We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located in Old Quebec City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palace Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 105 Hotels in Quebec City
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well located in Old Quebec City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Palace Royal for one night on December 31th. Its still a nice hôtel, we been there at least 5 or 6 times during the last few years. The suite are large (2 rooms), comfortable and well equiped for around 200$/night. It's a well kept establisment but it would need to be "refreshed" a bit. When we arrived, there was free hot coffee and coco in the lobby. Interior parking is available at a cost but you can forget the car for the rest of your stay! The Beffroi Steak House Restaurant is convinient but expensive for what it offers. There are better restaurant in Quebec City.
The hotel is well located near Le Capitol Theatre, the ice rink of Place d'Youville and the Porte St-Jean and St-jean street with all the boutiques and restaurants and at a walkable distance from Chateau Frontenac and others. Overall, a good place to stay in the old city!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyPierre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our experience in an outside room (1025 - great views) was perfect. It was a family room that could have squeezed 6 (we were 4) I am a light sleeper so didn't want an inside room - we just used the public pool areas if we wanted to be in the Atrium.
We had a couple non-hotel issues (car needed boost, etc..) - hotel was very helpful with all our issues.

The work out room could have a better location or view. The hot tub was on the cool side.
We ate at the steak resto and liked it too. We were here to be downtown and drive to skiing and we got want we wanted and these minor issues don't deserve a downgrade.

Feel free to email me with any specific questions.

Room Tip: Higher floor and outside room if you want a view of old Quebec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Palace Royal for one night in december. We choose this hotel for his "family side" and we had really bad surprises...

-we had our room at 4:30 pm
-our room was not clean (the cleaning lady told us that there was a bad smell)
-they give us a simple room instead of a suite (we paid for a suite)
-they give us back our room with a 20$ discount and a 15$ free breakfast (still with the bad smell)
-we didn't have access to the restaurant because the hotel host some christmas partys so, all the restaurant was already reserved
-the really LOUD music (christmas party) was turn off at 2am!!!!!! I just want to remember you here that this is suppose to be a FAMILY HOTEL.
-3 weeks after our complain we just received a gift certificate (to spend at their hotel) worth 50$ and by the way we already spend 300$ there for a night!!!!!

Very disappointing.

No chance for us to return spending our money in this hotel, or other Jaro hotel. Sad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isabro198111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed here twice both times in the Royal Honeymoon Suite. The room is beautiful and large with great veiws. The hotel is beautiful, are room was gorgeous. However, we always leave fealing unsatisfied. The location for us is not ideal but it is close to La Place Capitol - it really depends on what you are looking for. The bar in the hotel is a bland atmosphere and the service is poor.
We can't really say why we were not satisfied - we have stayed at many hotels in Quebec City with lesser quality rooms and left feeling more satified. It's missing something and for over $600 a night we should have left feeling great.
I think if you have little kids it might be different as it certainly has a nice pool area.

Room Tip: Spend the money on the Honeymoon Suite if you can for a good veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theitinerants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for at least 4 years each winter holiday, as a family with fairly young children until mid teens as time progressed.

Overall we've always had good experiences with the Palace. The pool and courtyard deck is very nice, and absolutely perfect for young children after a day at the slopes or even just spending it outside in the cold in the city. It can get quite crowded, especially as it gets closer to New Years, as it does in the rest of the hotel. Because of that, it does get very, very loud during the late evenings, even after the pool is closed since many people with inside-facing rooms keep their balcony doors open while drinking (yikes, not safe!), and while watching tv, etc. which can build up to quite a bit.

Rooms are nice, though nothing special, and all amenities are available. Location is great!

Room Tip: Reserve an outside-facing room if possible to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Young_traveler212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in Quebec City for a couple of nights in July 2012. It was during festival season so we were lucky to find a room in this nice hotel. We had a corner room with a King bed and pull out sofa (there was 4 of us). We found the location fantastic! It was just outside the wall which was close to everything we needed which was within walking distance.
Parking was expensive and we didn't eat in the restaurants at the hotel because we were always somewhere else at meal times. There was a great bakery just down the street and a small grocery store where you could pick up fruit, etc. The indoor pool was great! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First of all, I don't consider to have amazing services during my stay at Palace Royale. Already at check-in, you don't have this feeling that you are welcomed. Considering the fact that it is a four star hotel, I think they can hire more enthousiastic staff to receive their guests.
In the guest room, no bathrobes were found and you need to call reception in order to get one. The problem is that it is clearly written in their guest book that they are provided in the room.
The fitness room has older treadmills. They were not calibated and I think they bought them from an antique store (1980?). Furthermore, no towels were anywhere found near the gym; you have to get all the way to the pool and ask the attendant (who btw responded rigidly: "over there").
Last but not least, the whirpool was 3/4 filled by 8 PM. The water was somewhat cold, and noone seemed to care filling it up.
Those little details DO matter to travelers and this hotel has a lot to improve.
Overall, it did not meet my expectations and having done quite a few 4 star hotels around the world, I would rate my stay a 6/10.
I will unfortunately not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChangMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#36 of 105 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#64 of 105 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 105 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#28 of 105 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#37 of 105 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing