We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sainte-Anne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sainte-Anne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
“The service was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The service was great. The front desk girl was really nice. Great location. The washroom is clean and nice designed. The room on the fourth floor is kind of small and crowd. But overall is a good hotel and worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

I am so pleased you have enjoyed our service during your recent stay with us. As speaking on behalf of Hotel Sainte-Anne team we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stephanie
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    130
    50
    11
    7
See reviews for
64
156
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel and it was very different from my first visit, this boutique hotel was during my second visit in as many dilapidated furniture was broken and urgently needed to be replaced for the quality of service announced which declined significantly for the price you pay. The reception staff did not seem to be trained in tourism and hotel management institute adequately

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor!

We are truly sorry that you have left with such a bad impression for your second stay.

We would like to notify that we are well aware of the state of some of our furniture. We are actually in the process of restoring our furniture and adding new televisions. Our rooms with two beds have already been restored with new furniture and drawers.

The main goal of our staff is to make you feel welcome in every way possible. We were hoping to take a few minutes of your time to provide us more information on the service of our staff. We always want to improve and every comment is taken very seriously. It would be appreciated if you could contact me at your convenience directly by email: info@hotelste-anne.com or at our toll free number 1 877 222 9422.

We hope that you will give us another chance and if you decide to book again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

We hope to hear from you soon!

Stephanie
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolling meadows, illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel Sainte-Anne, Québec City

My wife and I are long-time travelers, both domestic and international, so we have considerable experience with hotels in many parts of the world. We spent two nights at the Hotel Sainte-Anne in Québec City in the middle of October, 2012, at the end of a cruise.
The hotel has several good features. Foremost is that the location is ideal for tourists visiting ‘Vieux Québec.’ It is less than two short blocks from the top of the funiculaire and Terrasse Dufferin, a very short distance from Place d’Armes and the famous Chateau Frontenac that faces it, just steps from the artists’ passageway of Rue du Trésor, and not far from the Old Port area in Lower Town. The section of Rue Ste-Anne on which the hotel sits is a cobblestoned, pedestrian-only walkway (although taxis use it for access to the hotel), very quiet and “old worldish.” So the hotel is in the heart of the tourist area of Upper Town, at half the price (maybe less?) of the Frontenac and competitively priced with the other smaller boutique hotels in the area.
The Hotel Sainte-Anne has been created from two historic homes that have been joined and converted; some rooms feature exposed brick and wood beams from the original structures. When you enter the hotel (up a couple of steps from the street), you’ll find the reception desk straight ahead along a short corridor. The multi-lingual front desk staff is professional, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of the area in terms of sights to see, directions, transportation, restaurants, shopping and etc.
There is a very small sitting area on the first level of the hotel, a bar and restaurant (which closed for the season the day before we arrived), and a breakfast room. The hotel serves the usual continental breakfast (included) – juice, coffee and tea, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, and excellent croissants and rolls. The elevator is notable, as it is far larger than one would expect in a small hotel in an historic building, albeit one that has been completely renovated.
We had a superior room, no. 306 – clean, fairly spacious and nicely appointed, that overlooked quiet Rue Ste-Anne and the side of the large Cathédrale Anglicane across the street. (One reviewer complains that their room was very small, but presumably they made the decision to pay less money for less space.) The room had a comfortable queen bed and a large bathroom, and the bed and bath linens were very good quality. The tastefully remodeled bathroom contained one of the largest showers I have seen in a hotel, with glass walls on two sides. But there was only one small bar of soap for both the sink and the shower (although admittedly we could have asked for more).
The furnishings in our room consisted of an upholstered chair that looked like it came from a second-hand shop, a rickety writing table that almost collapsed when I tried to move it a few inches, and a tall cabinet. The cabinet consisted of three levels on the wider side – the bottom section contained a small fridge, the middle had a pull-out coffee-service (Keurig one-cup, no less), and the top held the usual TV set. The other side of the cabinet was a very narrow closet, no more than 12 inches or so wide, with a rod for hanging clothing (not much clothing in that small space), and some of that space was taken up by an ironing board.
BUT, the room had another very significant shortcoming. There was no chest of drawers for unpacking, nor even so much as a shelf! There was a small recess in one wall that contained a suitcase rack, but a hanging light was suspended so far down in it that if you opened a suitcase, the top would have struck the fixture. Likewise the bathroom, i.e., no shelf or cabinet for one’s toiletries, and the surface around the washbasin was too small to set much of anything on it. So the room and bathroom were all form and little function. It was as though the owners spent a lot of money on refurbishing and ran low on funds before they got to furnishings. (Please note, however, that I can’t speak for the other rooms.)
Room 306 was quite satisfactory for a couple of nights, but I don’t think it would be too suitable for a longer stay or for anyone who cannot literally live out of their suitcase.
Overall, I think the Sainte-Anne is a very good boutique hotel, in a historic building, on a charming street, in an excellent location for tourism in a beautiful old city, and I would certainly recommend it for short stays.
And you can “do” Upper Town and Lower Town Vieux Québec in 2 or 3 days, depending on how long you linger in museums, churches and other places of interest. Before your trip, take a look at the excellent “Frommer’s Walking Tours 1 – Upper Town, and 2 – Lower Town, Québec City,” on the Frommer website, which seem to include everything (and more) of interest to a tourist, then pick up the very good “Québec City and Area Tourist Map” at the Tourist Information Centre close by the hotel on the Place d’Armes.

