We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Ermitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel l'Ermitage to your Saves list
Hotel l'Ermitage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
sacramento
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. The centuries old buildings in this city are well preserved and give this city lots of charm. I loved the character and details in the rooms. The a/c and the internet worked very well. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The location was perfect for walking to everything. Be prepared to walk up stairs if you get an upper room, there is no elevator but I was fine with that. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel. As you mentioned, we have a great location near all the main attractions of Quebec city. We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in June and no complaints, especially for the price and location. You're a 5 min walk from the Chateau Frontenac and all that Old Quebec has to offer. Also close to the Plains of Abraham and Quebec (a walk up St.Jean to get away from all the touristy-stuff is a must-do, in our opinion). The room was small but fairly well appointed, the beds were comfortable, linens were clean. We stayed on the ground floor, street-side room and didn't have a problem with noise, but maybe we just got lucky with the timing (we weren't there on a weekend). We didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment on that. No issues with with the wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment on our hotel! We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel l'Ermitage and that our hotel has met your expectations. We do have a great location near all the main activities and boutiques in old Quebec city. We hope that you liked Quebec city and would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed there one night in a beautiful room - very french and old. It is in old Quebec and is close to good restaurants and the staff are lovely. Unfortunately our room was right on the street and was quite noisy at night so I suggest you request a room off the road. The breakfast is provided but is american not french but still good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment on our hotel. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We do have a great location in the center of the city, close to the main activities, restaurants and boutiques of old Quebec. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I had a good experience here. Only thing was that wireless signal was very weak.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment on our hotel! We're glad to see that you had a good experience at our hotel and would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Nous avons opté pour une des chambre régulière située à l'étage du haut. Autant l'hôtel que la chambre étaient biens tenus, pleins de charme et décorés avec goût. La chambre était peut-être un peu petite mais amplement suffisante pour deux personnes. Nous avons également apprécié le fait que l'hôtel soit situé en plein dans le vieux Québec. Nous étions ainsi à quelques minutes à pied de tout ce qui était intéressant à voir tout en étant sur une belle rue tranquille. Nous y retournerons sans hésiter!

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres semblent être de bonne qualité.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel l'Ermitage, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Google Translation
Cher client,
Merci d'avoir partagé votre avis sur notre Hôtel l'Ermitage. Nous sommes très heureux de constater que vous avez apprécié votre séjour à notre hôtel et que nos chambres étaient à la hauteur de vos attentes. Notre hôtel est effectivement situé au coeur du centre-ville et tout près des principaux attraits touristiques de la ville. Nous espérons vous recevoir de nouveau lors d'un prochain séjour !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We chose this hotel for its location and weren't disappointed. We checked in at the hotel across the street, had our car valet parked (additional $20) and spent the day walking around Old Quebec. Remember to bring your bathing suits (we didn't) because you have access to the roof-top hot tub - a nice place to relax after a day of walking! And the breakfast buffet the next morning was perfect. We were in a ground floor room and as there are no elevators really appreciated it! However I have read that the upper level rooms have balconies where you can enjoy coffee while admiring the view. Nevertheless we loved the location and loved Old Quebec.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I'd booked a room online with two beds and we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room also had a small living room space with couch, big-screen t.v., and fireplace and was surrounded on three sides by windows and trees, absolutely lovely! The two parts of the bathroom had ample space (sink separated from bathtub) and actually also had a small fridge, another surprise, as we were able to pick up some snacks and beverages.

The beds were very comfortable, the A/C quiet and efficient, and we enjoyed the high ceilings. The room almost had a boutique hotel feel without the posterity. Perhaps we just simply lucked out with this room, as every room I think is different, but I would definitely book there again (and try to get the same room of course!) The hotel was situated right in Old Quebec and was very close to all that we wanted to see and where we needed to go, very convenient.

Though reception was in another hotel of the same group, it did not cause any problems. Valet parking could have been quicker in delivering our car upon departure, but all in all, good and friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ermitage

Address: 60 rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Ermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel l'Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ermitage Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Ermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.