We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B de la Fontaine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B de la Fontaine to your Saves list
B&B de la Fontaine
26 avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and i stayed for 2 nights in August. Victoria has a very comfortable B&B and she truly cares about her guest's experience. The room was very comfortable (don't expect a big room in an old house like this) The breakfast was delicious with a good variety that should provide enough choices for everyone to find something that they like. The location is very convenience, in the old town, a couple of blocks from the Frontenac.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
12
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights in late September at this wonderful B&B in Quebec. Victoria was a most gracious hostess, and the location could not have been better. Victoria has done a marvelous job of making the most of the space, and our room was excellent. The facility is well appointed, clean, comfortable, and winsome. We were in the "Sun" room, and even though the weather was overcast for most of the time, the covered balcony was a treat. The B&B is on a quiet street in the upper old town of Quebec, and it is in easy walking distance of all the major sites of the old city. Victoria provided a most helpful map of the area and identified a wide variety of fine restaurants. She was also very helpful in pointing us to the sites we were interested in seeing. When we had unloaded our luggage and I had gone to park the car, Victoria helped my wife tote our bags to our room and gave my wife a list of places to see as soon as possible - there was a forecast for early evening rain, and she wanted to be sure we made the most of the time we had. Breakfasts were wonderful and the variety was excellent. It would be nearly impossible to go hungry from breakfast. Victoria was attentive in every way. The only caution is that this B&B has many steps from the first to second floor and from the first floor to the basement where breakfast was served. This was no problem for us, but it would be an obstacle for anyone with poor mobility. There is no on-site parking, but garages are nearby and not too expensive. If we return to Quebec, we will make every effort to stay at B&B de la Fontaine, and we recommend it to any who are looking for a great stay in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: The "Sun" room has a balcony and is quiet. It is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On this trip to Quebec City, I traveled with my mother and a friend we stayed for 2 nights. As three women we shared a room and we received the downstairs room with a queen bed and a convertible sofa. The room was well appointed and cozy, with a little sitting area when the pull out bed was stowed away. The bathroom is narrow and small but did not feel cramped, and was very clean. We found it easy to get to, unload our things and then park in a garage (I chose the one under City Hall; Hotel de ville). We had a late arrival and did not get to meet Victoria until the next morning but had spoken and emailed with her a couple of times prior. We found the letter left for us at the entrance, welcoming and containing helpful information.

Victoria was a lovely host, with great suggestions for dining (two of us are vegetarian; only slightly challenging in Quebec City). As others have mentioned, the breakfasts were thoughtfully made everyday and plentiful. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stairs are steep if that is a concern, however even though our room was on the entrance level it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Village
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited Victoria's beautiful B&B on August 16 of this year, and stayed for four nights. Comfortable accomodations, historic house, and a perfect location (300 metres from the Chateau Frontenac). We were without a car, but never needed one. Everything we wanted to see or visi was within walking dstance, including literally hundreds of places to dine. Victoria, besides being wonderfully gracious, provided wonderful breakfasts differing everyday, with fresh fruit and a number of choices. She also made her computer available to us to check on flights, print tickets, etc. (and her 2 daughters are beautiful). In retrospect, I don't believe we could have chosen a better place to stay.
Merci, Victoria. We highly recommend her B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Victoria, the hostess, is amazing. Very very sweet lady, with a beautiful place, right around the corner from everything in Old Quebec City! Her breakfast in the morning is delicious, and the room was very warm, comfortable, and inviting! I absolutely loved it and can't wait to go back! Also, Victoria is fluent in English, which was very nice and convenient for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A very nice find in old City Quebec- just around the corner from the famous Chateau Frontenac in a quaint B&B setting. The bathroom in the downstairs room was functional but small- very European. We had a nice breakfast every day, including a special treat of pumpkin pie when we happened to be there for Canadian Thanksgiving! The U.S. Embassy and a spectacular view of the river was just a block away. Would highly recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Charming B&B located within the walls of the old City Quebec. Everything was so close, we parked our car for 2 days and walked everywhere. Our hostess, Victoria, was gracious and gave great recommendations to enhance our trip--and her breakfasts were filling and delicious. The rooms were beautiful and meticulously kept. The bathrooms are small but very clean and the stairs are a bit steep to the second floor. We loved it though. We walked the Old City all day and shared wine and cheese with our friends on the room balcony at night. We had a great stay and will definitely return again. Superb!

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear, away from the street, are quieter (from traffic) and have a usable balcony with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B de la Fontaine

Address: 26 avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B De La Fontaine Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B de la Fontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.