We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Quebec City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada (Formerly Courtyard Quebec City Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location is top notch and the food is quite good! The views of the sunset from our 5th floor room was picture worthy. The staff is top notch! Two items of special recognition: waitstaff was gracious beyond words, letting us sit down for dinner, even though it was the end of the service. They were kind and helpful, which was MUCH appreciated after being frozen out during the Carnival parade. The staff also showed its great character when dealing with a male at the bar who was a *jerk* to the utmost degree (don't want to use salty language in a rec). The waiter was cool, collected and professional, even in the face of some really insulting behavior! C'est bon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    200
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
184
259
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent several days here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were traveling with our son and chose this hotel because we wanted a spacious room with queen beds. We felt the location was perfect, just outside the old city and on Rue St Jean. This is one of the most comfortable and clean hotels I have ever stayed in. Never once did I hear any noise from other guests or doors closing. Our room was behind the elevator, but I could not hear it. Every evening we would stop in the little hotel bar for a drink before dinner, it was charming and pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a great view out the window, which was not important to us, but if it is impor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with all our Trip Advisor travellers! All our employees are one of our greatest pride! We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again soon!

With best regards,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spent Carnival at the Courtyard in Quebec. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. It was close to old town, and to public parking. Oh, and did I say we got a great rate? What more could you ask for. I understand that it will soon be re-done into another Marriott, and look forward to staying there again. My only concern is that it had a nice seating area in the lobby in front of a fire place. I'll be sorry if that goes.

Room Tip: 617 overlooks an elevator shaft, and is near the elevators. No noise, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf on our entire team we wish to thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with all the other traveller's! We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have the chance to see you again next year for the Carnaval!

With best regards,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a hotel that does the job. Friendly staff, good food at the restaurant, an ice rink in front of your door, a few step from the old city... It's perfect for a getaway in Quebec City. We book rooms there every year for the staff that come to the Christmas party across the street at Le Capitole theatre.

Room Tip: Not sure what to recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our propery with Trip Advisor travellers! We are glad to read you had a good time in Quebec City while staying with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Warm regards,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We chose this hotel based on seemingly great location and favourable Trip Advisor reviews. We are very happy with our choice. Courtyard Marriot was in an ideal location for the Quebec Winter Carnival, being less than a kilometre walk away. Mind you, Quebec City is hilly, so expect some up and down as you walk, but will be no problem for most people except the very elderly with mobility issues.
In the other direction from Carnaval is rue St Jean directly in front of the hotel and a nice square with a skating rink. We were able to pop right out of the front door of the hotel, put our skates on and go for a few laps in the middle of the square.
Just beyond that is one of the Old Quebec stone arches that frames rue St Jean as it winds down into the cobblestoned tourist area. You can stop and eat and many fine restaurants, or continue up hill again to Notre Dame Catherdral, of continue just a little further to Chateau Frontanac. The walking distance was quite easy to handle, even with a 9 year old with us and pretty cold temperatures. I cannot emphasize enough to those not used to it, what -20 Celsius with a wind feels like, and I'm from the Toronto area. We were triple-layered, touqued and scarfed, and even that just barely did the job. You will find Quebec much more enjoyable in winter if you bundle up even more than required. Thankfully, this hotel's location makes great dining and shopping within a few hundred meters.
The hotel itself is quite lovely and clean. Might need some carpet and painting in a few years from wear, but again-it was clean and pleasant. Staff at the desk could not be beat, as they were very eager to please and always available.
This is a location hotel, meaning there is not much to do in the hotel itself, and you are likely to choose it based on proximity, so if you will be out most of the day touring about, it's hard to beat for location, and comfortable enough to come back to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Only smaller rooms face the square, but if you want a view, and can handle a smaller room, ask to fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about your experience at Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City! What a pleasure to read you were entirely satisfied with our staff, accommodation and location !

Make sure you contact us upon your next visit, we would be delighted to welcome you again in Quebec City!

Kinds regards,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pros:

We came for the Winter Carnaval and found the hotel to be ideally placed from the main area of activities on the Plains of Abraham (about seven minutes walk). Situated next to an ice-skating rink, and at the top of Rue Saint Jean with all its bistros, the view from our room was enchanting, especially at night with all the lights. The staff was extremely friendly, and helped guide our activities throughout our stay. The room was kept clean. As has been stated elsewhere, there is free WiFi, but it is a bit slow.

Cons:

At first we were disconcerted at there not being any safes in the rooms, so if this is is important to you, you should be aware of this fact (though apparently there is a safe you can use in reception?) To us it did not matter, but it is worth mentioning.

Also, the heat was a bit weird. Over the weekend it hit -10F (-21C), so we really wanted to make sure the rooms were warm overnight as we slept. However, the rooms actually got cold in the night. Apparently the heating works on some sort of motion-sensing mechanism so that if no movement is registered the thermostat is turned down. Of course, when you are asleep, there is no movement! It is sold as some sort of eco- thing, but frankly we wanted to be warm, not cool, with the weather being what it was, so we had little choice but to break out any and all blankets we could find.

With all that said, we loved our stay!

Room Tip: Old City View rooms are really nice (rooms *01-*03).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for this review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our location convinient for your activities in the area!

Please note that we are definitely taking your comment into consideration about our heating system. We appreciate your input and will be sure to share your comments with our team as we are constantly looking for ways to better meet and exceed our guests expectations and satisfaction!!

We look forward having the chance to welcome you another time in our wonderful property.

With best regards,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel, located just outside of one of the main gates into Old Quebec, is well maintained, reasonably priced, and staffed by a group of people who really do care about providing an exceptional experience for their customers. Between restaurant recommendations/reservation-making and room relocations (we wanted something with a view), they were not only accomodating, but understanding and happy to help out. A rarity, in my experience.

While the restaurant leaves a little to be desired (a little on the plain side), there are so many choices within a 5-minute walk that this is less a problem than a reason to get out and explore the (extremely explorable) nooks and crannies that Quebec City offers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, the views are great, even if the elevator is a little on the slow s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine G, Front Office Manager at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With Best regards,

Catherine Germain
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Address: 850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada (Formerly Courtyard Quebec City Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quebec City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.