We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay while in Quebec City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison du Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison du Fort
Save Saved
You added Maison du Fort to your Saves list
21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The place to stay while in Quebec City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at Maison du Fort from Oct 12th to Oct 16th in room #10 (along with our friends who stayed in room #6). We were absolutely thrilled with how beautiful our room was....the stone and brick walls are gorgeous. We loved having our own little sitting area as well....so comfortable and charming. Not only was our room impeccably clean... the entire hotel was. We do not have one negative thing to say about Maison du Fort. The owner Marielle is an absolute delight (love her "sing song" voice) and she is a pleasure to speak with. The gentleman who works with Marielle was lovely to speak to as well (even though he was busy keeping the hotel pristine....he made the time to talk to us)...so sweet. The hotel is close to "everything"....restaurants, the boardwalk, shops, museums...whatever would make your visit to Quebec City memorable...Maison du Fort is close to. Thank you Marielle for helping make our stay in Quebec City so memorable. The charm and character of Maison du Fort added to our Fantastic experience in Quebec City....We'll definitely stay here during our "next" visit to QC :)

Room Tip: Room #10 is a large, bright room with a charming sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    45
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
264
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wdesmoines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our trip was in early September.
Lovely place to stay, well-appointed rooms with great view (Rm 10) and convenient to
restaurants, attractions, all within walking distance. Very clean and pristine.
Marielle was most helpful and added to the enjoyment of our trip.
Can' t do better than Maison du Fort. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watrous, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my two girlfriends Sept.25-30 and it was perfect! Marielle provided a very warm and welcoming atmosphere and went out of her way to be helpful! The property is spotless. I have never stayed in such immaculate accommodation. We stayed in room #6, it was very pretty with lots of charm and plenty of room. The location is fantastic, minutes away from the boardwalk and the Chateau Frontenac. I would highly recommend staying at the Maison du Fort. It was fantastic!! Thank you again, Marielle, you helped make our girls trip a very memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in room #1 for 2 nights. One block from the boardwalk, nice view, clean room, small bathroom but functional. Well maintained, a lot of character (windows, molding, wooden fireplace..)

Owner is friendly. We would definitely recommend the hotel, we enjoyed our stay at Maison du Fort !

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle R, Owner at Maison du Fort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the time you took posting this review. I am pleased to read that you found Maison du Fort clean and comfortable.
Hope I can welcome you back soon.

Marielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so excited to return to Maison du Fort. Our first visit was in 2008. Marielle is just the most gracious host - so friendly, so helpful and so knowledgeable about landmarks and activities. She is the perfect ambassador for Quebec City. Since our last visit, air- conditioning has been added. That was a good thing because the temperature was much warmer this September. The walk-in shower in our bathroom had been updated. Our room was once again spotless and the linens were wonderful. We enjoy the coffee and homemade muffins and/or breads made every day. There are also juices and there is always a bowl of apples in the breakfast room. Great location on a quiet side street near rue Ste. Louis, Dufferin Terrace, Chateau Frontenac, the Citadelle and a little park hidden away on Ste. Denis. Perfect location to visit both the Lower Town and Upper Town.

Maison du Fort consistently gets the highest ratings on TripAdvisor. That does not been it is the ideal place for everyone. I'm going to paraphrase the ending of my review from 2008.
If you are more comfortable in a large, chain hotel, want a trendy boutique hotel, want a full breakfast included in the price of your room, then this would not be the place for you. But if you enjoy staying in small, homey, well-run hotels on quiet streets, like buildings circa 1850, windows that open, then I think you’d search a long while before you could find a place to equal the Maison du Fort. Be advised, though, that most of these older hotels have lots of stairs,and they aren’t all equipped with elevators. For us, this wasn’t a problem. For some of you, it might be a consideration. Check out the website before booking. See the list of amenities. Look at the pictures of the rooms. Some of them may be kind of small for two people with lots of luggage. Call Marielle or send an email if you have questions before you book a room. We will be back. We have no desire to try out new hotels or even a different room in Hotel Maison du Fort. For us, it is “home” in Quebec City.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 both times. The room is decorated in blue toile and we enjoy our little breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second time here, Mariel is the most gracious hostess! The place is situated in a very good location, near restaurants, Hotel Frontenac, the Fort (hence the name) and the heart of the town. We love staying here!

Room Tip: stayy on the lower numbered floors to save the walking up steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielle R, Owner at Maison du Fort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bonjour

I am delighted with your review. It tis always grateful for us reading that guests loves the location . You are right everything like restaurants and attractions are so close by. Hope I will welcome you soon for your third stay at Maison du Fort.

Marielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic location, charming and spotless facilities and a warm, welcoming, helpful proprietor. This beautiful small hotel has it all. Can't wait to come back! Quebec City has so much to offer and Maison du Fort is the perfect home base for a visit.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermes, Owner at Maison du Fort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear P J

Thank you to have taken time to share your comments following your stay at Maison du Fort. I am delighted you enjoy your visit. Hope you will be back soon.

Marielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Château Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillargé, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison du Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.