We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded my expectations in every regard!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gite Au Croissant de Lune

Save Saved
You added Gite Au Croissant de Lune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
594 rue St-Gabriel, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1W3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 126 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Far exceeded my expectations in every regard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights on the Family Day weekend in Feb. 2012. She had been to Old Quebec when she was younger and I had never been, and overall we had little idea of where to start our sight seeing. Upon arrival we were greeted by René and he went over a map and pointed out all the interesting places to go see, do, and eat - very helpful and informative! The house and the room we stayed in ("Blue room" $90/Night+tax for both of us, not each!) was filled with tasteful design and antiques. Both days the included breakfasts were top quality and completely filling with special care put into each plate with only fresh ingredients like fruit salads that were not from frozen, homemade everything. Our room was cleaned up every day while we were out and our garbage emptied, bed made, and towels taken out when needed. Our room had cable tv and internet although we never made use of them. The overall feel of the B&B was personal, inviting, relaxing, and intimate. We loved our stay and would go again for certain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    24
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
66
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This B&B was amazing, my boyfriend and I spent two nights here and it was no more than a 10 minute walk to everything!! The owners were sweet and extreamly helpful directing us to places unknown to even locals, and as a plus the breakfast was extreamly delicious!

Room Tip: Choose the Blue Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

If you enjoy the concept of B&B you will absolutely love the Croissant de Lune. Situated in a historical neighborhood in a tastefully decorated old house, you will be greeted by a very nice couple who will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay in their place.
René and Louise are discreet and very nice, but if you want some pointers, René admitted to us that he used to be a tourist guide. He takes great pride in his city, and can point the wayward traveler towards out of the way things to see and enjoy.
The room was very nice and well decorated with an air of authenticity. The bed was one of the more comfortable I have slept in during my travels. There is WiFii acess. We went skiing on Saturday, and the copious breakfast (home made breat etc.. )was more then enough to hold us through the day.

Room Tip: We had a room towards tha back. It might be nice to be on the street but we didn't get a chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for about 5 nights back in August of 2011. We hadn't been to Quebec city before and this location was perfect. Louise and Réne were great hosts and very helpful with any questions we had. Breakfast was by far our favorite part of the stay, and great way to start off each morning! We stayed in the room in the attic and it was very cute, quaint, and clean. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Take some time to sit out on the little terrace outside of the bathroom, it's a nice way to spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Louise St. Laurent and her husband Réne for four nights for our first visit to Québec City, in Oct. 2011. We loved everything about this charming, warm B&B. The location, just one street up the hill from the lively rue St. Jean, was perfect for walking everywhere, even to the old part of town by the port. Louise and Réne were excellent hosts, full of good suggestions for how to best spend our time in Québec and where to dine. The breakfasts they prepared were wonderful, including gluten-free breads and rolls for me. The room was clean and lovely. The only downside is, this couple hopes to sell their B&B and begin a new business in the Charlevoix area, where I'm sure they will be a big success, but if you want to experience their gracious hospitality in Québec City, I would advise doing it soon!

Room Tip: All three rooms are on the second floor. Each is very nice. There is a shared bathroom and a half-ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Croissant de Lune: the location was both very central and quiet at night. We were very impressed by the bedding quality and slept incredibly well there; the bedrooms had a nice homely feel.
We had a choice of 2 generous and creative breakfast options every morning (muffins, pancakes, russian dumplings, yoghurt) on the top of the nice bread and jam always on the table.
Our host was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My partner and I traveled to Quebec City for carnival last year and loved it. The trip was made all the better by this very charming b & b. The place was very clean and the hosts were lovely. The price was also very reasonable - while it's not in the old quarter, it was still very close. We walked everywhere we went.

We were a little worried about sharing a washroom but it was never a problem - especially as there were two available (one full bath and one partial). Tea and hot chocolate available for guests were quite nice.

The only thing that would have made our day was a communal sitting area for guests - but all in all, a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gite Au Croissant de Lune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Au Croissant de Lune

Address: 594 rue St-Gabriel, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1W3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Establish since 1996 in a quaint quarter of Quebec City.Nearby the St-Jean street, lively thoroughfare of Old Quebec and located just beside the Convention Center. A bed & breakfast that makes the difference for your tourisms and business travels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gite Au Croissant de Lune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gite Au Croissant De Lune Hotel Quebec City
Gite Au Croissant De Lune Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gite Au Croissant de Lune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.