We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal William

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal William to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #36 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Quebec city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel very well located in Quebec's downtown close to major attractions. Friendly, and convenient staff. Our room was great: large room, large bathroom, very clean, comfy's king bed. The Bus station is close on rue du Roy. Taxi fare, and meters are expensive in the city, but there's a lot of good restaurant as: SSS, Toast, Oncle Antoine (for a good beer), Boudoir (night life), Versa, sushi Yuzu, etc. Cheap asian restaurant on rue de la Couronne : Saigon Bankok. St-Joseph street is a good place for shopping, but in the east part (the weird and strange people are in the west part)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly decorated/renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Deat guest,

Thank you for writing this amazing review on the Hôtel Royal William!
We are delighted to read you enjoyed the hotels location and accommodation.
We truly appreciate all of your positive notes and providing all our tripAdvisor readers wonderful information about the hotel surroundings.

We look forward to see you on your next trip to Quebec City.

**** We wish you and your family Happy Holidays! ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    65
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
35
71
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am a frequent traveller, Customer services and rooms are excellent. Importantly the staff is very warm and helpful. Especially I want to mention about Mr. Martin the front desk person assisted me resolved a few things which is very common to a stranger in the city. Thank you Mr. Martin and hope to see you again in my next trip...

Room Tip: suites compared to regular rooms, no much price difference. most important Front desk staff speaks f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

I am delighted to hear you experienced excellent service from our front office representatives
during your stay at the Hotel Royal William. Martin will be especially grateful that you took the time to
compliment his efforts. Each member of our hotel staff strive to provide the very best
service for all of our guests and we are pleased that we were able to do this for you.

Kind regards and we look forward to your next visit at the Royal William!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were not impressed with the exterior of this property and I said
to myself that my wife and daughter would be disappointed.
Boy was I wrong. Room was large, clean and excellent. The hotel
retaurant was outstanding.Hotel staff was most gracious and
accommodating especially the young man at the front desk.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear CaliforniaRosarian,

It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the Hôtel Royal William accommodations. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on TripAdivor. We hope to see you on your next trip to Québec City!

For additional updates on the Hôtel Royal William, join us on Facebook.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is fine. It screams adequate at you when you may be looking for a few extra touches. Plus is free wifi. Negative is bizarre breakfast arrangement with cafe next door: coupons for continental breakfast which you have to top up if you want more. Just include it in the price and save time! Note that Quebec City is hilly and this hotel is at the bottom if the hill, whereas everything you want to see is at the top.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your recent stay at the Hôtel Royal William. It is always our goal to meet all of our guests expectations, and to make sure every guests have a more than pleasant stay. I have passed on your comments to the appropriate departments in order to ensure that we improve in the areas you mentioned.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Hotel Royal William has wonderful staff, I'd have to say that is their best attribute. The welcome desk people are absolutely wonderful. My husband and I arrived early with our bags and were able to easily leave them there and return later in the evening.
The rooms were a bit overpowering with the enormous headboard (it's a bit much for a single queen room), but the style was nice (a sort of masculine elegance). Our single queen room didn't have a bathtub which I was a bit disappointed by, but obviously it wasn't a necessity. Our family that stayed in the double queen room had a much nicer, larger room at the front of the building with a great view onto Charest, and a much bigger bathroom including a comfortable (sitting up style) bathtub. We had an incredibly good sleep, the beds were very comfortable and the climate controlled room (and separately controlled bathroom) were perfect.
We enjoyed our tasty continental breakfast in the restaurant, it turned out to be a voucher for $5 off the menu, and the continental breakfast was exactly $5 (incl. coffee and juice). That stuff is all carbs, unfortunately, and we had to add a simple egg for an extra $1.50 each to keep from crashing later.
The location is quite a steep (20 min) walk to Old Quebec, but there are stairs in a couple areas to help. On the plus side, the hotel is very easy to drive up to when you're coming from out of town, since the highway turns into the street it is on. Keep in mind you have to park outside, although they can give you a pass for $16/day for a place around the corner.
All in all, the hotel is stately and friendly, but it doesn't exactly feel welcoming like you want to linger there (aside from the staff), and I wouldn't by any means call it a romantic location.

