We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well priced, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palace Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Royal
775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“well priced, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

three nights for business and a bit of pleasure... The staff at this hotel were excellent. Attention to detail in rooms, check in and restaurants. The meals in the restaurants were excellent! Priced very reasonable for location. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    117
    44
    12
    7
See reviews for
114
80
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
621 reviews 621 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located just outside Porte St - Jean and only 10 minutes from all the shopping and restaurants. The staff is very attentive and there for you if you need anything. Eric at the front desk was very professional and helpful.

The elevators are very fast in comparison to other hotels in the area and quite big. The rooms have a retro feel but at the same time, very modern and updated. The beds are very comfortable and pretty big considering other hotels on the area. All rooms have a fridge, coffee maker and a microwave.

The atrium is also pretty spectacular with little balconies all around it looking down on the courtyard and the gorgeous pool at the bottom. A great option if you want to stay close to the city!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was supposed to be family friendly, but if you dont want to swim in the very noisy and crowded pool, there is nothing else to do, not even a play room...the only good part was the "magician".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarenville, NL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Loved my recent stay at this hotel for the Quebec Winter Carnival. The place was beautiful! Rooms were clean and well-appointed, pool was great. Also, the in-hotel store was a nice addition when travelling with children. The location was steps away from everything Old Quebec City had to offer. Would stay here again for sure. Merci Beaucoup!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Palace Royal for four nights while my husband was here on business in Quebec City for work. The location is fabulous and steps away from the walls to Quebec. Easy access to all of the local 'sightseeing' destinations.

We stayed in one of the queen suites (which had a view of the walls to old Quebec). The room was a very decent size with queen bed, queen sofa pull out, easy chair, separate dining area and desk. The washroom was large with a separate toilet area; adjustable shower height; and nice makeup station. Other room amenities included a mini fridge, microwave, counter, sink, coffee/tea; and safe. This hotel was absolutely spotless - - constantly saw employees maintaining every inch. Rooms were kept very clean.

The pool is on the cooler side (so I suggest jumping in there first) - the hot tub was very relaxing after a busy day walking the streets of Quebec City.

Would strongly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The inside rooms all have views of the pool area. We had an exterior room but were not bothered by n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Palace Royal for three nights while in Quebec City for work and I was pleasantly surprised by the experience. I was given a very large room with separate living room and bedroom, and the room was equipped with a mini bar including a fridge, microwave, counter, sink.

The room was very clean, well equipped and properly maintained. I liked the quiet aspect of the room as well as the blackout curtains both in the living room and bedroom areas. The hotel was conveniently located right near the Rue St. Jean entrance to Old Quebec, and within minutes of great restaurants and shopping.

The staff was very helpful, quick to respond to a request and informative. I will surely be staying at the Palace Royal again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on vacation about a year ago. The location as everyone notes is excellent, a short walk to the old city, provincial legislature, and all the major quebec city tourist attractions. We didnt try the restaurant, but the menu and prices seemed in line with other places in the neighbourhood.

The decor and furniture in this place is very charming, bed was comfy, bathroom was good size and everything worked well. The room we had was good size even with a rather large desk situated awkwardly just past the room entrance at the foot of the bed. The staff we encountered were all very helpful, the cleaning staff do a good job, and although we didnt try it the pool area looked interesting.

We stayed here 3 nights and so got a decent rate compared to the other more expensive hotels in the same area. We will recommend this place in the future to our friends who plan on visiting this charming city with nice people and great history.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#39 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.