We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison du Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison du Fort
Save
You added Maison du Fort to your Saves list
21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New website
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Marvelous B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The proprietor, the B&B itself and the location couldn't have been more perfect! Saint Genevieve street is just minutes from the Chateau Frontenac, from the Citadelle and from the St. Lawrence River overlook, and is in a lovely neighborhood of old (1800's) buildings. Room was comfy and plush, and Marielle (owner) was welcoming and very helpful. Love this place and the kitty-inspired touches! Heidi K.

Room Tip: Book very early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    45
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
267
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent Columbus Day weekend in Quebec. We absolutely loved this hotel/B &B hybrid! Marielle was such a gracious host. She was so helpful and gave great suggestions! She's also a wonderful baker- every morning we woke up wondering what delicious baked goods she would put out.

We stayed in room 1 which was on the first floor. The room was a perfect size, with beautiful bay windows and an updated bathroom.

I'm so glad we chose the Hotel Maison du Fort! It thoroughly enhanced our Quebec experience and complimented the city's beauty and charm. We hope to come back soon and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I found this B&B on the internet and thought the #2 rating in all of Quebec City was a good sign and it was!! We just came back from a long weekend away and we found our new favorite place to stay in Old Quebec. We stayed in room 11 as there were 4 of us...2 adults, 2 kids.. (there was one other room that could accomodate 4 people but it was booked) and it was up on the top floor. So if you have problems walking, don't book this room as there were about 3 flights of stairs to climb but for us it was perfectly fine. Room 11 is on a floor all by itself so it's very private and very quiet, we didn't hear the rooms on the other floors being cleaned in the morning. It's like an apartment with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, a sink in one of the bedrooms and a kitchen.
Marielle is the owner and such a warm, inviting and knowledgeable person! We will stay here again largely because of her!
Breakfasts consisted of tea, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, pastries, muffins, etc. We enjoyed the breakfasts and it was just enough for us so that we didn't have to eat all 3 meals at restaurants.
The location of the B&B was perfect too. You are steps away from the Chateau Frontenac, a nice park and all the shops and restaurants were within a short walk.
We will be back and I highly recommend Maison du Fort!! We miss it already!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at Maison du Fort for two nights, one night in room 8, and second night in room 10. First of all, Marielle was the most welcoming host! Maison du Fort is very charming and located very conveniently. Room 8 was adorable, extremely tiny (exactly as shown on the website pictures).Please note that the bathroom door is a jalousie type, therefore are not solid. Word of caution: shower in that specific room does not have thermostatic mixing valves, therefore water temperature may change rapidly. It did not spoil it for us, but may be a big deal for someone. Room 10 was amazing! When we opened all the windows, all we could hear is the horse carriages passing by every a few minutes. We felt like we were in 19th century... Absolutely gorgeous room! Highly recommend!!! The only thing to keep in mind is that when any guests check out in the morning (e.g 8AM), those rooms get cleaned up right away. As true owls, we like to sleep until 9-10AM on vacation, to that was a bit of a frown for us. But if you prefer to wake up nice and early and explore this wonderful city, this would not be a problem. Regardless, the place was very charming, room 10 is definitely a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time in Quebec and found this wonderful place through Trip Advisor. My girlfriend and I were not dissapointed. Great location, quaint hotel, warm and friendly host and staff. Would definetely stay there again. Stayed in room 9. Very firm mattress, if that is not for you, ask for another room, but don't miss out on this fine establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My sister and I enjoyed a wonderful week long holiday here in mid September. We booked second floor room #6, a lovely spacious room with two comfortable beds and reclining easy chairs. It was ideal for two sisters sharing. We were delighted with the charming decoration and restoration in this historic building. This was the first visit to Old Quebec City for both of us, and Marielle's warm greeting on our late evening arrival set the tone for the whole visit. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful Marielle is, with suggestions of what to see, advising about tours and finally a very early morning taxi for us when we departed after our week long stay. As well, Marielle's brother and the cleaning staff were all so welcoming. This hotel is ideally situated, within easy walking distance to all the sights and with many excellent restaurants nearby. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if I return to Quebec City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Quebec City for our anniversary. We loved Maison du Fort. Marielle was away for a well deserved break when we arrived, but her brother was the gracious host. Room #5 was perfect for our four nights. The location was great; easy access to the upper and lower old city. Great restaurants nearby, lots to see and do. We lucked into a world class cycling race the weekend we were there as a special treat. We would definitely go back to Quebec City and stay again at Maison du Fort.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Château Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillargé, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison du Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.