We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located but less expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Autre Jardin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added L'Autre Jardin to your Saves list
L'Autre Jardin
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   365 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Well located but less expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, don't get fooled like I did in booking the deluxe Queen room when all you get is a jacuzzi bathtub for the $20 premium.
Otherwise, clean and spacious with high ceilings, a comfortable bed, hard-to-figure out TV controls and heating controls.
Slept in and missed the included breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
23
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

5 nights in December 2011 @ $99 per night per romm, plus taxes of 17.3%.
The room rate was good for the location; an old building rejunevenated.
The bed was a permanently folded down murphy bed, not sure why. The room was heated by electric baseboard heaters, which were slow to react to weather/thermostat changes. The bed was low to the floor, no box spring quite firm. A duvet would have suited us better than sheet and stubborn blankets.
Upon arrival we noticed there were no drawers of any kind for storing underwear, etc. We mentioned this to reception, who told us all the rooms were like that, so we couldn't switch rooms. Their design theme is trying to be esoteric but winds up short on practicality; there is a stand, no less, for the phone book, but nowhere to put socks away. So we kept these items in our suitcases which had to stay out in the room, which was already starting to look cluttered.
Lots of hot water on demand; a good, if repetitive, buffet breakfast (try the "Creton").
We used a bus pass on the local transit which was excellent, with a terminal just around the corner.
There is no elevator; we were not offered help with our bags upon arrival or departure. Reception seems to be little more than one person sitting in a seat, doing nothing most of the time.
Upon arrival, we noticed a cluster of human hair on the floor in the bathroom, behind the door and wondered how long it would stay there. It was still there when we left, five days later, which suggests poor supervision of housekeeping services, which seemed to be little more than make the bed and, some days, take out the garbage.
There are no facilities such as microwave or fridge; only a cheap coffee (no tea) maker. The TV was ancient and small and the clock radio is the type you get at Walmart for $9.99.
They were clearly working on a shoestring, which seemed to trump any customer service-based enterprise. Compared with the number of available rooms, there seemed to be precious few occupants; we took this hotel because a major event in town was making hotel space generally scarce and expensive. If we return to Quebec City (lovely city but take away the public sector and tourism and it would quickly become a ghost town) we would not be surprised to see that Auberge L'autre Jardin had closed. It's management needs a good kick in the pants and a better focus on customers' needs.
Lastly, when checking out, the receptionists (one trainer and one college trainee) swiped my credit card without first giving me an invoice or stating the amount on the bill. When I asked for an invoice, before swiping the card, the trainer became rather defensive and told me bruskly that the bill was exactly per the reservation. Fine, but I wanted to see that before paying. Again, focus on the customer was lacking.
By the way, the hotel management play up the eco-friendly coffee and such, with African-themed knick-knacks on the walls, but it somehow does not work, given the general malaise of the business.

Room Tip: LOkk around the room and bathroom as soon as you arrive to ensure the room is what you were expectin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at L'Autre Jardin Hotel for two nights. We had requested a lower level room because we were preparing to embark on a cruise ship and we had two medium-size bags that we did not want to struggle with since there was no elevator. We are not that young anymore. However, the hotel is only 3 floors and we would have been able to manage the luggage if it was necessary. Nevertheless, the hotel provided us with a room on the first floor. The room was clean with lots of space. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room staff was also very helpful and they provided a very good buffet breakfast. The organic theme in the hotel was fascinating. The only minor issue was the distance from the hotel to the old part of Quebec City which was the main goal of our visit; but the hotel provided good information on using the local bus system to get there.

Room Tip: The hotel was very responsive to an email that I sent concerning a late night arrival confirmation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferney-Voltaire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to somewhere else. We paid $230 + $12 to park in a supervised outdoor lot around the corner. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious with cable TV. The breakfast was a very generous buffet with variety and good quality organic food items. The hotel staff and owners are part of a fair trade network and do a lot of good in developing and developed countries.
Just two minuses, which are entirely relative: while the neighborhood is nice, with several good dining options, it is a bit far from the old walled city and port area. You can take one of three buses, but they're not that frequent on Sundays. Second, the guy who was at the front desk when we checked out seemed new and clueless. Not stupid, just didn't know the ropes. He messed up our reservation for our stay on the way back and we had to go across the road to the colder, pricier Royal William. He also got a couple of things on our bill wrong. So bottom line, absolutely stay here if you don't mind bussing around town a bit, but check and double check your bill/reservations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandrineViel, General Manager at L'Autre Jardin, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will continue to try make your stays a very good experience and improve the formation of our front desk personnel to not replicate the same mistake. We apologize for the inconvenience and insure your that they are all willing to do their best and will double check the date before confirmed it.

Yours sincerely

Sandrine Viel
General manager
Auberge Autre Jardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We loved our stay at L'Autre Jardin. Very nice spacious rooms, good rates, excellent and healthy bufet breakfast. And all with a social entreprise angle. Unique and worth a try!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We checked in last minute to this `hidden gem`of a hotel -- & were more than pleasantly surprised with the amazing service, helpful staff, and yummy included breakfast. The staff were especially helpful with advice and directions for Carnaval! All the breakfast food was fair trade. The room was small, but comfortable. & We LOVED the murphy beds -- gave us lots of roomto get ready.

Thanks for hosting our Girls` Weekend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velden am Woerthersee, Austria
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

This is a hotel I would normally have loved. The location is not perfectly central but still good. It is about a 15 minutes walk to the old town and the harbour. Off street parking is available but two blocks away. The area has a few restaurants and bars. The interior is modern with a bit of a New Age type touch. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I had a standard room which was spacious, newly furbished and nicely decorated. But there, the weird thing comes in. The windows cannot be opened. There is air condition in the room but still the air quality is really bad. Imagine you don’t open the window in your bedroom for a week, this is how it smells. I heard the rooms facing to the back have windows which can be opened. The breakfast was included in the price. It wasn’t the poshest I have seen but they had a good selection and everything was organic and fair trade. It is a recommendation if you get the luxury of a window that can be opened, and the smell in the room is really the only reason I cannot give this hotel five points.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Autre Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Autre Jardin

Address: 365 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Autre Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At l'Auberge l'Autre Jardin, you will enjoy being responsible consumers and will experience a concept in tourism unique in Quebec City!L'Autre Jardin, a thoroughly urban inn, is an offshoot of Carrefour Tiers-Monde, an organization of international cooperation that aims to further sustainable development and fair trade on our planet.L'Auberge l'Autre Jardin invites you to discover the heart of Quebec City with its original boutiques, venues and restaurants; an area bustling with artists, students and high tech entrepreneurs, just a few minutes away from the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Autre Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Autre Jardin Hotel Quebec City
L'Autre Jardin Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Autre Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.