Room Tip: If you want any kind of view, ask for one on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay and giving such great information to all our tripAdvisor readers about the Hotel Royal William.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that every encounter you had with our staff was a pleasant one.

We look forward to your next visit to Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just returned form a 2 day stay at Royal William ( Oct 1- 3 ) I have stayed in many Choice hotels but found this to be one of the best, the staff very helpful with maps and directions. My Husband and I are both 72 had just got off a Cruise Ship and yes it is 15/20 mins walk into old Quebec but the price you pay for this hotel against any in the Old City is about half and worth the walk. If you do not want to walk you can get the local bus # 800/801 for $3 and it takes you into Old Town this way you do not have to walk up the hills, we did this the second day and took the bus up to the Citadel area and and walked back into old town and then back to Hotel. Would stay at this hotel if visiting Quebec in the near future.

Room Tip: WE payed for a Upgraded Room very large and the cost was for 2 nights $349
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback of the Hotel Royal William. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; it’s always wonderful to hear when a guest look forward to returning to our hotel on their next visit to Quebec City.
Hope to see you and your husband in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are nearing the end of our two-day stay at the Royal William, and are thanking our lucky stars that we stayed here instead of in the Old City, where we would have paid twice as much for half the value in a neighborhood (Old City) that is not nearly as interesting after touring. If we could bottle this hotel and take it everywhere on our travels, we would be happy.
First to the location: The waterfront and Old City areas are wonderful to walk around - that's the point - but there is nearly constant vehicle gridlock, making access and egress a clear chore. We were glad that we were able to drive on a major street to the Royal William, park the car (yes, you must be patient, but once it's parked, it's dealt with), and walk to/from the Old City.
Next, the walk to the Old City can be done easily WITHOUT STEPS - it's all flat, if you go via rue Saint Joseph Est. to rue de Roi, under the highway overpass to rue Saint Paul. It's safe, interesting, and less than a mile to Gare du Palais, with the VIA rail. From there, you cross the street to the LOWER Old City. To go to the top, you can take any one of the many staircases, or take the funicular.
To the hotel itself: It is nearly adjacent to the University of Quebec, and the university vibe is palpable in the stores, many fast casual restaurants, etc. We saw no evidence of vagrants anywhere near the hotel on this busy boulevard. We felt safe at all times.
To the room: It had a 12-foot ceiling, a 50-inch flat screen TV, a superior bed, high-quality drawers (rollers that seemed to be hydraulic when you closed a drawer), a tiled shower that was among the best we've used, easy, rapid WiFi, ample seating, plenty of space, and even a K-coffee (and tea!) maker. They could use another lamp in the room the lighting was not especially bright, but that's a quibble. Oh...there is a free continental breakfast (waiter service), but for $8 TOTAL ($4 each), we upgraded to eggs, Muslix, bagel, toast, and bacon. A good deal compared to most of the high-end breakfasts at hotels in the U.S.
To the staff: Fully bilingual (everyone in town seems to be; their English was always better than our French), and communication was never a problem at the hotel or anywhere in the city. The staff were unfailingly cordial.
The bottom line: Assuming our experience here is as good tonight as it has been for the balance of our trip, we can recommend this hotel for its location (far better than the Old City because of its vibe, the interesting neighborhood and the lack of traffic), its quality (top-notch in nearly every way), and its value.

Room Tip: Take Rue Saint Joseph to Rue du Roi for a flat walk to the tourist sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this amazing review on the Hôtel Royal William! We are delighted to read you enjoyed the hotels location and accommodation. We always strive to provide the best service for all of our guests and we are so pleased that we were able to do this for you. We truly appreciate all of your positive notes; we look forward to see you on your next trip to Quebec City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#33 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal William 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.