We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique boutique hotel with Old Quebec Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Clos St-Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Clos St-Louis to your Saves list
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique boutique hotel with Old Quebec Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Reviews are very accurate. Great location! Close to great restaurants and old Quebec core. Excellent service! Awesome decor. French toast for breakfast is great! Rooms are as pictured.

Only small negatives - stairs esp for top level really are painful. Wifi in top level rooms was spotty at best.

Would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    59
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
264
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Perfect location for a stay within the walls. We were able to walk everywhere. The owner was congenial and made us feel welcome. The rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. We had all the amenities we needed. I would definitely recommend this as a quiet, charming place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher numbers require climbing several flights of stairs. Our room, #6 had it's own a/c unit so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your vote of confidence. We always appreciate it when a customer recommends our services to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

LeClos was absolutely lovely! The perfect location within the walls ! We were in room 20 and our friend was in room 8. Our room was much larger and on the second floor. Room 8 was on the 3rd floor and no elevator. Breakfast was "ok," but Shirley , our consierge, was so helpful! She gave us great tips for restaurants, arranged for cabs to the airport and to Cirque, and was always smiling, so pleasant! FrueSacre , a restaurant directly across the street ,was excellent! Great bar and the best filet mignon! Parmesan , an Italian restaurant, was just down the street, also very good!open late for coffee and dessert. The Fairmont was at the end of the street, excellent bar. Don't miss lePetite Champlain, wonderful shopping, quaint buildings. Another wonderful restaurant was St Malo. Cirque was excellent! Don't miss it! We would definitly recommend LeClos!

Room Tip: Choose Room 20! If carrying your luggage upstairs is an issue for you, request something on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with fellow travelers. It is much appreciated. We hope you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

When my wife and I arrived, we were greeted very warmly and were offered much information about things to do. Our room was large and charming. It didn't feel like a hotel room; it felt more like home. The breakfast each morning was very good and most convenient. The hotel's location was fantastic - nicely located in Old Town but away from the big crowds. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Old Quebec. We certainly would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we would be very happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel situated in the old part of Quebec City, so it is close to exceptional dining and shopping. You will be delighted by the the fact that the owner has maintained the property in its original decor and architecture, my husband and I certainly were, and, we will return to this hotel again. This is my new favourite hotel! Also, the owner cooks breakfast for her guests...a very nice and personal touch.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if this is a problem then choose a room on the ground floor. The walk up o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with fellow travelers. It is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton,Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel in a great location in the old city. Close to everything. Gracious owner and staff. Hotel is situated in two old Quebec homes beautifully restored with attention to detail and kept immaculate. Freshly prepared breakfast included daily. Overall a great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests. We hope you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a charming bed-and-breakfast with a wonderful location. The rooms are quaint and clean. My only complaint was that I had a problem with my bathtub. I notified the staff. I was told they would look into it. The problem was not fixed. I told another staff member the next day. Nothing was done to remedy the problem throughout my 3-day stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about the problem you incurred with the therapeutic bath during your visit. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you incurred.

We did have a technician look at the bathtub and verify that it is indeed working properly. We believe that the problem may have been that you tried to use the tub between the hours of 11pm to 7am, when the mechanism is automatically shut off. This is to ensure that other clients are not disturbed by the noise of the bath.

Our policy regarding the hours of usage of the therapeutic bathtub is stated in the hotel information booklet that is on the desk in each room, as well as in the information sheet that clients are given at check-in. Unfortunately, our staff assumed that you were already familiar with the policy and did not ask you what time you had tried to use the bathtub. We apologize for this omission and vow to be more vigilant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Clos St-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos St-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos St-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Clos St-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis Quebec/Quebec City
Le Clos St Louis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.