We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & charm A+++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Clos St-Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Clos St-Louis to your Saves list
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
western ny state
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Location & charm A+++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Short walk to everything. Hotel is immaculately clean. Decor is wonderful.....with many fine details......stone walls, exposed timbered ceiling, fine bedding and our room #24 overlooks the street with windows that open. Was concerned that it would be noisy but the evenings are quiet and the chatter of people passing by just adds to the charm of this city. There is on-site parking (for $20). Many restaurants but we ate across the street and next door...both excellent. Breakfast included was very decent...cooked to order. Be aware...no elevator and lots of stairs.....good for the heart, right?

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    59
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
264
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We headed to Quebec City for a romantic getaway while our son was a camp and couldn't be happier that we found Hotel Le Clos! Perfect location for all the sites, very friendly staff, and delicious french toast for breakfast! The room was gorgeous and very romantic. We would highly recommend the hotel! ENJOY!

Room Tip: we loved our room at the back of the inn, and would recommend the back as the front looks out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really liked this place. The location is great. The evening/night desk attendant Luc was extremely welcoming and helpful. The daytime attendant less so. The room was a nice size and the bathroom was clean with a Jacuzzi tub. The Victorian decoration fits the house. The flights of stairs were not a problem and Luc offered to help us with our bags. Frankly, if you're put off by climbing a flight of stairs you should rethink your trip to Quebec (the whole city is on a hill and you will be walking up and down it all day). Nice, firm bed. Biggest complaint was the outdated wall unit hair dryer. I hate these things - they burn your hand after 2 minutes use. The breakfast was great - nice choices and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay here in this historic building. The hotel is elegant and full of charm. However, breakfast is served in the basement and there does not appear to be a properly equipped kitchen. The breakfast was quite standard for such a beautiful hotel and the staff, on the second day of our stay, seemed very distraught as they had to serve more than four people. We enjoyed staying here and would probably return, but would consider breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for the information you provided regarding your last visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My significant other and I looked at many options in Quebec City before landing on Hotel Le Clos St-Louis and could not be happier with our decision. Highlights below:

1) The old style architecture and the antique furniture make this old mansion a one-of-a-kind experience. Each room is laid out differently further emphasizing the uniqueness.
2) Great location; walking distance to all of Old Quebec.
3) Complimentary breakfast in the hotel (order the French Toast).
4) Friendly staff who portrayed a genuine happiness for picking their hotel.
5) Rooms were clean; each room is a different size so that will depend on your booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis. We are always pleased when people share their experiences and opinions on our hotel. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A quirky little hotel on the main drag in Quebec City. Parking is extra and while there is access from the back of the hotel parking lot, we were requested to bring our luggage in through the extremely steep steps in front (the receptionist said the back door was an emergency exit and had to remain closed) only to find the door propped open during the tenure of our stay? The owner even opened it (although we had already walked around from the front with the heaviest bags.

The rooms were clean but over-cluttered with 'Victorian' style decorating; little tea pots & cups, etc., leaving little or no room to open a suitcase. The bed was quite comfortable but there was no temperature control in the room which became stuffy at times. The windows opened for some fresh air, but the noise of the street was abundant.

The inclusive breakfast prepared by the owner was enjoyable and quite filling. A nice little hotel with a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the lower floors if you have difficulty with steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest’s comments and finding out what our strong and weak points are from your point of view. We wish to address your specific areas of concern below.

Parking:

The Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis has the rare opportunity to have parking located directly behind the hotel. Most small hotels (40 rooms or less) in the old city have don’t have parking located nearby and often it takes an average of 10 minutes to walk between their parking lot and the hotel.

Our check-in procedure is that upon arrival clients pull up to the front entrance, unload their bags and bring them into the hotel. Then the receptionist gives them directions to the parking. Given that your room was located on the same side of the hotel as the main entrance, unloading your bags at the front door was arguably the easiest and quickest option.

You are also correct that there is an emergency exit door at the back of the hotel that leads to the parking. For the safety and security of our clients, we do try to control access to and from the hotel from this door. To re-enter the hotel from the parking lot, clients must walk around the building to front of the hotel, which usually takes an extra minute or two. Clients who are checking out of the hotel, however, are permitted to use this door to take their bags to their car.

Air-conditioning:

The hotel consists of two buildings, each having a different air conditioning system. One side has individual air conditioners in each room. The side of the building on which you stayed has a central system. It is programmed to maintain a temperature between 20 and 21 degrees Celsius. This system is generally quite efficient and it is less noisy than the individually controlled units on the other side of the hotel. To ensure that the system works most efficiently, however, clients are advised to keep their windows closed.

Noise:

For your stay in Quebec City, you chose a room in a historic building in the heart of the old city. It is constructed with thick walls and double paned windows that keep most of the surrounding noise out. However, if you open the windows, you lose this advantage.

The Room:

It should be noted that you made your reservation through a system other than our own website and did not specify any specific concerns or requests. Guests who reserve directly with us have the advantage of being able to choose a specific room, one that best meets their needs, including the size or the location of the room.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well, we loved Quebec City. We spent a couple weeks all over the province and enjoyed Quebec City the most. We were on the top floor of this sweet hotel. This is a lovely old building and there are no elevators but as long as you know this in advance you just consider it a chance for a little cardio. We are in our mid 60s and it was fine. Our room (one of the Maid's Rooms) was beautiful with a comfy bed, great air conditioning, a view of the trees and nearby church, and a much needed therapy bath. We walked miles exploring the upper city and lower city digging into the history a bit but the location on Rue St. Louis is perfect. Breakfasts were quite yummy and the staff is amazing. We would stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Clos St-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos St-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos St-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Clos St-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis Quebec/Quebec City
Le Clos St Louis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.