Room Tip: Consider paying a bit more for a larger room, particularly one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

What a lovely review!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your detailed experience on Tripadvisor.

It is with great pleasure I read your review knowing that we have lived up to your expectations.
We are happy to know that you and your wife have enjoyed our service and your stay in our beautiful city. Your attention to detail is amazing.

Thank you so much for your constructive criticism. Every feedback is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stephanie
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Coffee in the room (Keurig coffee pot) was a nice surprise. Rooms are clean and bathroom is cute although there is little counter space. Glass cups and glass wine glasses are another delight. The front desk people are amazing. I called to say I couldn't figure out how to make the Keurig coffee pot work and the girl said "I'll be right up to help you". She came right up and showed me how to use it. We had real coffee cups and saucers! While the girl was here she answered questions about tours and volunteered to call the visitor's center to make the reservations. The visitor's center is at the end of the block. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, and shops all around the area aswell as historical sights. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor!

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your two nights stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our beds and rooms. We want to offer the most clean and comfortable environment for our guests.

We thank you for noticing the little touches we try to add in our service. When we add new appliances such as our Keurig machines, our duty is to make ourselves available for any question concerning their operation. We believe doing a demonstration is always the best way. I will pass on your encouraging comments to our staff!

Every comment is rewarding and helps us to keep working in the right direction!

We hope to have you as our guest in a near future!

Kind regards

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 days and the location was perfect. Within the old fortified walls of Old Quebec City and within walking distance to everything you want to see and do, Including many . restaurants. Our standard room was a good size and most importantly very clean and comfortable. I work in the tourism industry in Australia and i have very high standards. I found the staff could of been a little more helpful. Upon check-in the girl at the front desk was a little scattered and yawning. I asked her a few questions and i found her of no help what so ever. I'm thinking she should of got more sleep before coming to work. It was only 6pm as well. I recommend people go the the tourist information centre next door as they will answer any questions you have. Apart from this minor interaction with staff, i highly recommend this hotel if you are going to stay in Quebec. I shall recommend it to any fellow travelers going to Canada. It certainly is value for money.

Room Tip: The location is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Sainte-Anne for your recent stay in our lovely city.

We are indeed situated in a beautiful location, right in the heart of all the major attractions and at walking distance of all the shops and restaurants.

We were enchanted to read that you have been impressed with the quality and comfort of our rooms. We are most appreciative of your acknowledgement that our hotel services and facilities far exceed your expectations. It is always rewarding to read that we have reached our goal.

I apologise for the disappointing experience you lived upon your check in. It does not represent the level of service we strive to provide. I would like to assure you that the matter was discussed and dealt with to ensure that this kind of service is never repeated.

Your review and comments are very important to us as guidance for improvement.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have you are our guest for your next stay!

Kind regards

Stephanie
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Here again by choice, as good as last time, beds comfortable good space, parking nearby.Breakfast was better this time, cooked if you wanted it and the best croissants I've had anywhere, baked fresh. Again the staff were super courteous and very helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is a great honour for all our team to read that you chose our hotel for a second time. We always appreciate having such loyal clients.
Thank you for your nice feedback on our complimentary breakfast. We are glad to read you enjoyed our fresh croissants. They are made every morning before the breakfast opens. Several warm choices were also added to offer a greater variety to our clientele.
We would be honoured to welcome you back at Hotel Sainte-Anne!
Warmest regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel St. Anne sits literally in the shadow of the Hotel Frontenac and is located in old town and a short walk to the riverfront area. I understand the building was constructed in the 1600's but has all the modern amenities you would expect. The main city tourist office is right down the street as well as the main bus pick up for all of the local tours. You can't go wrong with this place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor!
It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Sainte-Anne.
Our building is part of the Unesco, therefore we are very fortunate to be able to work in such an ancient building surrounded by an ocean of history. We did our best to maintain its unique character like the original stone and brick walls.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sainte-Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.