We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time in Quebec City.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal William to your Saves list
Hotel Royal William
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #37 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Ajax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome time in Quebec City.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Old town Quebec City was exceptional: more amazing than we had expected. From the moment we booked into the Royal William Hotel, with upscale modern accommodations, we engaged with friendly, helpful people. The hotel staff went above and beyond to help us make our time in Quebec City most memorable. The room was lovely and the breakfast delicious. With hotel provided complimentary maps of the city, we walked to restaurants, shopping and festivities which included fireworks and midnight old town tours. This city oozes with history, french ambiance, and delicacies too numerous to mention. It is a place that we loved visiting and hope to visit again to explore further. A truly awesome time!! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,

I am so please to hear you enjoyed the City and the Royal Williams accommodation. I am delighted that you experienced excellent service from the team, they will be very grateful that you took the time to compliment their efforts.

Thank you very much for this amazing review. We hope to see you again during your future stay in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    74
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
44
76
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

not in the tourist area , but even better in the real people quebec, a real French city; a 15-20 minute walk up to the tourist mecca.
A quiet elegance to the rooms a 1920's-1930's feel to the furnishings and space

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind note. We are happy that you enjoyed our convenient locating and found the Royal William had plenty of charm.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The parking is 16.00 and you have to park across the street!!
It should be free for all that hassle!!

The room was Not setup for 4 guests as booked, had to wait for front desk to bring towels cups, coffee, etc up.

The rooms air conditioning was not working properly was too warm.

No pool!

Other Comfort Inn and Quality Inn's had full breakfasts, only contential here?? It cost more too!!

Room decore and hotel lobby and hallways were nice! Beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!y
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Royal William. It is feedback such as yours that we always work on improving our services and hotel facilities. In regard to your comment on the air conditioning, it was indeed a very HOT day outside I am truly sorry for any miss comfort it cause you; I would like to assure you that all matters raised in your review are being dealt with.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the décor and that the room accommodation was comfortable. We greatly apologize for the disappointing experience you had in the hotel and hope you would give us a chance to provide you the full Royal William experience on your next visit to Quebec City.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Royal William. The location was an interesting walk to the main core. The location of the hotel has lots to offer as well. Great pub type eats as well as a great Mountain Equipment Coop store. Our room was roomy and very clean. The staff were very helpful and seemed to enjoy dealing with their guests. Breakfast was also very nice. The parking is in an enclosed garage directly across the street...very safe. A very nice stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad that you chose our location for you past stay and are very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation. I see you had a chance to visit a bit of the area. I couldn’t agree more with you that our location is very convenient for business and leisure travelers; we have many restaurants, pubs, boutiques, grocery store even a small park all within a five minutes’ walk from the Royal William.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Quebec City. This was our first time staying here and we liked it so much that we plan on coming back on our next trip to Quebec. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful--always a smile. Both the young lady and the young gentleman were very nice. We enjoyed our continental breakfast in the hotel dining room-- the food was delicious and the young gentleman who was our server was very nice. Our room was immaculate and cozy. We loved the fact that the old city was within walking distance and walked all 3 days we were there--the scenery was beautiful. We were amazed with how friendly EVERYONE was in the hotel and in the city. A great experience and I have shared our experience with family, friends and coworkers. Thanks:)

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this excellent review! It is wonderful to read when a guest writes that they look forward to returning to the Hotel Royal William on their next visit to Quebec City. I am so happy that you and your husband enjoyed the hotels accommodation, the team will be very grateful that you took the time to compliment their efforts.

Can’t thank you enough for your wonderful feedback, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A great place to stay while visiting the Old City. Nice accomodations, large room, and friendly staff who are open to providing directions and any other assistance. Walking distance to the upper and lower old city for those who are walkers. Exceptional value compared to the larger, name brand hotels. We recommend. Only one drawback--parking and consequently loading and unloading of luggage. If you are driving your own car and have a lot of luggage it is a challenge but doeable! Parking is in a safe, private garage a couple blocks away. The hotel is on a busy street; however, you can park and unload right at the door when there is a clear parking spot, then drive to the garage.

Room Tip: If there was a pool we did not use it. Did not use room service. We had a street side room and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our service. I do hope that you will return to us soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here for just one night with my elderly mother, and the experience was top-notch. The front desk staff were all very helpful and friendly, especially the charming young man who checked us in. He recommended an excellent restaurant nearby and gave us an overview of the town and nearby attractions. Plus, he was super-nice to my somewhat eccentric and chatty mom, so that earned big points in my book. All the staff that helped us were bilingual, and that was helpful because our French speaking abilities are pretty limited. Our room was spacious, exceptionally clean, and luxurious with all new furnishings. The neighborhood is not in the Old Town (albeit not too far away). However, we saw this as a plus because it was a great neighborhood that wasn't too touristy and had several excellent shops and restaurants nearby. We're really happy to have stumbled across this lovely boutique hotel!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room facing the front street so that the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Michelle G.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. We truly appreciate your positive notes and I'm sure our team will be very grateful that you took the time to compliment their efforts.

All the best to you and your mother, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal William 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Choice Canada and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.