggs, bagels, an interesting whole wheat "breakfast pizza" with a sunny-side-up egg, ham, and bechamel sauce -- and a great start to the day.

The only wrinkle, and it's an exceedingly minor one, was that it was difficult to find the place in the dark, driving up. The hotel's website does have a Google Maps link, but some text directions (or advice on how to put an address on the pedestrian street into one's GPS) would help. We ended up navigating to the Hotel de Ville parking garage where we left the car for the duration of our stay, and parked at the nearby Hotel Clarendon to investigate if we were in the right place.

All the staff were unfailingly friendly, patient with my limited French, and made this a hotel that I would unhesitatingly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    115
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
65
365
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, opposite the Frontenac in Vieux Quebec. It's within walking distance to many of the sights/attractions & things to do in Quebec City. The staff were all helpful and service was great! Free wireless and breakfast were included in the room price. The room was a little small (standard), but comfy and it had a very cool shower! Their restaurant, Le Pain Beni was excellent. I had a three course meal there and they also cater for dietary requirements (e.g. gluten free). I would definitely recommend this place to friends & family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My brother and I just stayed here for 3 nights. It was a great little hotel on Rue St Anne. The staff were very nice and accommodating. They had great choices for breakfast, which was included. The room was small but well-designed and clean. The bed was very comfortable. If you want to stay in Old Quebec City, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour David I
Merci beaucoup for your review on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted that enjoyed so much your stay with us. The entire team of the Auberge Place d’Armes would like to thank you for your wonderful words and taking your time to share them with us.
Our staff are caring people who loves their work, they make THE difference. We and our team put all our heart to make Auberge Place d’Armes a home away from home and let our guest feel l’hospitalité québécoise.

I am glad to read you liked our breakfast. We want all our guests to start the day on a good note, so they can enjoy visiting our so charming city!

Your recommendation gives us wings, thank you very much!

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The first impression was very good, but this hotel has lots of stairs and it was rather difficult to bring two big suitcases up to the second floor (to be honest the guy from reception helped with the luggage).

I loved how the room was decorated, especially the chaise longue. The bed was comfy and one could enjoy great view of the Chateau Frontenac. I didn't like to "bathroom" hidden behind curtain - I really prefer when a bathroom is a separated space with door, but somehow it worked as the room itself was kind of old fashion styled.

The breakfast was OK, but nothing special (à la carte). I can recommend very tasty oatmeal with raisins.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour Me_not_likey,

Merci beaucoup for taking the time to share your review of our property, it is appreciated.

Combining 1730 old walls, modern amenities, hand made designer furniture and antiques give each of our rooms their unicity and soul and for your next stay this room will be completely redone keeping the chaise longue and the great view but having a separated bathroom ….. !
As you have noticed, it is our policy to take the luggage to the room and I can assure you: nobody has to do it.
We will be very happy to welcome you again when you return to Québec City!

Au plaisir

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As others have reported ad nauseum, the hotel is in a perfect location, service is great, and the included breakfast is delicious.

I was so looking forward to staying here, but I ended up disappointed with the room I was allocated. If I went again, I would ask for any room other than #11 - it had the exposed brick wall, but it was tiny, and the bathroom was almost unmanageably small, with the distinct smell of mold due to the water from the shower hitting the exposed brick over time. There was no way to get any fresh air into the room either, so the musty, closed-in, moldy smell hit you every time you entered the room.

The couple we travelled with got room #12, which is the one pictured in the main photo here, and it was stunning.

I realize that all of the rooms are different, and that it's a very old building with the quirks that come with that, but seeing the difference between what they got and what we got for the same price left me jealous....and definitely disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for any room except #11
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour WhatTheHell1
Merci beaucoup for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We want all our guests to feel at home and we would have been happy to work on a solution if you had expressed your preoccupations with the front desk team.
The room has been inspected after reading your comment and the ventilation system repaired. Really sorry about the inconvenience

Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay, just enquire at booking time; we have different categories of rooms from small to oversize.

The first meal of the day is important and we make sure that our guests starts well their day with excellent coffee and a nice variety of breakfast offerings. Thanks for your nice comments.
En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous accueuillir à nouveau

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just got back from our 5-day trip in the quaint city of Quebec and we stayed in the auberge from Mar 3. Just like the fantastic reviews below, the place was perfect. We were welcomed by the receptionist who upgraded our room to deluxe/suite (Marie Antoinette chamber) which made us happy because that gave us more space and less stairs to climb up to. There was a little glitch though when we were paying as the receptionist forgot the winter promotion when he was charging us for the new room. The upgrade was free so he calculated it again. He was really apologetic about it.

The room was splendid, right combination of traditional and modernity (especially with the washroom which has a heated floor). Housekeeping was awesome. I brought a piece of my Clinique facial soap and I think the housekeeper thought that's a body soap which was too small so she provided us a bar to my surprise.

They serve a la carte breakfast from 7-11am, so being an early bird or late riser does not matter. I tried different meals every morning (scrambled, pizza, waffle, continental) and they were all good. The servers were really polite and friendly. We did not try their lunch and dinner though as we were always out but every time we came back in the evening, the restaurant was always full. In our last evening, we stayed late and they were kind enough to give our requests. There's no more receptionist at that time (around 1AM) but there was one staff in the kitchen. We did not have microwave in our room so we asked them to warm our food from another restaurant which they graciously did.

It's just half a block away from the tourism office, 2 buildings away from Château Frontenac, and all the tourist sites in the old town.

We would love to go back there in the summer and stay in the Place D'Armes. Given thousands of people visit there in summer, advance booking is really recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour IyaHko,

Thank your for taking time to give us a such detailed feedback .

Your are right the Auberge is a combination of traditional and modernity. The foundations of the Auberge are from 1640 and the walls 1730…. and until 3 years ago it was a wax museum. The Marie-Antoinette suite is so romantic and very very unique! In fact it is the only room in North America that have original panels from the Palace of Versailles. Those gilted panels where in the Marie-Antoinette exhibit in the wax museum and where shipped in Canada in 1922 for the opening of the Musée de Cire ( a branch of the famous Musée Grévin in France) . In our renovations we have them restored and put them back after buying and restoring period furniture to complete the décor! Even the ornements on the 3 drawer chest come from France. A room with character indeed!
All of our team work really hard from maid to night maintenance team but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>.

Thanks for your nice comments on our breakfast, I will pass your comments to our Chef Simon.


Thanks again and au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited in late February early March and loved our stay at this quaint little hotel. Auberge is located in the heart Old Quebec within walking distance of all the sites and steps away from the local tourism office. We stayed in the Room in the Attic which had a heated bathroom floor, a nice touch in the middle of winter. The staff was extremely helpful especially since there is no elevator, they carried our luggage up the three flights! They were also helpful with restaurant recommendations, things to do, etc. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour JJZ88

The entire team of the Auberge Place d’Armes would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us.
With his unique location it is so easy, as you mentioned it, to walk all over the city and discover all the charms of Quebec. The hotel has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our rénovations we did our best to save the old stone walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique and quiet stay ; each room is unique in size and décor.
I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour and thanks again for recommending us to your friends

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel
Auberge Place d Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Place D'Armes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.