We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"SPUR OF THE MOMENT"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acadia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Acadia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne) (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"SPUR OF THE MOMENT"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Acadia for 5 days 4 nights. Upon arriving on the 26th of December and checking in we were assigned room 321 (parking lot view). Checking in was a breeze, hotel personnel was polite. We took our carry-ons one flight up, no problem, until we saw the size of the bed. We thought we booked a room with a queen size bed, but it was a twin/full"?" That was a mistake. Went back down to ask the clerk if they were fully booked and would it be possible to switch to a room with a bigger bed or two twins; he checked and said no they weren't, he didn't see a problem, but he had to check with the manager. Waited outside the office he came back and stated the manager said no- the only way we could switch rooms was to pay an extra $10 per day and to spend 1 night in the small room and switch the next day since we were only staying for 5 days/4 nights... I said never mind, thanks anyway. The room we occupied needed dusting above the headboard, and the heater was a bit loud, we didn't want to turn on the tv too loud, but you couldn't hear when the heater was on. The hotel should look into investing in a new mattress for that room, it was sunken in the middle and very uncomfortable. Also a small fridge would not be a bad idea. The batteries to the tv died on our fourth day, just told the desk upon leaving that morning and they had them when we came back that afternoon. We liked the locale of the hotel which was walking distance to all such as outside the walled city, lower town, Le Chateau Frontenac and Funiculaire when you don't want to back up from lower town. Also see my review of restaurants for this trip. Our first full day there was a snow storm, which caused my daughter and I to have fits of laughter during our sightseeing as the wind was blowing us around and she thought I didn't catch on to what she was doing when she kept suggesting we go in and eat. We ended up eating 3 meals a day which we usually don't do. LOL....

Room Tip: Double check your room accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    135
    55
    30
    13
See reviews for
50
172
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in Hotel Acadia. We paid a bit extra to get the superior room (210). As some noted, the sink was in the room, that didn't bother us. We had an electric fire place and an awesome shower. The shower was ultra modern with very good water pressure. The room was good size for the two of us, our suitcases and ski gear. The room was a bit hot, but that was great for drying wet clothes after playing in the snow.
Room 210 is on the first floor facing the street and next the the office, so the noise from both locations bothered us, but did not ruin our vacation. We could hear road trucks and cars on the street. If you wanted to take a nap during the day, as we did upon our arrival, the noise in the lobby and office was a bother. Thus, I would recommend getting a room at the higher floor and not facing the main street.
The location was great. The hotel is in the old city close to main attractions, but not in the mids of it, which we found good for us. We did not have a car with us, so we walked everywhere.
The staff was very friendly and spoke both French and English.
The room was very clean, especially the bathroom.

Room Tip: We tried the jacuzzi one day. It was nice. They limit number of people to 6, so ask in advance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Friendly helpful front desk. Good size room with a lovely spa to soak away the aches of a days walking. No lifts but plenty of stairs to get the attic. Buffet breakfast around the corner well presented.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e.freetown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our 1st time there & it was clean, warm, parking of car was right there at the hotel, made it nice
will be back. Ask for a room on the lower floors & was given room 202 which was very nice, see
u in th spring.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Acadia in October 2012 and loved it!! The location is perfect as you are right in side the walls of the city. We found it to be very quiet even though we were right by the stairs. The staff were very helpful and accomodating. We went to a restaurant right around the corner from the hotel for supper. we ate at Cafe de Paris...wow!! The service was excellent and the food was delicious!! I had the veal and it was so tender I could cut it with my fork. It melted in my mouth. For breakfast the next day we went around the corner again for a complimentary buffet. The crepes were fantastic.
You have to pay for parking at the hotel but they let us check out and leave our car there for free during the afternoon. We really thought that was really nice as there is no such thing as free parking in Old Quebec City.
I left my cell phone in the the public washroom at the hotel after we finished exploring Old Quebec. And didn't realize I had left it until a few hours later. We called the hotel and they had found it. They held onto it for me until we cold make our way back to the hotel.
We would definetly stay there again!! Thanks again to the wonderful staff at Hotel Acadia!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you loved your stay at our Hotel Acadia! As you mentioned, our hotel is located near all the main attractions of the city and in a historic neighborhood. Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is one of the cutest "small" hotels in Old Quebec but you must be in great shape because of the stairs unless you are taking a room on the first floor. Old hotel - no elevator. The location is perfect, close to St-Jean street and Chateau Frontenac, the people are great and the room we had was very nice.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms - but the one we had on the 4 floor was great and had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Acadia. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival, reception chaotic and disorganised. Informed that the Superior room reserved 4 months in advance was not available, we would be given a "larger room", which turned out to be a dilapidated, scruffy and very run down "studio" with air conditioner unit in "living room" and none in bedroom, where the sheets were too small for the bed. There was a winding (and dirty) staircase going up 2 flights with 2nd floor landing used to store cleaning equipment. We asked for a change of room but were told none was available, not even the one we had booked! Breakfast was served in a restaurant round the corner, where the food was unedible and when I asked for a second pot of tea was told I had to pay for it. The attached photos show the state of the windows and frames - and for this we paid CAD 671,46 for 3 miserable nights. We are great rravellers and know our hotels but this one in no way merits a 3-star rating, we have stayed in better 1 and 2-star hotels. To add insult to injury, Hotels Nouvelle France sent us a cheque for CAD 100 for our next visit - no skin of their nose as we live in Europe (where they sent this cheque...).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#42 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.