We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old City Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sainte-Anne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sainte-Anne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Old City Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel Sainte Anne on rue St. Anne in Quebec offers good prices, excellent location and clean rooms. Full breakfast is offered and it was great. Decor was modern especially the bathrooms but those modern features were not as useful as they looked. Huge shower but the handle was some 2 feet from the shower which was all enclosed. Made it difficult to adjust and the shower head would not detach from the bar so you had to make good with the position offered. Sink was very modern but small and the water spigot was directly in the middle making it hard to access water for drinking and such.

Room Tip: No free parking and the street itself is pedestrian. Thus, you have to park temporarily nearby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    133
    52
    12
    7
See reviews for
69
163
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Quebec city is absolutely gorgeous and the hotel is in a fantastic spot - walking distance to just about everything. The staff is excellent - very friendly and helpful - especially arranging a cab for us at 4:00 in the morning. The breakfast brunch was lovely and we weren't left wanting for anything. The room was immaculate and cozy and the duvets were the cherry on top. We will definiltely stay here again and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This little hotel offered 3 ladies a safe, secure, well appointed, clean, friendly, accommodating hotel while we experienced the city of Quebec during their Carnival.
Simple reception, large clean elevator,perfect size room for 3 people(and then some) with 2 queen beds, and a full sitting area where we placed a rolling full size twin bed. Fabulous shower. Verbena soaps & such, Mini fridge, kureig coffee machine, wine glasses, waterglasses, coffee mugs. Perfect. It's only drawback is there is NO onsite parking. It is located on a pedestrian cobblestone street, which adds to its charm, and peacefulness. Parking was underground down the street at $20/day.But we never needed our car. Everything was walking distance...up and down hills.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Quebec is a lovely city, especially being the only fortified city in north america... This hotels location is perfect... plenty of shops restaurants and sights to see.

Le Grill is a fantastic restaurant and i have to say the New York Strip Steak is one of the best i have ever had, with the wine choice also being good.

The room however was a little disappointing, bathroom was loverly, but the room its self dated. There wasn't a flat screen tv, meaning poor quality analogue tv. The images also make the rooms look like a mix of rustic and modern... but the room was rustic come distressed... out of all 5 hotels we were staying at in Canada we were looking forward to this the most... biggest let down also!

However i have to say the bi-lingual staff were more than helpful on the reception and welcomed us on every departure and arrival at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel Sainte-Anne has an excellent location. One can walk to all of the desirable sights in Vieux- Quebec and Vieux- Port. It is very near the Tourist Office and a Bank with an ATM. The service was excellent. The young staff spoke fluent English but they were happy to help me with my French. They recommended good restaurants and made reservations for us. The staff really made us feel welcome. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty to eat. The croissants were outstanding but hard on the waistline. The room was clean and good size even though we were on the top floor. The queen size bed was firm and quite comfortable. This is a no frills hotel. The two downsides were the lack of a dresser for unpacking your suitcases and poor lighting. There is no real lobby but the fine service and the great location more than offset the few shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My feelings are mixed on this one, first off the price was great, the location perfect and the room itself although smaller than a cruise ship cabin - quite comfortable with all the basic necessities. Can't go wrong if price and location matter; as it's smack dab where you want to be in old Qc.

My negatives were as follows, the room was DRY, like in Arizona dry with static electricity making every hair on my body stand on end! Of course the heating is to blame, but that was no fun. Furthermore, they should install a couple coat hooks near the door, there's hardly a closet for clothes, let alone a winter coat... If you're sharing the room with your spouse, that's two coats and no hooks... The top of the door was a makeshift coat rack!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, who were very helpful even when we arrived late during the holiday season. Great breakfast included. The room was nicely furnished, clean and the bathroom was great. The location was very central just near the top of the funicular and across from the chateau Frontenac. Good value for money. We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your recent review on our property.

We are indeed situated in a great location, especially during the Christmas holidays with all the wonderful decorations around. Everything is at walking distance: restaurants, shops and museums.

We appreciate your positive comments concerning our front desk staff. Our staff members work very hard to keep our customer service levels high. The holiday season is a very memorable moment for everyone, this is why we try to make each guest experience the best it can possibly be.

We look forward to another opportunity to have you as our guest.

Warmest regards

Stephanie
Reception supervisor
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sainte-Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.