We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Quebec city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quebec City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada (Formerly Courtyard Quebec City Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best value in Quebec city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

If you're a first timer in the magnificient city of Quebec, or a frequent visitor, you must try out this hotel. My family and I are rather the later, and we recently discovered this fine resting nest after searching on TripAdvisor for a new place to stay for the week-end. I was suprised about the ratings, because I had never heard of this place. In fact, our family in Quebec city never heard of it either! Of course, Marriott is my favorite chain of hotels, so I wasn't hard to convince.

First of all, getting here is quite easy, but you should still use the GPS because driving can be confusing in this part of town. Once you find the place, you'll notice a huge underground parking lot right next door. So don't bother with valet parking: drop the spouse, kids, and large amount of luggage in front of the hotel (making her regret having brought all that useless stuff...), park the car, and walk for the remaining of your stay.

Quebec city is one of the safest cities in the world, but should you absolutely need your car to visit the surroundings, do not come in and out of the parking lot, as they charge 10$ every time you exit. If you do plan to move in and out frequently, take the 20$/day plan (cheaper).

Don't forget to bring lots of warm layers in the winter, because it gets pretty cold here from January through March. We briefly met a couple from Main in the elevator, and they had never experienced temperature this cold. Mercury droped to -10F (-22C) during our stay.

Inside the Courtyard it's plenty warm though, as employees all around greet you with a friendly smile. Plus, a hot spa is waiting for you below.

Rooms are typicall Marriott, with all the essentials of comfort. Bathroom was especialy clean, and seemed to have been recently renovated.

But the best asset of this hotel is it's location. In front of Place d'Youville and the old city entrance, surrounded by fine restauraunts, shops, and beautiful streets to romanticaly walk about for hours. The final touch: a superb skating rink right next door designed to make you feel like John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale in Serendipity! They even have rentals if you don't own skates.

Considering all this, and the more than reasonnable price they charge, I'm giving this hotel a full 5 stars for value.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a better city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    268
    57
    19
    6
See reviews for
234
346
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Another family vacation, yet another hotel, but the Quebec experience was truly unique. The hotel was in a perfect location close to everthing - right ourside the fort. You just walk to the old city. Great restaurants & familiar fast food chains - everything walkable. Service was good. Rooms were clean but quite small. We were originally given a room that had a window that looked into the next building which was about a foot away from the window. We felt quite claustrophobic and requested a change, then we got the room with the view of the fort. That was truly nice. I would recommend just ask if you are not sure :).

Room Tip: Please ensure you ask for the right room - if your widows face the building adjacent to you its quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I visited this hotel last winter while on business at CFB Valcartier. Although the distance from the hotel to Valcartier is not short I have found that it is well worth the extra time for superb enjoyment of the city. Quebec City is my personal best choice in North America for its charm and overall value over the past twenty years. Of special note you may wish to consider that even with the extra effort it takes to go up to the city or down to the Harbour level this is all good for exercise and I find that the Old Quebec is particularly charming. Bring good shoes because it is definitely worth it. This small Hotel is very comfortable and is close to all amenities that one could want.Service was excellent and extremely friendly. The small skating rink facing the Hotel was very picturesque and I would have wanted to bring my skates had I known. Next time for sure. While there, take the time to enjoy not only the Hotel but the surroundings and do not be concerned about safety as I have found no issues there at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Located very close to Old Quebec City, across a skating rink. There are a lot of restaurants near the hotel, including a Subway sandwich place next to the hotel. The staff is wonderful, very helpful. The rooms are okay- clean but a bit outdated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for Newyears 2011-12 and loved it. We walked to Grand Allee for Dinner, Fireworks and the Ice/Street Festival and walked the entire walled village daily and nightly. We never took our car out of the garage the four days that we were there. What a wonderful staff. This Hotel has it all, location, great rooms and accommodations.The only problem with this hotel is, you won't want to leave. Case in point, we started off with a 3 night stay and add on a fourth night. The next time we'll just book an entire week.

Room Tip: This hotel doesn't have a pool, but it has a really nice 8 person hot tub. Good for early evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for the second time in the past 5 years and the second visit was as good as the first. We were attending the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Finals in December at Expo Cite's Pavillion. The hotel's location at the edge of the old city made access to the arena fast and easy along with their prompt valet service. The staff is as friendly as can be and patiently listened to us try to speak French. When we made ourselves understood we were complimented. When we couldn't be understood the staff switch right over to English. The hotel is clean, up to date, quiet and in a great location. For $149/night CAN it was a great value.

Room Tip: can't beat a top floor for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

There were so many great things about this hotel. First of all, it was extremely convenient as it was only steps from the Old City walls and St.Jean's gate. There was a skating rink right outside the hotel that we used for some nice night time skating and several restaurants and shops just inside the city walls. It was a standard $32.50 cab ride from the airport.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were always smiling, saying hello and even calling me by name once they knew it. We were checked in early as the room was early and they held our bags for us as we did not need to be at the airport until 7 pm.

The hotel was very clean and the front foyer was a lovely place to put our feet up and warm up from the bitter cold outside. The comfortable couches and fireplaces in the foyer were very inviting. We stayed in a smaller room, with only 1 queen size bed but the view from the 4th floor overlooking the old city was amazing. The bathroom is quite small with the sink and vanity outside of the tub/shower/toilet. The linens were very clean and overall the room was spotless. There was a small bar fridge & coffee maker in our room. The Wifi was free and very reliable. We had control of our room temperature with our own thermostat.

We checked out the hot tub and exercise room but did not make use of those services. They appeared very clean and well maintained.

Make sure you try out the restaurant - Que Sera Sera - the food was fantastic. We had breakfast included that was plentiful and had everything from made to order omelets to pancakes and fresh fruit. Dinner was also an excellent experience as the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. And again, the service in the restaurant and the bar was excellent.

Overall, this hotel is definitely one I would return to! It's reasonable price and impeccable service and standards make it one that will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the old city, the view is beautiful from this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#38 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Quebec
Delta Quebec
#50 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#30 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#6 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#4 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebec City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebec City Marriott Downtown

Address: 850 Place d'Youville, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3P6, Canada (Formerly Courtyard Quebec City Downtown)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quebec City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Quebec City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Quebec City Downtown Hotel Quebec City
Marriott Quebec City
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quebec City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.