We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Ermitage

Save Saved
You added Hotel l'Ermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel l'Ermitage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good location good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just returned from Quebec City and stayed at Hotel l'Ermitage. We have been visiting Quebec City several times and stayed in different hotels.I must say that we were pleasantly surprised by this place. It is really an old house which has been beautifully restored. Location is ideal, within walking distance from the Chateau Frontenac and Grande Allée with a multitude of restaurants, and bars closeby. We have to register at the hotel across the street but it is not a big inconvenience. The only improvement I would suggest would be to add anti-slip tape or mat to the tiny bathtub. This tub looks new but is very slippery and there is no grab bar around the tub. Personnel was very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Found it weird to check in across the road then back to the hotel (think part of a chain) Location was good for old town and near the original walls. Room was a bit small for my liking but clean would have preferred to have the sink in the bathroom not next to my bed. Just felt it lacked something

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
As you mentioned, the check in must to be done at the front desk of the hotel Acadia, which is always open. In our 4 hotel, the hotel Ermitage is more an economic option, this is mainly why the rooms are smaller.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

If WiFi is important to you do not stay here. The rooms were clean and the location was good but the WiFi issue really soured our experience. They need to upgrade their WiFi big time. Our phones stayed connected for a min max and our computer took 5 minutes to load a webpage.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
I'm kind of surprised that you had had difficulties with the WI-FI, because I'm working in this building and I never have any problem of that kind. But we are really sorry about this inconvenience, and we take great consideration of your comment and will will do our best to improve the wireless connection.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great hotel in excellent quiet location in the old city. Although the room was on the small size it was very clean, comfortable bed coffee making facility's and fridge. Check in across the street at Acadia hotel staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Although small would have given excellent for rooms but needs updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
In hope to have the chance to welcome you again
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Ask for room 350. This room was much larger than the one across the hall. We were amazed at the size and character of the room. 2 queen size beds (end to end) across the room from each other with 2 leather chairs, a small table and a wooden desk with 2 chairs arranged in between the beds. The room has large bay windows which can open with heavy ceiling to floor curtains. There are double doors which open onto a small balcony with a street view of Old Quebec. There is a small washroom with a tub and shower. The sink and large mirror are in the room but outside of the bathroom. The room has a fridge, T.V., hair dryer, ice bucket with wine glasses, coffee maker and mugs. The room is nicely decorated with a beautiful plaster ceiling and attractive light fixture. The door to our room was wood with a large beveled glass window, covered by a heavy curtain. This hotel was built in the 1800's and has LOTS of character. Did not wake up to any street noise but could faintly hear the church bells on Sunday morning. We quickly opened the windows to record them ringing. You need to check in just down the street at Hotel Acadia. Very friendly staff. They will take your luggage to the hotel. There is an Urban Spa on the top floor of the Acadia which you have free access to along with a buffet breakfast at a restaurant (Feu Sacre) located just around the corner (delicious). I got a deal through Hotwire so this was not included but was well worth it for $10 per person. The hotel also offers valet service, massage services (at a cost), free internet and a relaxation room. Great location, we walked everywhere throughout Old Quebec and outside the walls (did not need a car). We did take a bus tour outside the city one afternoon which was great for picture taking (waterfalls, cathedral, copper factory, bakery and across to the Island of Orleans). Took a taxi from airport to hotel. Flat rate $35, one way. Cab driver very nice and arranged our pick up time for our return home, when he dropped us off. The Hotel Acadia stored our luggage after we checked out so that we could do some more shopping/site seeing before we left.

Room Tip: Ask for room 350.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel Ermitage.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went to Quebec for the Carnaval. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room although small, was very comfortable, one of the better hotel beds I have slept on in a hotel. The location could not have been better. The hotel was in a quiet part of town but still only a five minute walk from the action.

Room Tip: Pack light...the hotel does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your nice experience in our hotel.
We're really pleased to see that you enjoyed all parts of your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very nice location. Right in the old city and near the citadel. for those who like to browse or window shop, you are located next to a commercial street. The room is on the cozy (small) side. However, you do have a fridge and coffeemaker. The bed was soooooo confortable. I am not usually able to sleep the first night in a hotel but I had no trouble falling asleep in this bed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review about our hotel Ermitage!
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and also our perfect location.
Hoping to welcome you again shortly.
Best Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ermitage

Address: 60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Ermitage 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel l'Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ermitage Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.