We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palace Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 105 Hotels in Quebec City
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Nice hotel and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed the stay very much, the location is great - a stones throw from St John's Gate.
The room was overlooking the street and my daughter loved looking out at all the the buses passing. I thought it would be too noisy with all the traffic but did not find it like that at all. The room had a separate living room area allowing us to watch TV / relax when our daughter went to bed.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I went to this hotel back in July along with our 2 young kids (ages 3 years and 4 months). We were there for 2 nights while we visited the city of Quebec.

Overall our experience in Quebec was very good. We loved the old city and the location of the hotel. However our experience with the hotel was very poor.

Initially, everything looks beautiful inside of the lobby and pool area. Although when checking in I requested an infant crib which was an extra $10 per night. I also asked for a pool view however the pool views were also an extra $10 per night. I took the crib however I was getting annoyed at their cheap attitude to simple requests.

We then got into our room and there were found a lot of finishing details incomplete (floor boards, wallpaper, etc.). At first these were not a problem however the air conditioning inside of the room was not working and when inquired at the front desk, they seemed annoyed that I was bothering them. They did send maintenance however they failed to fix the problem and then when I asked for a room changed the front desk again seemed annoyed by my request but did reassign us to a new room with working air conditioning.

The next morning we noticed drilling noises from a neighboring room or floor however this was not a problem as we left early for sightseeing. The next morning however we stayed in the room a bit longer and the construction noises were much more annoying. This finally pushed me to request a meeting with the manager during our checkout. The manager was not in at the time and I spoke to the assistant manager who logged a complaint however I also requested a call from the main manager when they were available. I never received a call back which further confirmed their lack of customer service and hospitality.

Overall my biggest issue with this hotel was their lack of customer service. I was not being difficult and yet they acted very annoyed with my requests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I often stay at Palace Royal when visiting Quebec city. It was our first experience with a child. We love the rooms (always clean and confortable), the location is ideal to visit the town or to get around (as it is just by the highway). However, every time we feel like this hotel is being let down by the staff during breakfast. This time around, we first had a waitress who clearly indicated, straight after saying hello, that we were better to order one of the specials and to keep in mind service wasn't included. She gave us a shooter of juice (was gone in 2 zips), never cared about our child and didn't know how to smile. She ran after customers in the hallway to get her tip (which she didn't deserve), including ourselves when we were ready to leave to give us a blank copy to add tip to the room (not that we wanted to give her any). The next day, we had a lazy waiter who took an hour to bring us our orders. And we were with a one year old child! Next time we might just go out somewhere else to have breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyrayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Palace Royal is a great hotel for families with children. Not only are the rooms very spacious, but there is a really nice indoor pool that kids will love. If you happen to get an "interior" room then you would actually have a balcony that directly overlooks the pool in the center of the hotel. The positive with these rooms is that it is a nice balcony to have breakfast on or watch the pool below. The only negative is that there is a slight scent of chlorine in these rooms.

If you happen to have an outside room then you will have a floor to ceiling window that overlooks Quebec city. I stayed in room 709 and it was a general suite. There was a very comfortable (memory foam) Queen size bed and a double pull out couch in a separate living room that is divided by double doors. The pull out couch is not the most comfortable, but it would work well for kids.

The room is clean and the decor is fine. Nothing too special, but certainly not bad in any way. There is a tv in both the bedroom and living room which is nice so that if you are staying with others you can watch something different at night.

The hotel is only 1.5 blocks from the wall of the old city. This provides great access to all the shopping and tourists sites you can imagine. Restaurants, souvenir shops, clothing shops are all literally just steps away from this hotel, but since it is 'outside' the wall, you get this access for a bit of a cheaper price.

Be sure to check their 'specials' often as they tend to have sales and discounts for their rooms.

Overall I am very satisfied with this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elecis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location to the old city and decent place however I'm not sure how they can say they are a 4 star hotel-must be the metric system? Place needs a makeover and have not seen sliding glass shower doors for 20 years. The soap dispensers make it look more travel lodge than fairmont. However place was clean and beds comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haywoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The smell of chlorine from the central indoor pool tends to let its presence known. The atrium rooms overlook the pool, more traditional ones the surrounding streets. Two days on Quebec is enough to see it. The hotel is in a good location a couple of blocks fgom the parliament and 15 min walk from the station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 4 days there at the end of July and found the location just perfect, just outside the old city on the Rue St Jean. Everything was a maximum of 15 walk away. The Hotel is under renovation and in general is in good condition.

We had a suite on the 3rd floor and found it spacious, comfortable and with all the necessary amenities. However it could have done with a serious touch up as it was looking a little tired. All suited overlook the atrium pool and have a small balcony. We were a bit too close to the action and could touched the bathers heads!

Noise can be an issue you need to be careful with room selection if you want peace and quiet. The daytime noise from the pool especially with all the kids playing - can be a nuisance and as a result we never the used the balcony. Having said that, many balconies were constantly in use so some must find this attractive. In winter it would probably be quite quaint. On the other side we were far enough away from the Place D'Youville and its nightly music.

The service ranged from top drawer to total disinterest but overall was quite good. For example when we first asked how we could purchase Celine Dion tickets, we were told to look it up on the internet! On the next day we tried again and that concierge walked us outside and pointed out a ticket vendor down the road

We availed ourself of the breakfast package and frankly that is not a good option as it is not a buffet but more of a breakfast "blue plate special" The money can be applied as a credit to other items on the menu so all was not lost. There are many really nice alternatives in the neighborhood which would have been good to try.

Overall a stately old dame which left us with a good feeling. We would definitely go back but would check out the noise issue thoroughly beforehand
The building is old but

Room Tip: Request rooms away from noise sources - pool and Place D'Youville - should you require peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#37 of 105 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#65 of 105 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#32 of 105 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 105 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#31 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Capitole
Hotel du Capitole
#46 of 105 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing