We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but got a room with zero views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Quebec City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada (Formerly Courtyard Quebec City Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location but got a room with zero views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is situated just a few steps from the old Quebec walls. It was so convenient! We were stuck (though they did try to move us) in a room with a view of.. A brick wall. We had no sunlight! Otherwise, the place was clean and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. There is a restaurant onsite, but we didn't eat there as there were plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    201
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
184
259
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolfp10
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here during the Winter Carnival in Quebec City in February. It is right outside the old city and near the carnival grounds. Valet was easy and responsive. Rooms were always clean and warm. Staff was very responsive. The location cannot be beat.

My wife left her cellphone in the room after we left, and the staff were quick to ship it back to us. Great job!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel charmed us when we walked through the door, with its nice entrance and friendly staff. We were even more impressed with our room, which was spacious and had nice views on the city lights. We ordered room service and really had no complaints; food came up quickly and it was very nice. We had a great night and I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great location, stones throw from old Quebec, and stumbling distance from the St. Alexander Pub. I was upgraded to a suite, which was quite large. There is a very small pub at the hotel, and breakfast buffet every morning. Never made it to the gym.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I chose this place for its location and yes it is great as we can walk to all the sight seeing places. However the room they gave me has no view of the city which I am disappointed. The rooms are huge and are renovated newly. The staff is good and I chose to valet park but there is a garage next door for self parking too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on our first visit to Quebec City and enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and helped us locate anything from a good restaurant that locals frequent to museums to a good cup of coffee. Being from the South, I was quite cold, but found reading a good book by the fireplace in the lobby area was perfect for chasing away the chill. Our room was small, but comfortable. We had a fabulous view of Old Quebec. I felt it was reasonably priced for the location. All we had hoped to see was within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is an outstanding choice for business or family vacation. It is centrally located at the gates of old Quebec and the service is exceptional. We were there during peak Carnival time, but the conciere, Xavier, and front desk staff were super friendly and went above and beyond in helping us plan our stay - making sure we had clear driving directions, excellent recommendations for dinner that "fit" our famliy, tips on Carnival and where to stand on the parade route - even coming through with free ice skating coupons for our kids for the rink out front. Thanks to all their efforts, we had a wonderful vacation. I have stayed at much more upscale properties that had far less service. This felt like we were guests in someone's home - and they wanted to be sure we had a great time - incredible hospitality . Rooms were clean and comfortable - ours was a bit odd shaped and not a great view, but we were in town to walk and see the city so room suited our purposes. We used valet service - a little pricey at $22/day, but not much more than daily rates at surrounding garages, and worth it on the busy streets to have the valet service.

Room Tip: If view matters to you, do ask about view when you check in as some rooms overlook other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Address: 850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada (Formerly Courtyard Quebec City Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quebec City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.