We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Auberge in Heart of Old Quebec” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sainte-Anne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sainte-Anne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint Auberge in Heart of Old Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two-night stay at the Hotel Sainte-Anne. This was our first visit to Quebec City, and the location of the Inn could not have been better. The property itself was modern, clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and spoke to us in English. The overnight rate included a breakfast that consisted of fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, bread items, coffee, juice and scrambled eggs with bacon or ham if requested. My husband and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    132
    52
    12
    7
See reviews for
69
162
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and was quite pleased with the stay. The hotel itself is just below the Chateau Frontenac and the location and proximity to everything was perfect. Like most boutique hotels this had 28 rooms and a small restaurant/bar. Upon check in I had a friendly and bilingual lady check me in and I was quite impressed with the decor of the small lobby area. I was on the 3rd floor and upon entering the room I was quite blown away by the decor. Exposed brick, nice linens, and amazing shower and a view of the Chateau Frontenac, an added bonus.

Breakfast was included in my stay and it was satisfactory. A continental style was offered with additional hot options. It wouldn't be anything I'd spend money on but I was happy with the selection.

I had to meet a friend at another hotel and the one young man who worked front desk there was leaving so he actually walked with me until I got my bearings. What an awesome touch.

Everything of interest was within walking distance and there is a wide selection of bars and restaurants with in a 5 minute walk.

There were a few down sides. The bed was like sleeping on concrete and the bath towels were rather rough in texture. The t.v.was antiquated at best (but you really won't be watching it) and the pillows were way too soft.

Will stay there agin in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the old city, at the top of the hill. The location is excellent and the view from boardwalk nearby is superb. The rooms of the hotel are all different in shape and size due the fact that was an old house converted into a boutique hotel. It does have an elevator for the 3 or 4 stories high. Mine was with 2 big windows looking into an inner space but the light tha comes from it was very pleasent. Inside the rooms you have a small refrigerator, a TV (not an LCD) and a coffee / tea maker plus and iron and iron board. The bathroom it was very modern and very functional . The price includes free wi fi with very good connection and hotand cold breakfast (scramble eggs, omelette, bacon, coffee, hot chocolate, juices, yogurt, fruits, pastries, cereals, etc.). The staff is multilingual since they speak french, english and some of them spanish also.. For me it was an excellent choice and definitely I will recommend it. The ratio between value and price is very great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Modern, clean hotel in the old town, close to Chateau Frontenac. Comfortable bed, no disturbing noises. Nice breakfast choises that were served, but would have preferred a buffet. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is a wonderful mixture of old and new - we loved the historic features mixed with the modern convenience.
The breakfast that was included was quite nice and served in a beautiful atmosphere. The only complaint about the room was the TV was very small and hard to see if trying to watch in bed - but in such a great setting, we weren't that interested in watching TV.
Our experience was good - we did have a fairly significant problem with our room, and I always think the measure of a business is how they handle the problems. The staff at this hotel was amazing! Benedict at the front desk was extremely helpful and understanding in helping us with the problem, and the issue was rectified in a more than satisfactory manner very quickly. We really appreciated her help and would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel Sainte Anne on rue St. Anne in Quebec offers good prices, excellent location and clean rooms. Full breakfast is offered and it was great. Decor was modern especially the bathrooms but those modern features were not as useful as they looked. Huge shower but the handle was some 2 feet from the shower which was all enclosed. Made it difficult to adjust and the shower head would not detach from the bar so you had to make good with the position offered. Sink was very modern but small and the water spigot was directly in the middle making it hard to access water for drinking and such.

Room Tip: No free parking and the street itself is pedestrian. Thus, you have to park temporarily nearby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Quebec city is absolutely gorgeous and the hotel is in a fantastic spot - walking distance to just about everything. The staff is excellent - very friendly and helpful - especially arranging a cab for us at 4:00 in the morning. The breakfast brunch was lovely and we weren't left wanting for anything. The room was immaculate and cozy and the duvets were the cherry on top. We will definiltely stay here again and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sainte-Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.