We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Marquise, Tres Bon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marquise de Bassano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Marquise de Bassano
Save
You added La Marquise de Bassano to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 des Grisons, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“La Marquise, Tres Bon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spend 4 nights, in Quebec City in the Marquis de Bassano.

The owners (Francis et Véronyc) and operators were fabulous and accommodating, once shown to our room (the Cranny) . We settled in and returned to the common room, where our hostess , was waiting to happily answer any questions. She pointed out all the free events going on in the city and reviewed a map of the area with us, making recommendations as to what locals would do.

The B&B is located close to he end of the governors walk, and was a 2 min walk to the Chateau Frontenac, and 5 mins to everything the old city had to offer.

Breakfast was Continental, with fabulous fresh fruit and a wide selection, and we awoke every morning to the smell of fresh croissants,starting our day right!. We never needed lunch until mid afternoon.

We had a single room with shared bathroom, the bathroom was gorgeous and well up kept, there was never a wait..

The hosts Francis et Véronyc were personable and fun and made the whole experience wonderful!

Merci Marquis de Bassano.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veroshua, co proprietor at La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! This information will certainly be helpful to people who want to come at la Marquise! Merci and hope to see you soon again!
Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    23
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
81
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Recently spent 3 nights at La Marquise and I can't say enough great things about it.
Upon arrival, was greeted warmly and welcomed as if I was a returning, long time friend.
Clean rooms with a distiguished 19th century feel, this place is ideal if you're looking for a classic, traditional B&B environment. It certainly outdoes any cookie-cutter hotel experience. This is the real deal, with a lovely breakfast every morning, with different dishes and always fresh. In fact, the aromas of both the food and coffee would wake us up, anxious to get downstairs and start our day.
Location wise, it's located on a quiet street near the Citadel and just a couple of minutes walk away from the Dufferin boardwalk, Artists row and several great restaurants.
Thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronycsansoucy, family business at La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your constructive message! It was a great pleasure meeting you! Our home is your home! Come back anytime!
Veronyc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I spent a delightful few days, anchored by hospitable, refined and quaint accommodations in the King bedroom, with an ensuite bath, visiting 'old towne Quebec'....on the recommendation of our friends and neighbours, regulars at "La Marquise"...The breakfasts were elegant, tasty and animated in conversation with visitors from both France and Belgium...The room was clean, comfortable and historic as is the B & B itself.
Of course, we would recommend this B&B to others confident that they, too, would enjoy the interior ambience as much as the history and ethos of the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

So many options for B&Bs in Old Quebec City, we felt lucky to have found this place. Kind hosts that seemed genuinely interested in helping. The rooms that I saw were well-appointed and clean. The location was great within a few minutes walk to the Chateau Frontenac and they served a solid breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Library Room and it was very unique, charming with two windows overlooking the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights here for our honeymoon, and are very glad we did. The hosts were very friendly, accommodating, and had a wealth of knowledge to share about the area. We stayed in the library, which was well-decorated (with working typewriter!) and had a great classic charm to it. It was great having the windows open, and hearing the sounds of the horse-drawn caleches as they rode by. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the breakfasts were delicious. The fresh croissants with the home-made jam every morning were fantastic!

The location of the B&B is hard to beat. It's a very short walk to a secure parking garage, incredible restaurants, and many attractions. Yet, it's positioned on a quiet side-street from the main roads, which allows you to enjoy peace and quiet with the windows open, without being disturbed by the sounds of vehicle and pedestrian traffic.

When my wife and I stayed here, there was a large music festival going on in Quebec at the same time. Once again, the location was perfect for us. It was about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the locations of the performances; close enough to hear the great performances in the distance with the windows open, but not so close that the music was too loud by any means.

We were so happy with our stay at La Marquise de Bassano that my wife and I have been recommending this place to friends and family, and we plan on staying here for our 1-year anniversary. If you're thinking about staying here, do it. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veroshua, co owner at La Marquise de Bassano, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Bonjour and thank you for your great review!
It gives us wings to continue! Merci! It was a great pleasure meeting you and if you ever come back to Quebec, remember you have a home away from home ;)
Veronyc, Francis, Anik, Simon and Lioubov!

ps. Sorry for the others if I haven't responded before. I just learned how to reply this morning !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Couldn't have been happier with our stay at this lovely B&B. Great location, on a quieter street away from hussle and bussle but under 5 minute walk from Chateau Laurier, tourist office, ect. Annik, who i fluent is perfectly fluent in English, French, AND Spanish was welcoming and warm, making us feel right at home. The breakfast was generous and healthy (fresh fruit, homemade bread and fruit pudding, croissants, yogurt, eggs, cheese and meats........). As well, La Marquise de Bassano is a beautiful, old, and charming house that is tastefully decorated. On my last day I had to leave before breakfast hours and they were more than accommodating to make sure that I would have a quick delicious bite to eat before I headed out. I would return in a second!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here. It was a very nice place. The innkeepers were very nice and accommodating. They gave us recommendations on places to eat and even booked our dog sledding trip. The B&B is in a convenient location to both le petite champlain and the down town areas. Its even close enough to the St. Lawrence to walk to the ferry. The breakfast here is heavenly. My husband loved the chocolate pastries and I adored baguette or croissants with jams. It was lovely. Our room was beautiful as well (the library room). We enjoyed it very much! It was a little eclectic which was nice, but some of the art in the place was a little out there for me. It was a tad chilly in the winter, but as you can imagine it is very cold outdoors! I would recommend this! :)

Room Tip: We chose the library room because of the private bath and canopy bed. It was our honeymoon. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Marquise de Bassano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marquise de Bassano

Address: 15 des Grisons, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Hotel Class:3 star — La Marquise de Bassano 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Marquise De Bassano Hotel Quebec City
La Marquise De Bassano Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marquise de Bassano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.