We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, pleasant, amazing location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Acadia to your Saves list
Hotel Acadia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne) (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming, pleasant, amazing location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

When we turned down the street toward our hotel for the first time, I felt giddy. It was a beautiful side street running perpendicular to Rue Sainte Jean (major shopping and eating) and Rue Sainte Louis (more restaurants!) We were able to walk everywhere within the old walled city (which was gorgeous. We also had PERFECT weather). We enjoyed our room, which was the most high end room of their hotel but was in the basement. At first I was surprised, but then I ended up being very pleased. It still had outdoor access. The city and building are so old and everything was much smaller (shorter ceilings, for example), but our room was very nice and had modern amenities (glass shower, large soaker tub, flat screened tv, electric fireplace). There is also a decent breakfast included in your stay. You only have to walk around the corner to get to it, because it's at an actual restaurant seeing as there would be nowhere to set up breakfast in the hotel. The staff was so pleasant, and even conducted themselves as I witnessed someone being yelled at while we were checking out.

Room Tip: Signature Plus Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and the location.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next stay
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    159
    63
    34
    14
See reviews for
56
207
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I traveled to Quebec City and stayed with my boyfriend at the Acadia Hotel on Canada Day weekend 2013.

The good:
-Location is excellent, we used the valet parking and walked everywhere in Old Quebec. Was very handy.
- Also we got a good rate because they only had the smallest room in their attic available.
-The staff were all very pleasant and a pleasure to interact with.


The bad: The room was tiny, not impressive, small outdated tv, and the toilet in our room ran constantly. We did notify the front desk about the issue with the toilet but it was never resolved.

I did see some pictures at the front desk of some of the other rooms, and there were some that looked really nice.

Overall it was not terrible, not great, it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the location.
As you mentioned, you have choose one of our two small economic room, next time try another category, to really enjoy the charm of the hotel.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's a pretty good hotel for Old Montreal since you will not find anything modern there - most of the hotels are houses converted into such.

Acadia is on a quiet street but close to everything and between 2 very busy happening streets. You will have to ask for valet parking if you're driving in unless you are crazy enough to try it yourself. That's $35/night. Rollaway bed - a cot - is $15 a night. Very little space for it in the room but you gotta do what you gotta do!

The staff is pretty helpful but gets a bit overwhelmed around check-in time which is between 2 and 6. So except some wait.

The hotel is divided into 2 wings. We had rooms 411 and 302. 411 seemed to be in the more updated section with a better view: although a small room and bathroom but updated. The bathroom was quite nice. The window in the room opened and had a screen. The bed is queen but comfortable enough. Bath linens are a bit thin but decent. BIg screen TV and FREE Wifi - a huge plus. 411 also had a fridge and a microwave, 302 did not, although I paid the same amount for both. 302 was older, bathroom smaller and dark, Window did not open and the view was of a fire escape - dark.

Each room has AC.

There are LOTS of stairs in the hotel. So if you have problems with that - beware. But then, you'll have problems in Quebec in general since it's all up and down the hill.

Tips in Quebec: taxis are NOT as expensive as you may think. At times it's worth taking one after you walked up and down for hours.

Cross the wall on St. Louis - there are some nice restaurants there too and street performances as well.

Get a map.

Have a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoy the city. About our parking is 20$/night and as you mentioned we have valet parking to make your arrival easier with your car but also with your luggage as we don't have an elevator.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel. It was the perfect place to celebrate our 30th anniversary. A special treat was left in our room for the occasion. The room (402) was spectacular; it included a separate sitting room, comfortable queen bed, a jet tub, and shower with a stained glass window. We loved hearing the horse drawn carriages on the cobblestone street below. The relaxation room and flowered deck was just charming. Everyone from the front desk clerks to the valet were warm and welcoming. We hope to have the chance to return again. This hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: room 402 exceed expectation, even nicer than the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share this wonderful review about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspect of you stay
Hoping to welcome you again
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hospitality was excellent!
The location was great too, it was close to everything, including restaurants and main tourist sites, as well as the train station.
Staff changed our room upon request, and treated us very nicely, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share this nice comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great staff but the hotel is in need of some updates. Our room had old and scratched furniture that looked like it came out of someone's attic. Don't settle for anything less than a superior room. Enjoyed our visit to Quebec with all it's charm.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for taking time to share your comment about our Hotel Acadia,
We're sorry that your stay didn't met your expectations, we take your comments in consideration
Hoping to welcome you again during your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a economy room reserved at the Louis burg hotel, but when we checked in we had been moved to a property across the street called Le 52. It was great large room with kitchenette. Location was close to nightlife outside city walls on grand allee, but also in the upper town just near the citadel. The Frontenac was just a five minute walk. Be prepared for hills but that is just the way of life in quebec. Staff was very helpful. Great English. The streets were quiet but I wish I had brought a mask for sleeping bc it was very bright in the room. We paid $132 a night but meet folks who got a better deal using Priceline for about $85 a night. City was full of couples and families..not the place for singles nightlife but still very beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your review about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. Hoping to welcome you again during a next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and T4B so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.