We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Coutellier

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Coutellier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Coutellier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was one of the best things about a trip to the Quebec Winter Carnival. The accommodations are roomy, pleasant, and clean. Breakfast at our door in the morning was so enticing. The pastries were fresh and delicious. Not to mention that it is within two blocks of the Mistral Gagnant. This restaurant has a charming atmosphere, the best food, and exceptional service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    90
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
253
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in this boutique hotel just outside the walled part of "Old Quebec" for 5 days in late February 2013. It proved to be a terrific location, just across from the port, the train station and all of the walkable sights in the old city. The staff was very helpful, pleasant, and informative. The hotel was quiet with nice long range mountain views from our 3rd floor windows. We especially enjoyed the breakfast of french pastries delivered each day outside our room in an insulated sack. They included croissants, rolls, cheese, yogurt, spreads, and fruit. We also had a small Keurig coffee maker (green tea was also provided). We had no trouble getting around from this location and want to return in summer when the ferries and port are more active.

Room Tip: rooms on the street have a terrific view of the port and the ferries as well as long range mtn views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
What a sweet review! Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay with us and we look forward to this summer to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable, clean and in a good location. I would stay again. The breakfast was better than I expected given the reviews on this site. We had juice, fresh baked goods (two each) and either yoghurt or applesauce. There were also apples by the entrance to the hotel, which was nice. The staff was accommodating and provided decaf coffee when asked. The in-room coffee was not a dark enough roast for my partner, so he would just buy Kurig pods at the ESSO across the street. Also very convenient. There was one evening where there was noise from the next room, but not at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your visit!

We hope to welome you again soon.

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from this hotel during the carnival. The newly renovated Presidential suite was awesome with wonderful decor and comfortable beds. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast baskets were delicious! There were several good restaurants nearby. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are pleased to know that your visit was very enjoyable. Also if you have pictures of the Presidentiel suite, please add it on your review!!

We really hope the have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great place! Guess you'd call it a boutique hotel. More like a narrow, cozy apartment building rather than a hotel feel. Just outside and below the rampart wall on the east side. A short, uphill walk to the old city. Nice restaurants on St. Paul southeast of the hotel. Desk attendants were all pleasant and able to speak english. You have to go up several steps before you can access the elevator. You can drive to the front door to load/unload even though it appears you're driving on the sidewalk. Parking is across the street in a commuter lot at $10/day - good til 4pm on the day you leave. Lot is tight in places, especially since there was about 12 inches of snow over three days. Very clean room - again - more of an apartment feel than hotel room. Room was at back of hotel - very quiet - other than the snow plows on the street below. Bed was great! No problem with room at all. Only drawback (although this may be the way boutique hotels operate) is they have robes and umbrella with hotel name which you can take for a fee. $100 for a robe and $32 for the umbrella. We didn't want anything but it seems to me it could be a point of contention if the hotel said you did. We were fine and I'm probably just being overcautious but I hate potential "loose ends" like that which I don't have any control over. No fitness center or pool or anything other than a Mac computer available in the cellar (management office area). Breakfast was unique - for us. In the morning you have a bag hanging outside your door with a continental breakfast. Croissant and muffin that were the best we've ever had (they get them from a local bakery), box of juice, jellies, butter and apple sauce or yogurt. It was great!
One thing we didn't plan on was the 15% sales tax. Not just for the hotel. That is the sales tax there - it's bonecrushing - can wreck your budget. Everything is taxed. Parking, lift tickets, you name it. We took a local bus tour at the end of our week but I'd recommend it first so you know what you'd like to check out.

Room Tip: Top (fourth) floor was nice. Don't think you can go wrong anywhere in the building though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you Mike & Kim Aiello,

I am very happy that your 30th wedding anniversary was enjoyable back to where you honeymooned!

I really hope the meet you next time you visit us! Maybe at your 40th wedding anniversary?

Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 before and after our wedding on a dogsledding trip up North. Quebec City was our gateway city, and we had all of our 15 guests stay in this hotel before the wedding, and most stayed here afterwards. The hotel staff was spectacular. For months before I was emailing on a weekly basis with updates to rooms, dates, occupants, and they tracked everything with no problems, even catching some mistakes I had made. When a huge snowstorm hit the day of arrival, the hotel had no problems with two last minute cancellations that were made due to flight delays/cancellations. We had two guests combine rooms to save money and again the hotel had no problem at all, and didn't charge anything. We had a great rate for our guests, and everyone loved the little breakfast at the door. It was wonderful to have some great little pastries/yogurt and not have to get dressed and march downstairs to do it. Quebec City is full of great restaurants, you don't want to waste a meal on a large hotel breakfast, so small continental breakfast was perfect.

They upgraded us to the Presidential Suite room for free after our wedding (which, although not really a suite with extra rooms or kitchen, was beautiful with a large seating area perfect for having our guests hang out with us). The bed is extraordinary- high quality sheets and down pillows and comforter, great mattress. The maids were exceptionally thorough and the room was immaculate. Nice deep spa bath and separate shower. The regular room also had a great deep bath and bed. The decor was simple and pleasing, with quality materials.

They also upgraded four of our guests for free, just 'cause.

We were in room 407 and 403, both lovely. One room had a view of the city walls, the other of the port. Both were nice.

Its a quick walk to the lower downtown area and funicular, and a 10min walk up a hill to the other main downtown area.

Parking was across the street, unlimited in and out in an open lot. Self-park. Easy to access your car at any time. Very easy and only $10. Free wifi, although limited to three devices per room. Nice little sitting area in the lobby with an ipad you can use.

Staff was so helpful and polite...even with our large and changing party. They stored luggage for 17 people for us for three days while we were dogsledding, which was awesome. Even tracked us down with a charger one of our guests left behind.

Great bar right next door, and lots of nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: We were in room 407 and 403, both lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for this exeptional review...I will print it and hang it on the staff board for everybody to read it!
We are so pleased that you and your guests enjoyed the hotel and the city. We really hope to have the honnor to welcome you again soon.
Congratulation on your wedding, we wish you joy and hapinnes!
Jean-Sébastien Pagé and all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Staffs are very good. Location is good. Breakfast was awesome. I definitely recommend this hotel. I will be back. My room was so nice that I will never forget this hotel. They have nice fitness center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Sebastien_Page, General Manager at Hotel des Coutellier, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review on your recent stay at Hôtel des Coutellier. We look forward to serve you again soon and we are happy to consider you among our distinguished customers.
Jean-Sébastien Pagé
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel des Coutellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Coutellier

Address: 253 rue St-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Coutellier 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel des Coutellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Coutellier Hotel
Des Coutellier Quebec City
Hotel Des Coutellier Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Coutellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.