We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sainte-Anne to your Saves list
Hotel Sainte-Anne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I fell in love with this place the moment we checked in. Great patio, friendly staff and wonderful service. Thanks especially to Mathilde, who upgraded us our room, after we kept hearing an odd, inexplicable thumping coming from the wall. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    136
    55
    12
    8
See reviews for
73
173
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here twice though didn't stay in the hotel. The food was excellent, as was the service, & very reasonably priced. Great location, easy to find in old Quebec. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed during the last week of April, which was a nice, less crowded time for Quebec City, but also meant that a few places were closed and under renovation. The location is excellent, right between the Frontenac/Funiculaire area and the Rue St Jean shops/restaurants.

The free continental breakfast was nice, with yogurt, milk, cereal, juice, coffee/tea, sliced melon, apples, oranges, toast, and the most amazing fresh croissants we've ever had. The other guests tend to hog the croissants fairly early, unless the staff notices and refills them consistently. Two mornings during our stay, we actually went to the Hotel Clarendon (turn right out of the door, walk a few buildings down, and cross the street) and had a wonderful sit-down breakfast there, since Sainte-Anne's restaurant was completely closed until late May.

A free bottle of champagne with a personalized letter for our anniversary was a nice touch. The empty mini fridge in the room was awesome for bringing back waters & fruit from the market down the road, or pastries & milk from Paillard. (Go to Paillard!!) Every female who worked at the hotel was lovely and extremely accommodating, happy to help in any way they could.

The bed was comfortable, and the lighted mirror in the room was great for getting ready in the room, and doing my hair and makeup while my husband got ready in the bathroom. Free Wi-Fi was an awesome perk, even though it cut out a few times in the room. Our phones would roam constantly while using cellular data, so we would just leave them on airplane mode until we got back to the hotel, and then we could text, email, and go online for free.

No air conditioning was a real disappointment. Even though it was not hot outside in April, the heat from the rest of the hotel seemed to really warm up our room, even though we turned all heat off. The windows are sealed shut, so you can't vent out the room at all. Since we decided that it would be worth the extra money in the future to go back to Quebec during the busy summer season, we would probably not stay here again, since neither of us would be able to handle the hot rooms with no air conditioner in the dead of summer. That's a really unfortunate reason to not be able to stay again on our next trip, but I just couldn't imagine how hot the rooms would be in summer, with no ventilation or AC!

We switched rooms halfway through our stay, since our first room (a superior queen room with a nice street view and glimpse of the Frontenac) was bombarded by construction outside. Every morning, even weekends, construction men were immediately outside our second floor window on scaffolding, and they could see in! Not romantic.
It was crazy noisy every day, starting super early morning until early afternoon, from drilling and hammering right outside as well. They unfortunately didn't mention anything about construction going on during our stay, during the multiple times I spoke with them over the phone before staying (that would have been a really nice bit of information).
The male manager was extremely rude and defensive when my husband told him we couldn't take the noise and lack of privacy outside our window from construction anymore. He kept arguing that no one else had a problem with it (yet), before he finally and reluctantly switched us to a room on the third floor, end of hall, smaller and cheaper with an inside view of walls and an alley. It would have been nice to receive some sort of discount from the first few nights in the other room, or even a kind disposition from him. He could learn a thing or two from all of the female staff at the hotel; every single one of them were sweet, polite, and happy to make us happy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Sharrah M,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your trip in our lovely city!

First and foremost, let us express our sincere apologizes for any inconvenience our renovations may have caused you. At the time of your stay, we were in the process of refreshing the front of the hotel. It only lasted a few days, however, we can understand how this may have been inconvenient. We are sorry to hear that this information was not mentioned to you at your arrival. When renovations are undergoing, we take great importance to inform each guest at each arrival.
Thankfully, immediately when the disturbance was mentioned to us, we were able to change you rooms. A quieter room, in the back of the hotel.

Thank you so much for your comments on our staff. It is always a pleasure to help in every way we can. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our special attention. Special occasions are what makes a trip memorable!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our continental breakfast. We improve it each year with the help and comments of guests.

I would like to make a small correction. We DO have air conditioner at the hotel, in fact in all of our rooms and also in the restaurant. With a quick mention at the front desk, it would have been a pleasure to show you how it works. The controls may sometimes be tricky when you are not sure how they work.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards

Stéphanie
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stumbled onto charming Rue Sainte-Anne, narrow cobble stone street with European flair, we liked it so much came back to have supper outside Hotel Sainte-Anne after sight seeing, ordered fired calamari, pizza and salmon tartare with Trapiche chardonnay, kids loved the food, all flavorful and came timely, price not cheap but worth it for good service and great atmosphere, had a lovely time, would recommend.

Room Tip: Indoor seating and hotel bar. Order 1/2 liter wine for $25, serves 6 glasses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write you experience on Tripadvisor!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Le Grill Ste-Anne. By being on a pedestrian street, we have alot of advantages. No cars are allowed to drive up on our street and there are always some talented musicians singing live in front of us. Like you mentioned, we do feel like in the Streets of Europe.

Your comments will be passed on to our restaurant manager. He made alot of positive changes in the menu this year and we also renovated the restaurant and terrace. I am sure he will be thrilled to read your comments.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you at Hotel Sainte-Anne when you visit our beautiful city!

Have a good summer!

Stéphanie
Front desk Manager
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This boutique hotel is very good value, located right in the middle of Old Quebec. Rooms are a little small and light on storage, but clean and comfortable. The included breakfast is excellent, comprising various hot selections, and service was above reproach. We're definitely staying here the next time we visit Quebec City.

Room Tip: Some rooms are categorized as "superior" for a few dollars more. They're well worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Sainte-Anne for your trip to Québec City!

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you for your next trip!

Have a good day!

Stéphanie
Front desk Manager
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is lovely. It has lived up to all the previous reviews I read. The only down side, which is minimal, is that the hotel is on a non-accessible street by car so we had to cart our luggage from a parkade about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. This a minor inconvenience to me, my husband thought differently. However, it is located in the heart of old Quebec, situated across from the Frontenac and within walking distance to all the shops, the Promenade (a must do) and among many great restaurants. We have been to Europe and love that this is the Canadian version of Europe. We drove 35 minutes to Canyon Ste. Anne and enjoyed a one km walk that included suspension bridges and lovely waterfalls. We thoroughly enjoyed this day. Old Quebec is a must-see and this hotel is a must-do. Great price point for an old hotel with modern updates. Very sound proof. Great restaurant associated with the hotel. Choose this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Quiet, quaint and lovely. Center of everything and easy to walk to sites, restaurants and shopping. Clean room and helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyed it for a romantic weekend. We'd definitely stay here again. Restaurant was nice...only had breakfast but the crepes were delish!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sainte-Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.