We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff, rooms, etc.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Clos St-Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Clos St-Louis to your Saves list
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Montgomery Ctr. Vt.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, staff, rooms, etc.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the moment we entered "Le Clos", we were more than fully satisfied. With all of Old Quebec City directly out the door, we thoroughly enjoyed all this beautiful location afforded. We both will certainly return, if only to discuss with the ever charmant Paul his next travel adventure. Brazil!

We will certainly return and it might well indeed be quite soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Toni B.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Quebec city and at our hotel.
We thank you for sharing with other TripAdvisor travellers on your experience with us.
Please come back and see us.
Once again Thank You

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    57
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
257
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a very well appointed hotel that successfully executed the feel of a large B&B. Our room was wonderful - full of charm with brick and stone walls and nice decor. Everything is super clean and well maintained. You get your choice of items for breakfast. Our server was friendly and we had some great conversations with him. The hotel is within walking distance of everything you'd want to see and do - just a few blocks from the promenade along the St. Lawrence River. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Toni B.

Thank you for your review on our hotel.We feel it is important that guests provide feedback on there experience at our house. Once again Thank You. Please come back to see us.

Ghislaine Donais
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a four-night autumn getaway, having chosen it based on favorable reviews in tripadvisor.com. We found it excellent in every way. The hotel is comfortable, beautifully decorated and with excellent service. The concierge, Paul, gave excellent advice on restaurants and on public bus service to Laval University. The breakfast selection is nutritious and ample, prepared in a cozy breakfast room on a lower level. We liked the hotel location, too, because of close walking distance to shops and historic destinations. I definitely recommend the Hotel le Clos St-Louis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Mr. TrippettF

Sir;
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and share your experience with other people on TripAdvisor.
We are please to read that the advice given by our staff wa useful to you.
Once again Thank You for your comments.

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day stay at Le Clos St. Louis in old Quebec City...It was marvelous from start to finish. This hotel is spotless and the staff is very accommodating. Paul, the manager, is eager to help in any way he can to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
the location could not be better with walking distance to both upper and lower town, great restaurants, and quaint shoppes as well as art galleries and the famous...Chateau Frontenac and the St. Lawrence River. the rooms are spacious and so immaculate that you cannot help but be impressed...The breakfast is wonderful and the breakfast room charming. All in all a perfect weekend...we are eager to return!

Room Tip: There is.no elevator so if you have a problem with stairs you should choose the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Nonni722,

Thank You for taking the time to share with others your experience at Le Clos Saint-Louis. We work hard to maintain the hotel to the high standard that it is and we are pleased to read that customer like yourselves have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please come back and see us soon.
Once again, Thank You.

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River Junction, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent two nights to celebrate my 50th Birthday and could not have been happier. We were greeted my the owner upon our arrival and she welcomed us to her home. Right from the start we knew we were going to enjoy our stay. Lovely four story brick house in the center of Old Quebec. Our bedroom was on the third floor at the back of the house, very quiet and peaceful. The owner cooked us a delicious breakfast, I recommend the french toast with fresh fruit. Close walk to every where in Old Quebec City. Any room you choose, whether front of the house or back, you will love them. All bedrooms are tastefully decorated. I just loved all of the tea sets throughout the house. When we return to Quebec City, we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Mrs Janet T.

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review on your trip to Quebec and your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that we have met with your expectation and that your holiday to celebrate your 50th Birthday was a success.
Every effort is put forth to ensure that our guest are happy in our house and that they return home, as you did, fully satisfied.

Thank You again
Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Falmouth MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived in the rain and found the hotel and after being directed to the parking behind the hotel we settled into a typically French bedroom with an elegantly carved four-poster bed, figurines on the mantels and throughout the room, and antique furniture festooned with pillows. A delicate tea set was on a small table in front of the settee. The bathroom was well-appointed. The room was quiet and comfortable. It was an ideal room, envied by our traveling partners, and named for one of the first settlers of Quebec City, Mary Robinson (Room 1). The parlor was likewise decorated in the French style. The hostess and owner was welcoming and unfailingly pleasant. She also cooked breakfast which was excellent.

Room Tip: We had the Mary Robinson room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Mr. Robert R.

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel and your experience in Quebec city.
We hope to receive again as guest in our establisment.
Once again, Thank you.

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our trip to Quebec City and agreed a highlight was our stay at this unique property. Location within the walled city was excellent, the care, good taste (and I assume considerable expense) in the renovation/merging of the two original homes that comprise the hotel is evident at all levels. We booked late, the day before arrival with the owner, Ghislaine Donais who met us on arrival. Our room was on the 3rd floor, facing out the back (with a great view of a church steeple) and very quiet. Each room is named, our #9 the "maids room" and the room was nicely decorated and spacious. The circular stairway to our room was easy to navigate. The 2nd floor had a computer/printer for guets and Wifi worked well. We opted for the famous French Toast in the two mornings and understand its popularity. The owner's presence was an added benefit as she made us feel very welcome and appreciated. We, of course, toured the magnificent photogenic hotel down the street but, as an former senior hotel executive, I now opt for the smaller, owner-operated facilities with a solid reputation. We hated to leave (Ghislaine, my wife thinks her comments on the guest book aren't effusive enough) but this will be our home on a return visit. P.sS. New visitors - don't miss the Inuit exhibit at the national museum.

Room Tip: We slept with the windows open. And I would want to have a room in the back, high floor. Quiet, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Mr. Brian 12154,

Sincere Thank You for your comments on our hotel. We try to provide the excellent service that our customer's are looking for. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the service provided.
Thank you for sharing with other Tripadvisor readers.

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Clos St-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos St-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique grand Victorian home offers contemporary luxuries. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Romance, luxury, value & impecable service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Clos St-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis Quebec/Quebec City
Le Clos St Louis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.