We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky decor, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palace Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Royal
775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Tacky decor, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Palace Royal is in an amazing location, easily walkable into old Quebec. Rooms are spacious and clean. However the completely dated tacky décor is a bit laughable. If they renovate to modern standards, this place will be unbeatable.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the city rather than into the pool atrium if you want to be able to see ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    129
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
117
87
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel. The staff were friendly, and hotel was clean! The pool area is very pretty. We wish we would have got one of the rooms overlooking the pool. Nice location. Sits right outside the wall but still very walk able to every where without the price of the hotels located within the wall. The pool was nice with a jacuzzi but small for the size of the hotel. Not alot of room to play for the kids, more of an "adult" pool but they did have balls available which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our first trip to old Quebec City and we chose this location based on price and location and we were extremely satisfied with our stay. The hotel itself was very nice, clean and comfortable. It is in a great location, just outside the gate to the old city, close to lots of restaurants and shops. We loved how the pool and hot tub were in a courtyard with balconies from certain rooms to view the pool. There was also a balcony on each floor for people to sit if their rooms were not pool side. We found the hotel to be very quiet and staff very pleasant. Would return to this location and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been staying at the Palace Royal for years ! It has a great location if you feel like experiencing old Quebec or if you are participating at a convention at the convention center.
It is just 1-2 blocks away from great shops, restaurants and even convience stores.
Parking is not that expensive compared to other places and you have easy access (unlimited in and out) to your vehicule. The only thing about this great place is the decor. the old victorian atmosphere is starting to look outdated.

Room Tip: Rooms (suites) with seperate bath and sink are great when you are 3 or 4 guests. Ask for a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed the stay very much, the location is great - a stones throw from St John's Gate.
The room was overlooking the street and my daughter loved looking out at all the the buses passing. I thought it would be too noisy with all the traffic but did not find it like that at all. The room had a separate living room area allowing us to watch TV / relax when our daughter went to bed.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I went to this hotel back in July along with our 2 young kids (ages 3 years and 4 months). We were there for 2 nights while we visited the city of Quebec.

Overall our experience in Quebec was very good. We loved the old city and the location of the hotel. However our experience with the hotel was very poor.

Initially, everything looks beautiful inside of the lobby and pool area. Although when checking in I requested an infant crib which was an extra $10 per night. I also asked for a pool view however the pool views were also an extra $10 per night. I took the crib however I was getting annoyed at their cheap attitude to simple requests.

We then got into our room and there were found a lot of finishing details incomplete (floor boards, wallpaper, etc.). At first these were not a problem however the air conditioning inside of the room was not working and when inquired at the front desk, they seemed annoyed that I was bothering them. They did send maintenance however they failed to fix the problem and then when I asked for a room changed the front desk again seemed annoyed by my request but did reassign us to a new room with working air conditioning.

The next morning we noticed drilling noises from a neighboring room or floor however this was not a problem as we left early for sightseeing. The next morning however we stayed in the room a bit longer and the construction noises were much more annoying. This finally pushed me to request a meeting with the manager during our checkout. The manager was not in at the time and I spoke to the assistant manager who logged a complaint however I also requested a call from the main manager when they were available. I never received a call back which further confirmed their lack of customer service and hospitality.

Overall my biggest issue with this hotel was their lack of customer service. I was not being difficult and yet they acted very annoyed with my requests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I often stay at Palace Royal when visiting Quebec city. It was our first experience with a child. We love the rooms (always clean and confortable), the location is ideal to visit the town or to get around (as it is just by the highway). However, every time we feel like this hotel is being let down by the staff during breakfast. This time around, we first had a waitress who clearly indicated, straight after saying hello, that we were better to order one of the specials and to keep in mind service wasn't included. She gave us a shooter of juice (was gone in 2 zips), never cared about our child and didn't know how to smile. She ran after customers in the hallway to get her tip (which she didn't deserve), including ourselves when we were ready to leave to give us a blank copy to add tip to the room (not that we wanted to give her any). The next day, we had a lazy waiter who took an hour to bring us our orders. And we were with a one year old child! Next time we might just go out somewhere else to have breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#39 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.