We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, centre de ville, quality and a true escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Place D'Armes to your Saves list
Auberge Place D'Armes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming, centre de ville, quality and a true escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Many people plan a trip away for many reasons - be it a place for cultural experience or an escape to share a special moment. My very special someone and I wanted and needed both, with a context of surroundings that felt like another world within a few hours drive and a budget that had limits. Old Quebec was it!!!! This was the hotel that we came up with for the ambiance we were looking for.

Booking was efficient. Do not worry about the language divide - it basically does not exist if there is any concern. They appreciated effort for French and were very respectful to ensure understanding. We found the front desk from reservation to settlement efficient, accommodating, professional and friendly.

Choice was limited at the time of booking in mid-summer - Superior in the attic our choice. No tub, but shower our only choice yet we were flexible. On arrival we were assigned our room but were told that because of the length of our stay (6 nights) we had option on a slightly larger room the next day - which on a quick check the next morning we made the switch - to basically an identical room/bath with a 25% larger footprint.

Parking is limited to the underground parking for Town Hall - a mere 200 meter distance away once you get out of the garage. NOTE - if you do park here find a parking spot at the highest floor level within so youdon't have to climb 6 sets of stairs to get to street level!!! While this might seem an irritation the ease of this was fine since we walked 'old Quebec' - we didn't need our car until we chose to take a day trip to Ste-Anne de Beaupre and Ils-de-Orleans. Please note that given location of this inn parking is in short supply for many inns/B&Bs. I do not consider this a reflection on Place d' Armes.

Breakfast WAS included. This was a surprise that from info we had received had made no such mention. Breakfast was excellent quality - tons of excellent cafe. We could choose a different entree for each of every day we were there. Service was quick and efficient on mornings when it was either busy or light.

The room ambiance and decor were excellent with old world charm wrapped up in 'quebecoise' - stone and wood. While the 3 flights of stairs were a physical challenge - we had to laugh after the second day - can't be anything but good for our old legs!

No disappointments. Staff were excellent. Bottom line strength was its location.

Given the place of 'old Quebec' and special time in our lives 'a ce moment', this auberge was a respite with every aspect of it contributing a feeling of being far away from our other worldly and daily troubles.

If I remember correctly our nightly cost tax incl was $218. I left there without any thought that the cost was not fair value.

The only negative I can come up with would be for those physically challenged by stairs.

Bonne journee' !!

Room Tip: Be clear on your need for tub or shower. Physical limitations with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour ByeTheSea56

Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic. At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town. Just in front of the Château Frontenac

We have done our best to save the old walls and windows while adding modern amenities to provide you a home away from home and give soul to our rooms ! I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>.

I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it must be good !

Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    159
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
82
554
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonia NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a charming hotel right in the center of everything wonderful!!!! Breakfast included was a treat :). The room was lovely - decorated aadorably and very clean with a nice view o the street and windows that opened to hear the street performers. The ONLY issue were the beds - VERY uncomfortable - we did make staff aware of the problem - both the regular and the "murphy" beds were brutal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour Boysnpets,

Merci for a great review of our Auberge. All our team and us are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast and dinner at the Pain Béni our restaurant. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again!

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a beautiful small hotel that we found on hotwire.ca. The architecture of our room is fascinating in the upper beams of a recent renovation of a historical building. Comfortable bed, clean and well-equipped room and bathroom in the midst of fine dining, shopping, and history. The staff at the front desk and the valet are very very helpful. The big surprise was the excellent breakfast (with lots of choices) included in our very reasonable rate. Watch out for low roof beams getting out of bed if you are tall.

Room Tip: As long as you have good knees the stairs to the third floor rooms are good exercise in preparation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour March_Break_Canadian

The hotel has a lot of character and in our renovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay and each room is unique in size and décor. The Auberge is 2 old buildings joined together one part the museum aisle, in which you where, the foundations are from 1640 and the stone walls 1730.
The section in which was your room is from 1852 and was the first home of the founder of Holt Renfrew. It was erected, in Scotland bricks that came to Quebec as ballast in ships. Your comments are a source of motivation for us and we will past your good words to all of our Team which is our best asset .
Having a restaurant in house allows us to offer such a variety on breakfast and change them from time to time.

