We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Matto

Il Matto
71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
418-266-9444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,202 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: For a successful evening out, Hôtel 71’s restaurant Il Matto presents its distinguished guests with the finest of authentic Italian cuisine, brimming with comfort foods. Its trendy decor and festive ambience are also sure to please. A Matto signature experience is always a resounding success. Give true meaning to your visit here in the Old Capital.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Fantastic Italian Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Il Matto, with it's modern decor and small dining room, provided a nice atmosphere in which to enjoy some of the best Italian food we have ever had. The portions are large and the food is absolutely delicious making this place a great value. Appetizers included a delectable mussel dish served in a tomato broth that had just enough spice and lightly fried calamari. Veal scallops were delicious featuring five distinct preparations all served with pasta and a choice of sauce. My favorite dish though was the Carbonara, which was delectably rich without being too heavy. The excellence of the food was exceeded only by the excellence of the service, which was provided by our waiter Maxim. He graciously answered all of our questions about the menu, providing good food and wine recommendations and attentive service. In our first night in Quebec City, Il Matto gave us an unforgettable start to our vacation

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    78
    24
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Italian restaurant with very good food and service. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Gladly recommend this restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“What a neat place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went here based solely on the tripadvisor reviews. We had been looking for a good Italian place and decided to stray from some of our past favourites to give this one a try.

Overall, was a great experience! The atmosphere and style of the place is very trendy/modern, with some tightly-packed tables and some shared high tables with stools, open kitchen, high ceilings with lots of bottles on display. A little loud, but not bad, and very busy.

However, unlike a lot of places with a high emphasis on style, Il Matto (a) serves very, very good food, (b) is good value (none of our pastas were over $20, appetizers were priced nicely), and (c) serves better Italian food than many old-style Italian restaurants! Wine selection was also very good and reasonably marked up.

Our family couldn't even finish everything served despite being hungry. The Carbonara was one of the best I've ever had.

So, will definitely make this a top-priority stop on our next visit to QC! Keep it up, folks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wine Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just arrived in Quebec and found Il Matto. What a nice surprise. We sat at the bar and for a Thursday evening, the restaurant was BUSY. I enjoyed a nice Chianti and a delicious caprese salad. My husband enjoyed Caesar salad. We shared a delicious pizza.

The atmosphere was lively and fun. The service was friendly and warm.

We were both amazed at the wine cellar/ locker.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bath, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The high ceilings, the metro deco, the fun and knowledgable waitstaff.....This restaurant came on recommendation from our Concierge at our hotel, and it was incredible. Ravioli with proscuitto and spinach, the filet mignon with marsala sauce, great beer and wine selections...and Vincent, the fabulous waiter. Can't wait to go back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Matto also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Il Matto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Matto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.