We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian "spring" weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Coutellier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Coutellier to your Saves list
Hotel des Coutellier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
50% off on 2nd night
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Canadian "spring" weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I visited Quebec City this past weekend (april 19th-20th) for our first time. We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel des Coutellier. It's a nice little hotel with friendly staff and nice accommodations. We were able to get a deal through Living Social and everything went down without a hitch. It seems that each room here is a different size and shape, we were on the 4th floor in room 402 it was a nice size with desk/chair, couch, and a chair.

We really enjoyed the added amenities, like the breakfast brought to your room, the bottle of Sparkling wine in the evening and the free movie selection! It's in a nice area for walking about the city and checking out the old city! I'd recommend bringing winter clothes in April tho :0)

My only complaint would be the added $25 a night for fee's and taxes along with an additional $10 a night for parking. I'm sure it was somewhere in the fine print, but who reads all that!

Au revoir!

Room Tip: If you want a nightcap the bar right next door has drink specials and pool table that was free when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    97
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
54
288
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this charming hotel at the beginning of the month. It's ideally located on the edge of the old city and all sights are within an easy walk. The staff, from the front desk to the room attendants, were without exception, friendly and extremely helpful. The continental breakfast, delivered to your room each morning, was filling and provided a good start to a busy day. We had a corner room so there was plenty of light. Well maintained and clean premises. Close by to some very good restaurants. Will definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: From the web site, it appears all rooms are of equal value. The corner room did provide more natura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked our stay based on the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor and it's so gratifying when all the positive reviews were spot on. If you are staying in this part of town I see no reason why you would want to stay anywhere else. It is close to anything you would want to see and if you are driving here there is cheap parking across the street for hotel guests. Although I had a car I know there were public buses running right outside the hotel which can take you to all the attractions of the city. As others have stated the breakfast bag filled with an assortment of baked goods was a nice touch for a quick bite before you start exploring the city. If you don't speak French, no problem as everyone I spoke with was fluent in English. The rooms are well appointed and clean. I wont make this review excessively long as it's all been said before. Just read all the other positive reviews and know they are correct. Unless you insist on staying at a cookie cutter chain hotel this boutique should be #1 on your list for any stay in this part of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is 5 minute walk to all the main Old Quebec attractions. The hotel is pleasantly located a short walk from the main touristic area which contributes to a more relaxing experience. Sometimes the hustle and bustle of being in a main location can provide a more hurried experience. The staff were respectful, friendly, informative, quick to fulfill requests and makes every effort to provide excellent service. From the outside, the hotel is in an unassuming old building that can easily be missed if you are driving by. The hotel reception area is small and intimate. The decor of our superior room was well planned, modern, charming, convenient and comfortable. There was attention to detail from the placement of the small bench for the purpose of putting our shoes on to the cotton pads for make up removal in the bathroom. The numerous windows gives the option for a lot of natural light in the day and the thick heavy drapes helps keep the room dark if you feel like sleeping in. The bedding and pillows were incredibly soft and comfortable. The pillows cradle our heads and necks in all the right places. This was the best sleep I've every had on vacation. If we weren't interested in seeing beautiful Quebec city, my husband and I would have slept all day. The cute breakfast bags delivered to our door enhanced the tranquility and allowed us to eat at our own time. Although, the continental breakfast was nothing outstanding, personal touches such as a morning Sudoku puzzle, a weather forecast of the day and dark chocolate hens for Easter are sweet gestures that are appreciated. Overall, a lovely and restful experience; certainly a place to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing rue st-paul and the old port market (marche du vieux-port). Early Saturday mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, Directeur général at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience of the Hotel. We are so glad that you had the best sleep ever during your vacation!
Looking forward to welcome you again for more relaxing moments! Regards,
Jean-Sebastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at this boutique hotel, located in the historic Lower Town of Quebec City. Located an easy stroll from the Via Rail station, and around 15 minutes uphill (or save the legs and catch the funicular !! ) to Upper Old Town and the spectacular Chateau Frontenac.
The breakfast bags were a novel touch, but for Aussies used to more savoury breakfasts, the croissants and muffins were a little too sweet after more than one morning.
Helpful staff, no problems with us not speaking French, booked us a tour - thank you!
The hotel was also an easy stroll to the ferry...I can highly recommend catching this across the St Lawrence ( great views and particularly stunning in winter, as the ferry -$6 return!!- rams through the ice!! ).
Attention to detail in this hotel was awesome, we used the umbrella provided, and also loved the robes!! Shower head the size of an AFL football was also bliss ( no water restrictions here! ). We also liked the Kreunig coffee machine ( although extra pods in the breakfast bag would be great - as we drank the coffee in the evenings, and then couldn't have one with breakfast ).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was one of the best things about a trip to the Quebec Winter Carnival. The accommodations are roomy, pleasant, and clean. Breakfast at our door in the morning was so enticing. The pastries were fresh and delicious. Not to mention that it is within two blocks of the Mistral Gagnant. This restaurant has a charming atmosphere, the best food, and exceptional service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in this boutique hotel just outside the walled part of "Old Quebec" for 5 days in late February 2013. It proved to be a terrific location, just across from the port, the train station and all of the walkable sights in the old city. The staff was very helpful, pleasant, and informative. The hotel was quiet with nice long range mountain views from our 3rd floor windows. We especially enjoyed the breakfast of french pastries delivered each day outside our room in an insulated sack. They included croissants, rolls, cheese, yogurt, spreads, and fruit. We also had a small Keurig coffee maker (green tea was also provided). We had no trouble getting around from this location and want to return in summer when the ferries and port are more active.

Room Tip: rooms on the street have a terrific view of the port and the ferries as well as long range mtn views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
What a sweet review! Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay with us and we look forward to this summer to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Coutellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.