We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palace Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Royal
775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Charming Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

The Hotel Palace Royal proved to be a good thing for a week long stay in Quebec City ~ it's all very charming (the hotel, the city, the people).
The hotel is truly in an excellent location; within easy walking distance of everything and proving no trouble for my 7 and 9 year old children.
The indoor pool was a highlight; there was even a lifeguard staffed throughout the day.
Hotel staff were always pleasant and very helpful.
Meals are expensive in Quebec City. We enjoyed buying fresh breads and cheeses in lieu of eating out all the time.
We had no problems with Hotel Palace Royal but would liked to have had a microwave in the room (as earlier posts had indicated). The small fridge did come in handy.
Quebec City is a wonderful destination; reminds me of traveling through France. We rented a car for one day, to sightsee beyond the city, seeing the falls and Ile d' Orleans. Don't miss Montmorency Falls, it's a sight to be seen.
Happy travels!

  • Liked — Classy setting and atmosphere; indoor pool; great location.
  • Tips/Secrets — Have fun!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    129
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
117
87
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

The Palace Royal was one of several options for my conference at the Centre des Congres (Convention Center) across the street and one block up hill. It is also immediately outside the St. Jean Gate of the Old City (Vieux Quebec) and could not be better located. The outside of the building is modern (an unfortunate but not unique visual disruption of the wonderful fantasy that is Old Quebec) but the inside is elegant and overall tasteful and charming. We loved our room! It consisted of a living room and little but usable balcony overlooking the interior atrium (see photos) complete with a dorm-size fridge (you-fill-it, it's not a mini-bar prestocked with overpriced peanuts and Coke) what looked like a regular upholstered chair that turned out to be a comfy rocker, and a couch which I believe was a hide-a-bed, a desk, and TV. We also had a small separate bedroom, queen bed, with its own TV and a window overlooking the street below. The bathroom included a granite-topped vanity in one room and a toilet and deep commodious bathtub in the other. The hot water is instant, temperature control is effective, and the housekeeping is very good. Our room was the quietest, in terms of neighbor-noise, I've ever stayed in. In the living room we could hear the Musak-like music in the atrium but it was by no means intrusive.

Meals in the restaurant are expensive (as everywhere in Old Quebec!) but good. Breakfasts are incredibly huge. I ordered the so-called extra fruit, expecting to get a small side-order. Instead for $2.50 Canadian, I got a monster platter of gorgeous cut fruit - keep an eye out for the cerise de terre, a little bright yellow cherry-sized fruit with no pit. I don't know what it is in English, but it's delightful. For a smaller, cheaper breakfast, head across the Place d'Youville behind the hotel to the Tribune Cafe. The muffins are huge there too, and very good as is the cafe au lait (essentially a latte).

There are two computers in an out-of-the-way corner of the reception area. You buy a 20 minute or 1-hour password and can log in and out as often as you like. The timer tells you how much time you have left on your account. Expect a French keyboard, however, the @ sign is an alternate-2, and I never did find anything resembling a question mark. I never had to wait to get on a computer even though the hotel was full of business guests there for various conferences.

I did have one very serious problem, however, and that is two colleagues in two separate offices tried to reach me by phone, and, in both cases, failing that, to leave me a message. Neither was able to get through. One kept getting connected to the wrong room; the other's call kept going back to the operator, not to voice-mail. Both left messages with the operator, and I got neither message, even after inquiring at the front desk. My recommendation is, if you're expecting your office or family to call, give them your room number, it should be easier for the operator to forward the call or deliver a message properly. On the other hand, it's perfect for an incognito get-away, nobody could ever find you.

We didn't try the pool, spa or sauna. We used the self-park garage under the building. If you have an intermediate car or bigger, maneuvering into it is tight, but the spaces are big and it feels perfectly safe even several stories underground. There is no gift shop (but the shopping in the rest of Old Quebec is magnifique!). There is a Jac et Gil (or is it Gil et Jac?) next to the Tribune Café if you need a soda or a piece of maple candy.

Speaking of location, it is unbelievably easy to drive out of this hotel right onto the highway to such wonderful exurban attractions as the Ile d’Orleans, the Basilica of Ste. Anne, Montmorency Falls, and Cap Tourment Nature Preserve – all highly worthwhile side-trips. Have fun!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Never got two important incoming calls/messages
  • Tips/Secrets — Give family and office your room number to get through to you
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

We stayed two nights in a standard room on the 4th floor with outside view on a family trip and loved it. The location was wonderful, room was clean and the staff provided assistance when asked. What made this excellent rather than just great was the easy access to the tropical pool. Being able to order food/drink by the pool was just fun. The microwave and fridge were suprisingly useful. All other ammenities you'd expect from a nice hotel are there (concierge, restaurant, safe parking, etc..). Often I've found hotel pools small, dark or not really well maintained but here they was a commitment to make it a usuable ammenity.

