We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight on Rue St-Paul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Coutellier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Coutellier to your Saves list
Hotel des Coutellier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Delight on Rue St-Paul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visited Quebec City in mid August 2013 with 4 other couples. We all stayed here on advice from one of our party who is French speaking Canadian. We were delighted with the location and the ammenities of the hotel. The staff is helpful and attentive and the rooms are comfortable and clean. They provide a nice continental breakfast (Delicious bakery goods Croissants, scones, muffin, fruit or yogurt) which is delivered to each room each morning. Some rooms have microwave and refrigeration. The building is ancient but looks recently remodeled and feels very upscale. There is no ice down the hall and it does not appear to be at all handicapped accessible.
I would not recommend for younger families either, as there is no kid oriented area. For adults who are in reasonably good shape I would not hesitate to recommend it. You need to walk when you are in QC and there are plenty of great shops and eateries nearby (seaport, farmers market and train station where there are several nice upscale restaurants), but much of the old city is a healthy walk up a steep hill. Or you can take the Funicular tram to the top of the hill for a few Loonies. We stayed 3 nights and were delighted. We did not eat at the hotel cafe/restaurand but I noticed that it was usually full at meal times. The weather was a bit cool while we were there but we did not get rained upon. The check-in may be tricky as you need to park on the side walk to bring luggage in, up several stairs -no ramp. You park across the street for $10 per night. We never used the car in 3 days.
I would definitely choose this hotel next time I return to QC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    125
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
73
355
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor and were so glad we did! We were first time visitors to Quebec City and celebrating our 25th Anniversary. We were looking for a romantic getaway, not a chain hotel. Everything about our experience was wonderful. The room looked exactly like the pictures online and the Jacuzzi was as relaxing as I hoped it would be. (I wish there had been a little instruction manual, though. It took a bit of experimenting to figure it out.) We were walking distance to everything and were glad to have a secure lot to park our car. I suggest that the staff explain at the time of booking how to park in front of the hotel to unload luggage and check in. We drove around several times looking for how to access the front door. It was a staff member from the restaurant next door that noticed us circling and told us we could pull up on what we thought was a sidewalk right in front. We liked the breakfast delivered to the room in an insulated bag. The food was fresh and tasty. I suggest an ice pack to keep creamers, yogurt and juices cold for those of us who sleep very late! I liked having a coffee maker in my room. The room was very clean and the linens were heavenly. We would not hesitate to stay here again and have already recommended it to friends who are planning a romantic trip to QC in the near future.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi was a godsend at the end of each day. All the walking on cobblestone streets, in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our 6-night stay was wonderful. The little breakfast hung by the door each morning made it easy to lounge with coffee and the wife each morning. The breakfast came with the days weather report, a cute touch. The reception and cleaning staff were very kind, polite, and helpful. My wife and I enjoyed the free DVD rentals available at the front desk.

The location was perfect. A short, albeit uphill, walk and we were in the heart of the shopping district, the fashion street, fine dining, and entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this hotel solely based on trip advisor reviews and it did not disappoint. We could not have chosen a more perfect hotel! First we took the bus from Montreal and the station is a short walk to the hotel which is located in the lower area of Old Quebec. If you like to walk and explore everything is within 15 minutes of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the uphill walks to the upper area of the city. As an alternative you can walk down rue-St. Paul along the river and access the upper area via the steps or the funicular. There are quite a few steps but very manageable for the majority and frankly at $2.50 a pop the funicular is just an easier way to get up top versus being an attraction.
I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed EVERYTHING about the hotel but if you read a page or 2 of trip advisor reviews you will get a very accurate portrayal of this hotel. I will say that any negative comments towards the continental breakfast are very petty. It’s a unique idea, a great touch and by the way the pastries were delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent a fabulous six days at the Hotel des Coutellier. It could not be better located - near a ton of cafes (including one next door, Cafe Belley, which features both delicious a.m. coffee and even more sumptuous nighttime glasses of L'Achimiste Beer on tap) and steps from the old city. Service was excellent and the front desk staff were both very nice and very helpful. The building itself is snug, in a very good way. There isn't a scintilla of chain-hotel going on here. The details - towels, soaps - were top of the line. And the pastry breakfast delivered to the room daily is a delight. The only critique is that you rely on K-cups for breakfast coffee - but there is no better solution given that breakfast is delivered at 7am for people who will wake at varying times. But the K-cup holds you over until the trip downstairs. Cafe Belley's coffee is better than any in-room coffee could ever be.

Don't miss a trip to the Marché du Vieux Port, the farmer's market, located right across from the hotel. The berries we brought back to our room (admittedly, the benefit of a summer trip) took our pastry breakfast to another level.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night only and totally regret that we didn't stay longer. We had a lovely stay with an amazing room. The room and ensuite were of a very high standard and the staff were friendly and helpful speaking French and English. We booked a romantic package which came with a small bottle of prosecco and 2 truffles and also dinner at moss mussels. We couldn't find fault with anything. Even the little breakfast hung on the door in the morning is a treat and such a u inquest thing to do. In reception there was always a different nibble muffins or fruit with iced tea or coffee. Our stay was nothing less than perfect. We would definitely recommend and would book again in a flash

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Even though it has been over a year since we visited Quebec, our stay at this hotel remains one of the highlights. A very short walk from the train station (we had come from Montreal and left for Halifax by train) our room faced Rue St. Paul, the Marche de Vieux Port (be sure to go and check out the local fare --ripe strawberries like I haven't tasted in years!) and the old granaries where Robert Page's "Image Mill" was still being shown. Even being on the street, the double windows and black out shades meant a peaceful, quite room with tasteful contemporary decor (a whimsical, large, red flower pillow in a room of black, grey and white) and a wonderful mini "kitchen". This was great for the hot drinks to go along with a bounteous breakfast we found each morning hanging in a cloth bag outside our door--silverware, napkins, croissants, muffins, orange juice, applesauce and jams(each morning was slightly different). It is rated 4 stars (which we found correct) and the location was ideal for a walk down Rue St. Paul with it's many restaurants and shops and around to lower "Old Town" or up an inclined street behind the hotel to upper "Old Town". Returning here, after each day out visiting the city sights, with it's comfortable bed, upscale bathroom and various amenities (fresh fruit in the lobby) made our visit to Quebec one that we will long remember.
P.S. We had found a very good rate through AAA which on checking out our receptionist said was excellent for late June.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#4 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#3 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#6 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Coutellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.