We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Enchanting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Clos St-Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Clos St-Louis to your Saves list
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Kingsville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly Enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My twin sister and I just returned from our first trip to Quebec City and our stay at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis. We arrived late our first night and were warmly greeted by the young gentlemen working the front desk. The hotel is beautiful with grand floral arrangements, antique furniture and old world charm. We made our way up the winding staircase to the top floor (there is no elevator so if stairs are an issue for you - ask to stay in a room on the first floor). We stayed in Room 9 - The Maids Room. It was beautiful. Our room had its own air conditioning unit that worked perfectly and kept our room nice and cool. The owner, Ghislaine is delightful. After the Concierge took our breakfast order she made a point to come out of the kitchen to introduce herself and wish us a wonderful stay. The breakfasts each morning were delicious and the perfect size to fill you up for a morning of sightseeing and not over stuff you so you couldn't enjoy an outdoor cafe later in the day. We ordered the ham and eggs the first day and french toast with real maple syrup the second day. The Concierge was very friendly and helpful as well, offering to help us plan out our short two day stay in the city. I wasn't sure how security would be in an historic building but they give you two keys: one for the room and another for the front door which locks in the late afternoon and throughout the evening. We felt very safe. The washroom in our room was modern and spacious. The room came with a pair of wine glasses and just enough utensils for us to relax and enjoy a glass of wine and some meats and cheeses in the seating area that had two winged backed chairs and a small table. The location of this hotel is perfect - you are within walking distance of everything. It's on the same street as the Chateau Frontenac and centrally located so that you're never more than a 10 minute walk from all of the attractions. If you've never been to Quebec City before I recommend going to Cafe de Paris (across the street from the hotel) to enjoy great food, a fun and friendly atmosphere and live music. I'd stay away from the Anciens Canadiens restaurant farther down the street towards the Chateau - over priced and unless you speak french the wait staff is dimissive and bordering on rude. We also ate at 1640 Restaurant/Bistro on Rue St Anne which was great. Try the roasted vegetables with goat cheese. The city has an excellent information centre as well on Rue St Anne where they have fully trained information guides that can tell you what the highlights are and you can also book excursions across the lobby in the same building. We really enjoyed the AML boat cruise.
I can't say enough about how much we loved our stay at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis. Ghislaine and her staff make you feel like family and they make every effort to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Upon check out they arranged a taxi for us back to the train station as well which was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel not only for its charm and modern conveniences but more so because of Ghislaine and her staff. We will definitely be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back of the hotel on the top floor. It was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Sandra:

Thank you for the wonderful review on our hotel and your stay in Quebec city.
It was great to have you with us and to share your smile each morning. It is always pleasant to get compliments for our staff who work hard to ensure the safety and wellbeing for our guest.
We invite you back to enjoy the beauty of Quebec and to live the history of this great city.

Once again thank You.
Ghyslaine Donais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    60
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
270
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our hotel selection. Everything was fabulous and the owner and staff were absolutely lovely. Breakfast was incredible. Our room was elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean. Already planning our return and will never stay anywhere else in Quebec City!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Rondi N

Greetings from Quebec city;
Thank you for taking the time to share with other Tripadvisor readers your experience at our Hotel. We are pleased that we did meet your expectations and that we made it a wonderful trip for you.

Once Again thank you.

Ghyslaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you want to stay in an old fashion hotel it is really what you are looking for. The location is perfect but air-condition in our room was controlled from downstairs and no elevator. Also if you are looking for a big breakfast you should go to one of many restaurants in the area. I may don’t go back because it wasn’t my type but it wasn’t bad.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are buger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Sina A:
We thank you for your assessment, but are sorry to see your silence on your inconfort while in our house and that it shed a cloud on your experience in Quebec.
We are sincerely sorry that you didn't bring thisissue up during our conversations, surely we could have done somthing to solve this by suggesting to you a room that would have suited you better.
The majority of our rooms have individuel air conditionning control. Some on the other hand have central control system. Its success make us believe that since the choices made by our customers do satisfy the majority. We therefore conclude and agree with you that our product was not suited for your needs.
Our home, ¨Grande Bourgeoise¨is rare in Quebec having been renovated in keeping its original character offers a unique experience. By all evidence this type of product did not suite you.
Thank you again
Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is small, friendly, spotlessly clean, offers a nice breakfast and is in a great location. Parking is in the back of the hotel, spots are asssigned, and cost 20 CDN/day.

We had room 19 that is on the first floor so you needn't haul luggage up stairs. The room had a good size bath, a sitting area, flat screen TV, desk, and a comfortable 4 poster queen size bed. We really liked the blanket and meant to ask who made it and where we could buy one.

Take a walk to the Frontenac Hotel then on to the boardwalk where you can take the finicular down then it is a short walk to the Place de Armes where you should visit the Museum of Civilization. The finicular is 2 CDN per person each way.

Back on the boardwalk and you can walk to Discovery Park and the Citadel. Be sure to visit the Discovery Vistor Center and Museum.

The carriage ride is a nice way to get oriented to Old Town. The cost is 80 CDN and the route is set by the city.

Next time we're in Quebec City, we will once again stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Fudgbug:
Thank you for the review. We are pleased that we did meet your expectations and that the hotel did live up to it's standard.
We are also very happy that you liked room # 19 on the main level of the house. The room with the large windows and that you found it to be confortable.
We are situated on quiet street close to all the tourist attractions, restaurants and shops.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice and enjoyed it thoroughly both times. You're close to everything in the old city and the rooms are romantic and well taken care of.

-Check out their romance packages, which are pretty reasonable and well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Food-Nature-Cult:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to share your experience with the Tripadvisor readers. It was a pleasure to have you back to our house and experience the Quebec hospitality.
We hope you come back soon to see us.
Yours truly
Ghislaine Donais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at le clos. The room was very inviting with low lighting ambiance, quiet sleeps and cozy linens. The location is excellent, great for exploring old town, boutique shopping and many restaurants...all walking distance. The breakfast included in the room charge was a great way to start our day off or lazy coffee in our room. Highly recommend this boutique hotel for couples who are looking for a unique experience. The owner and staff were very friendly and welcomming

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Robinson room it was quiet very clean and had a jacuzzi tub. It is on the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I llove this hotel! We have stayed three times and would not consider staying anywhere else. It has real old world charm. The rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is served in a basement room, but it is charming and cosy. Breakfast was very good. The location is excellent. The only negative is the air condioning. Most of the hotel is controlled by central air and there are no thermostats in these rooms; however, as we discovered in our last visit, there are some rooms with individual air conditioners. The owner is a lovely woman who always made us feel at home.

Room Tip: If steps are a probem, be sure to book a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear MJ Konl BK:
It was a pleasure having you as guest at the hotel for the third time.
Every effort is put forth to ensure our guest 's comfort. All our rooms have air conditioning, some with in room remote control and others with central air system with the control at the front desk.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next trip to Quebec.
Thank You for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Ghislaine Donais
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Clos St-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos St-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos St-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Clos St-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis Quebec/Quebec City
Le Clos St Louis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Clos St-Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.