Location was great mid way between the plains and lowertown. I recommend this hightown location just outside the wall for any tourist. Ammenities are also more than sufficient so I'll try to stay here during my next business trip to the city.

The only downside is the price if the standard rooms are booked. We booked mid-week because the weekend rooms available were 80$ more a night.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEK, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

I chose this hotel after reading reviews from tripadvisor website and forum replies. I traveled with two families with young children, ages 1 year through 8 years of age (I should mention that if you are traveling with young children it is easy enough to manuever through the city with a stroller). Prior to our arrival the hotel personally contacted us to confirm our stay. With that encounter I had great expectations of the hotel.

The hotel is beautiful and in a very good, convenient location. It has a parking lot that charges $15 per day (we stayed Sunday thru Tuesday) with in and out priviledges. I was a little dissappointed with the staff. With the appearance of the hotel I expected great service- overall, the service was just okay. The hotel had a major problem on Tuesday morning and the fire alarm went off for one hour at a VERY early time and the elevators only ran manually (with a staff person escort) for all the guests checking out that morning. We hauled our children and luggage down 7 flights of stairs, with little difficulty- though it seemed many chose not to do so. I certainly don't point the finger for blame, however, no apologizes were made. I did ask if we would be compensated for the inconvenience and the desk clerk said that we would receive a letter in the mail in a week.

We would stay at this hotel again at the price that we paid. It was next to two major hotels (Marriot and I can't remember the other) and it clearly had more aesthetic appeal and character. The rooms were comfortable (basic ammenities, hair dryer, refridgerator), ample parking, and location was great for us. The kids loved the pool and the public areas of the hotel were visually appealing.

  • Liked — Location, convenience, pool
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Book online at jaro site for best price
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

Just returned from 3 night stay at Hotel Palace Royal (end of July 2006). Would NOT stay here again. The best thing about this hotel is location (just outside the walled city) and that it is within walking distance to many other attractions. There were problems with the elevators, no posted fire exit plans, and the staff we asked for information did not seem to know some things about the city (ex. there is a quaint park with a small man made waterfall, seating area and beautiful flowers nearby... no one seemed to know about it. We found it on our own about 3 blocks away). There was an extra charge for absolutely everything. Although our room had a very small refrigerator (holds about 6 cans/bottles) and a microwave, bring your own utensils, plates/bowls, cups and napkins should you want to have a meal or snack.

  • Liked — location to Old Quebec
  • Disliked — value for the money
  • Tips/Secrets — select another hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2006

We booked this hotel for 4 nights after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. This hotel is in a great spot -- within walking distance of everything !! We were travelling with a 9 year old so we wanted to be close to all amenities but still have a hotel with a pool. This one certainly fit the bill. We found the price cheaper by booking on-line through the hotel website than to book over the phone. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant so cannot comment. The child's meal for dinner there was $12. We did however eat down the street (Rue Ste Jean) at Il Teatro -- best beef fillet we had ever had !! The cost for a child's meal there was $7 for a chicken breast fillet, vegetable, fries, drink and chocolate cake. The peppercorn beef fillet, potatoe, & grilled vegetables there was $29 and well worth it. A great place to have breakfast was L'Oeuforie (across the street) or for the best french toast go to Le Petit Coin du Breton.

We visited a tourist information place on the border between Ontario and Quebec and received a great deal of information. The advisor told us exactly how to get to where we were going and recommended visiting the Citadelle at 10 am to see the changing of the guard. We also wanted to see Le Parc de la Chute Montmorency (Falls) so she recommended going on Wednesday night when they were having a fireworks competition. Great advice !!

We also went to Chez Marie, the bakery one of the trip advisor forum members recommended. We were a bit disappointed here. We received a cool reception -- bought the bread and asked if it was made in the outdoor oven. She said it was. Okay.... That was it. We took pictures and were on our merry way. One stop we made on this route (Route de la Nouvelle France) was at the Sucre d'Art. The lady there who spoke both English & French explained the whole maple syrup making process and we got to sample various maple products -- jelly, butter, syrup, etc etc. She was very friendly and this was worth the stop. All in all -- great trip -- we would definately go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#39 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.