We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Coutellier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Coutellier to your Saves list
Hotel des Coutellier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perfect location in old Quebec, off the busy touristy streets. Close to everything. Make sure you walk along the St.Paul street towards the port - bunch of nice restaurants and shops!
About Hotel itself. Nice but small rooms, definitely not for families with children (saw some reviews with complains). Clean overall, beautiful bathrooms, attentive personnel. Not sure the breakfast at the door is the greatest idea, but better then nothing. Only complain - the noise from the delivery trucks in the morning (probably for the 2 restaurants in the same building). Otherwise - great stay. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    102
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
59
306
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location without being in the tourist area, and just outside the old city walls...about a 10 minute walk. There is a farmers market just across the street. We stayed 4 nights and our room was a Superior King which by hotel standards is a little smaller, but cosy and probably standard in size for a boutique hotel. Personal and friendly service. DVD rentals were free. The continental breakfast was delivered which we didn't particularly like. However, there are cafes in the area if you want a full breakfast. like bacon and eggs, omelette etc. If you want a great brunch, go to Cafe du Monde which is a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: The largest room here is the King Suite which is nicely appointed. If budget is not a problem, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is well suited for a visit to Quebec. With convenient access to the lower part of old town, and a short walk to the upper part, it is well located.

The staff were extremely helpful with everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after a 2 night stay at the Frontenac. This is a small hotel across the street from the Farmer's Market. Everything was within easy walking distance- we never needed cabs, etc. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were not huge, but definitely large and luxurious. We loved the breakfast hung by the door each morning! Nice touch and allowed us to relax in the morning, which was the goal of our trip. The beds and linens were very comfortable, robes provided were the softest of any hotel I've stayed at in the past. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the sidewalk cafe/bar were a nice place to have a drink in the afternoon. The hotel even provides an iPad in the lobby with Wi-Fi for convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Large and quiet room, very comfortable bed and luxurious linens. Good air conditioning. Friendly staff. Breakfast across the street worked out well. Close to good restaurants and walking distance to museums.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the time we entered the lobby this hotel ticked all the boxes for me. The lobby decor is beautiful, stone wall, fireplace, with coffee/tea, muffins, croissants, and fruit available. The front desk staff are very friendly and spoke very good english. The room decor did not disappoint either, our room was not large but big enough, with a keurig and coffee and green tea. However, my husband drinks orange pekoe or english breakfast tea neither of which was available for the keurig, this was disappointing when we sat down to enjoy our breakfast bag. They provided glass stemware (a must in a good hotel for me), mugs, and small plates in the room to be used with your breakfast bag as well. The breakfast bag is an awesome idea, as others have said it is placed outside your door at 7am on a hook. The first morning we had two orange juice, two croissants, two muffins and two apple sauce with jam and butter. The second day it was the same but with yogurt instead of apple sauce, the breakfast bag was a perfect start to the day. The room also came equiped with very nice fulffy robes. The bathroom was very nice, beautiful large fluffy towels (another must in a good hotel for me), the shower head was large and very nice.
One of the days we stayed it rained very hard and after a few hours of walking in the rain we decided to just give in and go back to our room. We got a movie from the front desk and sat in with some wine and snacks, I thought it was a very nice touch to provide movies for such times as when the weather doesn't fit into your plans.
Overall, this hotel ticked all the boxes and we would return, we have already recommended this hotel and will continue to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

POSITIVES:

The staff were bilingual and it was easy to communicate in English, even though I wanted to practice my French. It was in a relatively good location just outside of the Old City and basically everything I wanted was within walking distance (did not take a cab or transit at all). The room prices were excellent for the amenities and the rooms seemed like they had been recently updated...very nice! The beds and pillows were very comfortable, the shower head was large and great for a hot shower after a long day, there was a mini-fridge, mini-bar (did not use), microwave, large toaster oven, bowls, utensils, mugs, cups, a Keurig machine, etc. If I was with my boyfriend, we could have easily stayed in the hotel without a regard for what was happening outside! There is English and French television, and a bedside stands that also detaches to be a breakfast tray if you'd like to eat in bed. They deliver a basic (but good) breakfast to your door at 7am, but they just hang it on the hook beside your door for you to access when you wake up. There is also free coffee/tea to make with the Keurig. Overall, a lovely stay in a beautiful city! But be sure to bring your walking shoes! Those hills are killer! :)

...and the "LESS POSITIVES":

I wish you could choose what kind of breakfast you wanted. For example, we were given vanilla and peach yogurt the one day, but I can't eat either of those. I also wish there was an option for K-cups, we had one green tea, one espresso, and one other "blend", but it would have been nice to have at least two of each so we could both have the same, if we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Quebec, in the heart of Old Quebec City, Hotel des Coutellier is one of the nicest and charming Old Port Inn. For a romantic weekend getaway, a hotel meeting, honeymoon or family vacations, one of our hotel package will fulfill your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Coutellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.