We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact room, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sainte-Anne to your Saves list
Hotel Sainte-Anne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Warren, New Jersey
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Compact room, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The front desk girl is lovely and helpful. We drove to the end of the street, finding our that it is a pedestrian street. The girl at the front desk draw me a picture and explained where to park our vehicle. The room however was very small yet compact. The best thing was its location at the heart of the old town we walked almost every corner of the old town. Good for a nights' stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Bonjour Wei H,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Quebec City!

Our receptionists are always available to assist. When you arrive in the old Quebec, it can be very confusing for many people. One-ways are extremely tricky and some GPS do not read them properly. We usually recommend our clients to first come by the hotel (to unload your luggage), and then, we can give you directions to the nearest parking garage.

Like you mentioned, our hotel is situated on a pedestrian street, therefore, you can not come in front of the hotel with your vehicle. You can shortly stop your vehicle at the corner of Sainte-Anne Street and Des Jardins Street. There are some underground parking garages near the hotel. They are located at only 150 meters walking distance.

It is important to know that all of our rooms are different. The shapes and sizes vary. We always recommend contacting us prior to arrival for any special request like a larger room. We always try our best to make every special request possible.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next trip!

See you very soon!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    135
    55
    12
    8
See reviews for
73
172
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Boutique hotel in the heart of the old city. On a pedestrian street so always quiet. Close to the Frontenac Hotel and conveniently situated for tours and the Ventricular. Only down side is the bar which has limited offerings that are quite expensive.

Room Tip: Room 309 has 2 queen beds and a huge shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a fabulous stay here. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff are kind and accommodating. The language barrier was never an issue. They went out of there way to help with washing (laundry services are complimentary). Breakfast was lovely. Very close to the Chateau, fenicular and in a great spot in Old Quebec. I appreciated the boxed breakfast when I left at 430am for the airport. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad to read that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel.

We always try to better our services and every comment is greatly appreciated.

Our hotel is fortunate to be situated in such a great location, within walking distance of all the major attractions and restaurants.

We offer two different laundry services: a professional laundry service with a private company which will have additional charges and our basic laundry service which is done directly at the hotel at no extra charges. It is always a pleasure for us to assist in anyway possible.

I am sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your last breakfast at our restaurant. Breakfast is open from 7:30 to 11:00 from Monday to Friday and from 8:00 to 11:00 Saturday and Sunday. We understand that some people may have to leave before the opening hours. For this reason, we are always more than happy to provide a continental breakfast to go the night before the departure. Every room is equipped with a small fridge.

We hope to have the chance to have you as our guest in a near future!

Warmest regards

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Sainte-Anne in September and were well pleased with the experience. The staff were all very helpful and the reception lady a joy to deal with. It couldn't have been bettter placed for our needs, right in the heart of the old city with everywhere walkable (although we did make use of the 1 dollar Eco bus on occasions). I was surprised to read that someone had been charged 32 dollars for the taxi from the station to the hotel as it cost us 7 dollars plus tip.
One word of warning. The price that you see is not what you will pay. I booked on line and the price quoted was $626.By the time the obligatory taxes were added this was nearer $800.Although breakfast was included the serving staff still had to be tipped. In this and other restaurants 15% is added as a tip which this can add substantially to your budget. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sainte-Anne for your recent stay in our beautiful city. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We believe our most important job is to exceed expectations and we work very hard to make every client feel at home. I will pass on your kind comments to our staff.

The train station is situated only 3 minutes by car from our hotel, therefore, 7$ would sound perfectly fair. I am almost certain that client meant to quote the charge from Hotel to the Airport as they offer a fix rate of 34$.

We regret to hear that you felt that you were misquoted with your rate. Whenever a client books a room online and the room is not prepaid, it is always specified which taxes will be added and also the percentage under the amount quoted. I want to assure you that we would never quote a price with no mention of any additional taxes. However, we understand that some reservation sites may not be as clear as we might be over the phone. For this reason, we want to encourage you to contact us directly for your next trip.

We hope to have you as our guest the near future!

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The best thing the Hotel Sainte-Anne has going for itself is location. It's in a great spot right in the old city. The rooms are a bit dated feeling with chipped paint and signs of hastily done upgrades. Also, the windows don't open and we found our room to be very stuffy. However they did give us a fan for the room. The bathrooms were nice, and the breakfast was adequate with 5-6 options on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel from September 17 thru the 21st. The hotel was modern, very clean & comfortable. What made our stay the best in this charming city was the wonderful staff at the hotel. The front desk staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and could not have been more helpful & pleasant! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone! Thank you!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Bonjour Mr Joe,

Our main goal is to provide such a good clientele service that it distinguishes us from other properties.
We are a small hotel of only 28 rooms so our priority is to offer the most personalized service possible. Thank you so much for recognizing our efforts. We can assure you that every time you will stay with us you will receive the same good service.

It was a pleasure to welcome you for your 4 nights stay and we hope to see you soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were in a superior queen room, and the room had charm, including a stone wall. But the lighting was terrible. We couldn't find things in our suitcases it was so dark. What we wanted was bright light most of the time, with the ability to turn it down to a romantic setting at night. Sadly, neither was available here. Also, there was no place to unpack our stuff. There was only a small (6 hanger closet), no place to put folded clothes, and no counter room in the bathroom.The fridge did not work.
That being said, the staff was friendly and super attentive, the complimentary breakfast was amazing....good food and lots of it with impeccable service.The location was unbeatable, and although the hotel is on a pedestrian street, there was plenty of parking nearby and the hotel staff pleasantly directed us to it.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms. We had a superior queen, and the room was too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sainte-Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.