We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 for a reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison du Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison du Fort
21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Great stay! Value for your money very high here. The hostess, Marielle knows QC very well. Outstanding advice through out the stay on where to go, what to do, where to eat, and how to get there. We had to drop one of our crew at the train station and she gave us explicit directions including avoiding a particular street that was closed for some event that morning. She really knows the city. Both restaurant recommendations were ideal (those reviews next!). A short two block walk and you are at the park next to the Chateau Frontenac and the walking esplanade above lower old town. An ideal location in the best part of the city.

Book early! We booked late and got the last two rooms (#4 and #8). They were small but fully adequate. The only reason I even mention it is because we peeked in some other rooms as they were being made-up. Wow! Some scrumptious rooms here. We will be back for sure and enjoy one of those. Our room was VERY quiet, no city noise at all when the windows were closed up.

She has cats. We saw them only when we went to ask her a question, only concern would be if you had an allergy, otherwise they are never seen.

Rolls and pastries served with coffee downstairs, more a snack than a continental breakfast. Go early as the best pastries are gone soon.

This is truly an outstanding place to stay to enjoy North America's most European city.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    42
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
238
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The #1 rank of the Maison du Fort is well deserved. We stayed in Room 10. It was one of the nicest, maybe the nicest room, we have ever stayed in. The large room seems almost like a suite. The queen sized poster bed had a very comfortable mattress. The sitting area was just what the doctor ordered for that little rest in late afternoon to enjoy a glass of wine before striking off for dinner. Marielle had many good recommendations for dining and site seeing during our visit. She provided us with wine glasses and opener for our wine. Although the room has air conditioning, we slept every night with the windows wide open enjoying the fresh air. We woke every morning to sounds of the awakening city. The coffee, OJ, breads and muffins were just right for our breakfasts. We hope Room 10 is available when next we visit Quebec City!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and loved Maison du Fort! Clean, comfortable, lovely room. The location is great, very central but tucked away on a quiet street. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked late and managed to get the last remaining (and smallest) room. With its tiny bathroom and double bed, by American standards, this would be considered much too small.
But you know what? It was great!

Being accustomed to a queen bed, my wife and I, nonetheless, fell instantly asleep the moment our heads touched those wonderful, feathery pillows. With the two generous windows letting in a cool overnight breeze, we awoke refreshed, with the sun, just peeking over the horizon, gently casting an orange glow into our room.
Then, after a quick shower, and a pleasant chat over coffees, muffins and pastries with Marielle, we were ready for another walk through the streets and alleys of this enchanted city.

Let me tell you something. We've been to Québec City before, and we've stayed at hotels costing twice the price that Marielle charges. And now, after staying at the comfortable, cozy, and well appointed Maison du Fort, we can truly say that we found a "home" in Québec.

Merci Marielle!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the air conditioning. Sleep with the windows open. The refreshing air, not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We decided to stay at Maison du Fort based on the excellent TripAdvisor Reviews. My husband and I were on our way back home from Mont Tremblant (after his Ironman). Marielle was very accommodating, storing my husband's time trial bike :) She was also very prompt and excellent to answer any questions/concerns we had before arriving. The Inn is beautiful, so sooo clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed in room #5, the Blue Room - sooo sooo beautiful. I don't think we have ever slept in such a comfortable bed, air conditioning in the room was a nice addition. Marielle was excellent to recommend activities and restaurants - always very open to any questions we had. Each AM there was fresh coffee and pastries (yum). The Inn location was great for us, we parked our car and walked everywhere. We would stay here again in an instant! Thank you for a wonderful stay in Quebec City Marielle!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Like so many others, we had a Fantastic Stay at Maison du Fort. My wife and I were there for a long weekend - our first trip to Quebec City. Marielle is a very gracious host. The location is perfect - a short walk to restaurants or the boardwalk. Park your vehicle, and walk everywhere.
We plan on going back again. Merci Marielle!

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size - #6 was one of the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We found this hotel on line and booked it because of the good reviews. My friend and I (2 ladies) stayed in Room 6 on the second floor. We loved the room and the decorations. Everything is very tastefully done and good quality. The owner, Marielle, went out of her way to help us with directions since you walk a lot in Quebec City. She recommended eating establishments which were great. The hotel is near the boardwalk and the Chateau Frontenac landmark hotel.

Keep in mind that these small historic hotels in old QC don't have elevators - it's all about carrying luggage up and down stairs, but we had no trouble and had help if we needed it.

Room Tip: Room 6 is on the second floor, 2 beds. It's large and sunny. A/C works great, not noisy. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison du Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Fort

Address: 21 ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#4 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Citadel, Château Frontenac, the Governor's Garden, the Dufferin Terrace, historical sites and the Convention Center, Maison du Fort offers the charm and elegance of its almost two centuries old home including modern comfort.This Georgian style house was built in 1851 by Charles Baillargé, architect. An ideal location for travelers interested in unforgettable attractions for the Old Quebec City. History lovers will appreciate our many museums and 19th century streets. Excellent restaurants in the area are available for all gourmet eaters; shoppers will enjoy nearby boutiques and galleries.European atmosphere and fine service await you at Maison du Fort... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Du Fort Hotel Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec City
Maison Du Fort Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison du Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maison du Fort to your Saves list