We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Coutellier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Coutellier to your Saves list
Hotel des Coutellier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WIFI and breakfast
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Dundee, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a nice surprise this hotel was. It was very clean, perfect location we didn't have to drive our car at all, EVERYTHING within walking distance. Wear comfortable shoes, there is lots to see.
The staff at this hotel were friendly and very helpful. They informed us of the fireworks going on the evening we checked in and several other events that were great.The room was perfect and the breakfast bag was always a great way to begin our day.
Do not hesitate to stay here. You will not. Be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, Directeur général at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your recent stay with us!

It is true that there is a lot to do & see around and we are looking forward to welcoming you another time!

Merci beaucoup!

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    110
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
64
325
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aizenay, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

What a gem this hotel turned out to be. We. Stayed two nights at this hotel and wished it could have been more. The helpful and friendly staff was most welcome, the room was excellent, large, well equipped and quiet. The breakfast outside our door the next morning was amazing, very tasty and plenty of it. Altogether a most enjoyable stay, we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, Directeur général at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us and other travellers your recent stay at our establishment. We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the city!

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again the next time you visit town!

Sincerely,

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I visited in late May-early June with both of our parents for a family holiday. The hotel was absolutely perfect! The rooms were well equipped and most importantly super clean! The staff was incredibly friendly and went above and beyond. My husband and I want to return just for a long weekend so we can relax in the hotel and the nearby pub!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our 2 night stay was perfect. Great location, friendly, helpful staff, spotless room, wonderful amenities. Want More? Great bed, good size bathroom with nice quality toiletries, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, comfy robes, lovely breakfast hung on the door super early (thank you from this early bird...). Oh- did I mention spotless?? Quiet! Amazing since we were right on the street near the waterfront and our room was right next to the elevator. Highly recommend this charming hotel, located across from the wonderful farmers market. Very nice touch: good coffee in the lobby early each morning and cool lemonade in the afternoon after a good day's touring. Just splendid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rambwreck
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Just checked out and we were really pleased with our 3 night stay. The location on the edge of old town meant quiet evenings and easy access to things like the market, the waterfront, and some of the great restaurants in the lower town. Loved the bagged breakfast. Great staff. Lived up to high expectations!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, Directeur général at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Hôtel des Coutellier! We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the city and that you shared your experience with other travelers.
Hope to have the privilege to welcome you again!
Sincerely,

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucía
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed in this hotel two nights. Great location when arriving by train. A 8 minute walk from the Station. I stayed in a Superior Room. Really confy room. Great bathroom with all the amenities. Breakfast included and delivered to your room. I would stay in a Hotel closer to Old Quebec. Although it takes only a 10 minute walk, it's climbing!! There are other hotels closer to old Quebec. Staff is really nice and helpful. I ate dinner twice at a restaurant close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We REALLY enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms, great WIFI, great service, great location in old Quebec. We will be back and highly recommend to others! Close to restaurants, old Quebec, farmers market, VIA train station. Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Coutellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.