Au plaisir de vous revoir
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed twice at this charming hotel, before and after a train trip to Charlevoix. Our first room was #30 in the attic. Lovely to look at, but less so to live in, especially if you are taller than 5'6". Lots of old world charm, but hard to maneuver under the low roofline and negotiate your suitcase. Beds are very comfortable. Our second room, No 5, was great, with a view of the Frontenac and street below. More headroom and space to move around. Some deep cleaning would be welcomed; there's visible dust in the bath exhaust fan and hair dryer. Staff is very helpful and friendly; restaurant breakfasts were good. We also enjoyed one dinner here. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour Upnorthdeborah

Merci for taking the time to send in your comments. In our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay and each room is unique in size and décor. Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay, just enquire at our front desk team ; we have different categories of rooms from european size to oversize.
Your comments have been read by the cleaning team and everything is now shining . We apologize.

Thanks for your comments we are very proud of our restaurant, Le Pain Beni. I agree it is usual to find a so nice and good restaurant in an hotel of only 21 rooms. It is a part of our charm !

Merci encore et au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo Victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our time in Quebec City, which started with this hotel. It faces a public square and opposite Chateau Frontenac, both of which we had good views of from our room. We had considered staying at Frontenac but given ordinary reviews and price compared to other hotels offering the same or better facilities, such as Auberge Place D'Armes, we were so glad we didnt, especially since you can still go in and around the building for a look around. The hotel has an excellent resturant on the ground floor where the included breakfast is served (off the standard menu).

Dont expect massive rooms, the staircase is tight (no lift), but none of that was important to us.

We went in December and was very cold, but there was hardly anyone around and all the resturants and shops went out of there way for us, i imagine this would change somewhat in peak seasons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street. We were there in winter and it was very quiet, but i doubt it get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour Ads_and_Wennie

Merci and we really appreciate your feedback .With our unique location on the only pedestrian street in Upper Town it is so easy to walk all over the city and discover all the charms of Quebec city.

Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay, just enquire at our front desk team ; we have different categories of rooms from european size to oversize as the loft overlooking the Château.

And if you ever come back to Quebec, il nous sera un plaisir de vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes .
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We most often use tripadvisor to get an idea of where we should stay. Our aims to stay right in the heart of the old Quebec and get a view of something interesting and get good service were met.
We stayed in room 22. The room had a comforfortable bed (maybe a touch hard for me but my husband loves it that way so he was happy). We discovered that there was one more floor above us but did not hear walking on top of our heads like we experienced so many times before staying at other places. The peaceful factor while sleeping is important for us but we did not expect much living in an older hotel... Can't speak for the other rooms, but our view was disappointing - basically just a big plain wall of the adjacent church. And yes all the action from the street below; which was pleasant with all the artists. The mornings were quiet even on Saturday morning. No constant honking, shouting or truck noise like other cities. The hotel is well insolated I think and If the windows are closed the air conditioning is the quietest I ever heard so far. I loved the stoned walls and the room was clean. There was a dresser, a cupboard, a TV (who cares when there is soooo much to see) an ipod radio, a desk and a couch which my husband and I enjoyed. The toilet and bath are separated. The bath/shower is nice if you can learn how to operate it. The instructions are stored in the night table. Reading lights on either sides of the bed is a must for us and it was provided. Opening the windows at this time of the year lets fresh air come in and yes the sexy tones of a street saxophone player... or any other street performers who all seem to be so talented. There is so much to see and do. Vieux Quebec City has a unique warm feeling brought about by history and the warmth of those who inhabit the city. OK I must admit I was born there and moved to Vancouver 30 yrs ago. Just wanted my husband to experience it. He LOVED it.
Just do your homework though. We assumed that the auberge has parking and not so. There is parking around very close but you have to know where to go and it isn't cheap ($14/day). That's just the way it is... the old city had only horses when it was built ... and thanks god... kept it`s heritage buildings and worked around it. Tons of great restaurants and a few fun bars. We totally enjoyed an intimate jazz night at the Clarendon right across the hotel.
The `Pain Beni` (hotel`s restaurant) has good breakfasts/coffee. We had dinner there one night. Try the Boudain, cheese fondue is yummy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour Maddykay,
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic, At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town. Just in front of the Château Frontenac .
Thank you for your compliments on our rooms and bathrooms, we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec.
I will also pass to the chef your appreciation of the breakfeast.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir bientôt.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean and convenient. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. Rooms size typical of boutique Euro hotel. Breakfast included at attached restauarant a nice touch. Definetly recommend.
During the day this is a bustling area but quiets down by 10:00.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator.If any mobility issues request a room on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour Wjetchell

What a pleasure it was to read your review about your recent visit to Auberge Place d’Armes, thank you for sharing it with everybody.

We are happy that enjoyed our overall services, great location and breakfast.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Place D'Armes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.